We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Belfast hotels

Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge to your Saves list
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
87%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014
rflormann Prospect, Connecticut
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    82
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
107
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
See the most recent reviews
Prospect, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just got back from a 4 day trip to Belfast ME with my wife where we stayed at the Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge in a King Suite. While the property has a great view and the people are wonderful, the Fireside Inn is average. It was clean but older. The free breakfast was a plus, similar to one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I like the last line of your review: "The bottom line is that this is a clean comfortable place with a good view." I couldn't have said it better. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Family of 4 , had no problems other than feeling nervous that they allow pets. We own a dog, didn't bring her, but others did have theirs. I don't like smelling dog or pet odors- they weren't bad but it made me very self conscience of the fact so it somewhat hindered my visit. If you have allergies you might... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. I can understand your concern about staying in a pet-friendly hotel. You are correct that we have designated rooms for pets. They are on the first floor as it is much easier to walk your pet directly out the back door of your room, opening to our ten acres leading down to the water. People who... More

Portland, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have been staying here quite a bit for my job. This hotel is absolutely nothing special outside of the fantastic view from the balconies. I have stayed in many different rooms, each have their own special aroma of previous guests. There are usually many a stray hair around the bathroom. The bedspreads could obviously go for a cleaning more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful, but dismayed that you found the burgundy motif dated and the rooms not as clean as we both would like. We are gradually changing the burgundy comforters to down comforters by cuddledown of Maine. It... More

Grass Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Fireside is off of the ocean and each room on the backside has a balcony and a clear view of the bay. The rooms are nicely appointed and our room even had a fireplace. The breakfast area is comfortable. The pool is well cared for and handicap accessible. My only disappointment was the lack of an exercise room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviews of the hotel and restaurant. I'm please to read that you enjoyed your stay, the room, the pool, the view, and especially our restaurant. I'm sorry that we don't have an exercise room. We do have a deal with an area helth club that has more equipment than we could ever fit in our hotel.... More

Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place is great. We were traveling with pets and all of their pet friendly rooms(to my knowledge) have private access doors to the rear with an incredible view of(and access to with a little walk) the water. The room probably wasn't recently updated but it was very clean, comfortable and with nice furnishings. The restaurant in the building has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and thank you for your review. I am glad that you and your furry friend enjoyed your visit here. All of our pet-friendly rooms have a read door opening to our ten acres leading down to the water. I was pleased too that you ahd a chance to enjoy our restaurant. We're fortunate to have a... More

Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is fabulous. From the room we could see the bay. We were there while a wedding was going on and were able to watch from our balcony. We stayed in a King executive and were very impressed. Nice space. We were unable to eat at the restaurant as it was only take out due to the wedding. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your overnight getaway. I am so glad that you enjoyed the facilities and staff and your "breakfast on the deck". I don't know if you are referring to the deck attached to the breakfast area or the deck attached to your room. Either way, I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I hope that you... More

Shoreham, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have stayed here several times and have always found comfortable accommodations here. On this visit we found that the affiliation with Quality Choice Hotels was gone and we will miss our points.However, the QUALITY, is still here if not improved. As having mobility issues Kristen could not have been more helpful and pleasant in finding a comfortable room which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Wow, reviews in 48 locations? That's quite a bit of travel! Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we have dropped our franchise agreement with Choice hotels. They are good people to work with, but we thought the money we pay them could be better spent on the property. We are fortunate to have a wheelchair bound guest who has... More

Patten, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I reserved this hotel back in Jan, because it advertised that it was absolutely wonderful, and had great views of the bay. Wrong! First of all, the hotel is absolutely nothing special. Secondly, I am a wheelchair user and my husband is on oxygen, and they claimed to be very accessible. When we got there, the elevator was broken. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the elevator broke while you were here. As soon as we have an issue, we call the elevator company for repair. They got it fixed as soon as they could. I am assuming that you were first assigned to a ground floor accessible room which has a roll-in shower and patio... More

Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently enjoyed a few days at the Inn. All the rooms face the penobscot Bay and have walk out or balcony views! The room was nice, spacious and well cleaned every day. We did not try the restaurant on site with our favorite Maine lobster pound within a mile! Neither did we use the indoor pool or other amenities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. We were so happy to have the Veteran Motor Car Club of America as our guests. You decorated our parking lot with Detroit steel. The polished chrome was nearly blinding! I am glad that you all enjoyed your visit here. Hopefully, we can once again grace our parking lot with such classic cars. Sincerely, Barry Asalone... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Very comfortable room and bed. Awesome view of the beautiful bay from all the rooms. You don't have to travel to find a restaurant, as there is a great one right there on property. The food was excellent, (and I'm very much a critic) but really like the food prepared at the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about the hotel and especially the food. We're fortunate to have very talented culinary staff. I am happy that, as a critic, you enjoyed the fruits of their labors. I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back very soon. Sincerely, Barry Asalone General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Address: 159 Searsport Avenue, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge Belfast, Maine

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Belfast with
any amenities