We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake

7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, PO Box 440, Saint Francisville, LA 70775
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    40
    20
    26
    27
See reviews for
28
39
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

My recent stay was very pleasant and charming for an older hotel with such wonderful front desk assistance from Lisa Kay and Katie, rooms were very quiet and clean, the room came with breakfast and a complimentary supper which most hotel don't offer that, so that was a very nice perk, will definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Nancy B: Thank you for your review and the positive comments you provided. I will share the review with the team and give them a special thanks as they are doing a wonderful job! We believe in, above all, providing superior service, and should you need anything in the future, please feel free to contact me directly via e-mail... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

I prepaid for a 6 night stay here with points earned through my work because the Best Western was full and they told me this was the only other hotel in town. We had to stay here for a golf tournament. I looked online and went by their photos-lesson learned. Pics on website of rooms are not accurate. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I very much appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointments with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced when the actions of the staff did not meet your expectations. There was never a bait and switch as you stated, we have many types of room and for the rates... More 

Romeoville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Beware, this hotel does have bedbugs!! The hotel staff was notified by a family member that bedbugs were found in one of rooms that we were given. We later realized that bedbugs were in the second room because a member developed bedbug bites on their body as well. The hotel staff immediately came to my room to see the bedbugs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest of Romeoville, Illinois: Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I regret that you had a problem with your stay. I will address the problems with the staff to make things better. After a careful review of your room by our Pest Prevention Company we found... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

This hotel has bedbugs. Specifically room 217. And if one room has it...then the others probably do as well. Checked in late. Room is shabby. Not well kept or clean. Bugs on carpet. Light over sink was not working. Air condioner worked but was VERY LOUD. And I was willing to live with all that UNTIL I saw the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Monivjan, Upon hearing a report of your problem with your room we checked the room for bedbugs and we did not find any. We also check the rooms on both sides of the room and were none found. We also as guest in rooms around your room if they had any problems and they did not. We want to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

Everything was fantastic, great staff, clean, comfortable bed, loved the lake and property. Had small a/c issue the first night but The maintenance man Brian had it fixed for us in no time and he even helped with a computer issue we was having. Very professional & respectful. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Hi Stewart1414: We would like to thank you for your stay with us. I will let the staff know how much you love the hotel and we are thankful that the staff was able to take care of your problems. We hope to see you again. Thanks, H. Daniels, GM More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

It is an older hotel in need of some cosmetic upgrades but it was clean enough. They did have top of the line plush bath towels and wash rags. The air conditioning worked well. If you're looking for a good enough hotel then this one is for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Hi Jesusfreak2: I just want to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We would like to have you back one day. Once again thanks. H. Daniels, GM More 

Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We ended up in this hotel because my son had a dog and this was the only place with a vacancy that took pets. I removed the bedspread because I didn't think it met my standards (old stains on the flip side). I did get a blanket from the housekeep because I needed a top cover. The bathroom was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the review you gave us! We always appreciate feedback in regards to how we are performing. I am sorry we did not meet your standard, but glad we were able to meet your needs in all other departments! H. Daniels, GM More 

Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Stayed there last night, it's definitely dated. All of the furniture is worn. Mattress isn't the best. But staff was great! Pool looked nice. Quiet location, but heard someone else's TV throughout the night. Would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Hi Lady S. of Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I regret that you had a problem with your stay. I will address the problems with the staff to make things better. We are here to please our guests and would have bent over backwards... More 

Jonesville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I would recommend this motel to my friends and family. The room and bathroom were nice and clean. With a comfortable bed. We stayed only two nights but enjoyed it. The kids made me go get some fishing poles so they could fish in the late. My kids had a great time and it was like when I was growing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear James & Family: Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time this must take out of your busy day and we are grateful. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are delighted that you took the opportunity to write a review for the hotel. I’m so glad that you have notice a how great our... More 

Golden, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Rooms were clean, but the guest laundry was filthy and the machines weren't working. This was known to some staff but no signs were put on the machines nor was there a means to get any lost money back. Check to see if there are refurbished rooms. Our room had badly chipped paint around the door and windows, unpatched holes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ann H: Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I regret that you had a problem with your stay. I will address the problems with the staff to make things better. We are here to please our guests and would have bent over backwards to make sure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Hotel
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zachary Inn
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Baton Rouge Airport
22.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baton Rouge Airport
19.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Livonia West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay