We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Hotel amenities
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014
Kay H Fairhope
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    86
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
109
23
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
See the most recent reviews
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I booked this hotel through Priceline and had a confirmed reservation. When I arrived at 9:30pm they said they were overbooked and they refused to honor the reservation. Everything else was booked so I spent the night sleeping in my car. Although they said I would not be charged, I got an e-mail a month later that i would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. I am sorry about the reservation glitch with Priceline. I don't know where the error occurred. We receive many reservations from third-party sites without a problem. I regret that, since it was Priceline that charged your credit card, we could not issue the refund directly. An error like this is a rare circumstance, indeed. However, if... More 

Fairhope
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

All rooms have a great view of the water. Long walk to the beach. The rooms are just ok. They are clean, but bed is not very comfortable nor is the massage chair they seem quite proud of. The fireplace does not add anything to the room. The restaurant in the hotel had very good food however and the whoopi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and thank you for staying with us. You appear to be a seasoned traveler. I'm pleased to read that you found the food and service in the restaurant so good. I'm sorry that we didn't impress you with the massage chair and fireplace in the room. We get so many compliments on them. We would... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stay here whenever we are in Maine. Service and staff are the best! Food is great! We have come here for 10 years and we have never been disappointed! The staff is always courteous, and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for being such a loyal guest. Ten years? That's as long as I have been here. Thank you for taking the time to write about the facilities and the staff. As you have seen, Cathy and Sara at the front desk have been here for ten years, too. We love to see people return each year. Thank you... More 

Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We were here for a wedding nearby and this was one of the hotels that was recommended. The room was clean and quiet (3rd fl),the front desk was friendly and helpful. The breakfast that was included had all the regular buffet breakfast items. 24 hr coffee,tea in lobby. Rooms had individual Keurig coffee machines. We were invited to a private... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing a review. Thank you for your kind words. It was a challenge with four weddings this weekend, and the different shuttle arrangements, departure brunch, etc. It helps that everyone was here to have a good time and to enjoy the celebration of young people getting married. It made our... More 

London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband while on a tour of Maine. Wonderful views and great rooms. Highly recommended! The rooms are very clean and really nice place to relax. Grounds are wonderful for an evening stroll. Nice walk out the back takes you right down to the Ocean with really great views.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have seen the itinerary for some of the motorcoach tours, and they often don't leave much available time. I'm glad that you had time to enjoy the facilities here; the view, the room, a nice walk to the water, dinner in the restaurant, etc. Thank you for taking the... More 

Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We made a last minute trip and got one of the last rooms here, on a very busy Labor Day weekend. While we planned on staying around Camden, Belfast turned out to be much better than expected. Our first floor room opened out to a beautiful grass field that sloped down to a small secluded beach, and had excellent water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. It was amazingly detailed. It was great to read that we solved the room issue immediately, and you were very happy with the result. I am fortunate to have a staff that really cares about a guest's experience and does what they can to enhance that experience. I hope that you have the opportunity... More 

Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My husband found this hotel on the internet when searching for a hotel in Belfast. The reviewed were good, so he chose it. Everything was great. Amy greeted us at the desk, answered questions about the area, and handed us whoopie pies as a welcome gift. Our room had a private balcony (I think they all do!), looking directly at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and thank you for your review. I like to hear that people found us through Tripadvisor. We try do do everything possible to make sure our guests have a good time here. I'm glad that you enjoyed the accommodations, the restaurant and the property overall. Thank you too, for your comments about Amy. I will pass... More 

Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

First of all, we did not plan on staying here, but they are still advertised as a Comfort Inn, the Maine Visitors Center told us that it is a Comfort Inn, and when I called the number on the Comfort Inn brochure that I was given by the Visitor's Center and asked if it is the Comfort Inn, I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We certainly don’t want to mislead anyone into thinking that we are a Comfort Inn. We are proud to say that we have been a Fireside Inn & Suites since January 1, 2014. When people call and ask, “Is this the Comfort Inn?” We respond that we were the Comfort Inn until January 1. We... More 

uptowngirl504
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel has a fabulous view of the bay. You can see the town of Belfast from our room. It was so quiet at night, and the star gazing was a treat. That balcony view alone was the worth the stay. The staff is exceptionally friendly, and offer you Whoopie Pies upon check-in. The rooms were dated, but clean, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the staff, the accommodations and the view. The day time view of the water is so nice, that I forget that night time brings excellent star gazing. Thank you for pointing that out. We hope to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More 

Schenectady, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived on a Thursday and we were greeted by the front desk clerk Amy who was very friendly and personable. When we got to our room we had a great view of the bay and was very pleased. Over the next few days we traveled all around Maine and when we were dead tired and headed back to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Thank you especially for your comments about Charlotte and Amy at the desk. I count myself as fortunate that I have had the opportunity to work with people who really care about a guest's experience, not only on our property, but in Maine in general. We live in a physically beautiful state with very friendly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question