We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake

7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, PO Box 440, Saint Francisville, LA 70775
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Longview, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I read some of the negative reviews, but didn't hesitate to book a room here. It was our only pet friendly option in St. Francisville. We were not disappointed at all! I'm not sure what people expect for an under $100 room. Here's what we got for our $100 total (pet fee, taxes, etc.) We got a GREAT location, with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff R
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

I and my whole team would like to "thank You" for the very positive review! So many times we only hear the negative - it is so very nice to get a good one (I will share with our team). We look forward to your return, and again, THANK YOU! More 

Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

The location and grounds of the Magnuson are beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and included several hot options. The room was clean and good sized. Check-in & Check out was simple. Would stay again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Thank You for the encouraging review! So many times all we hear is negative complaints, it is so very nice to receive a good one! We cannot wait for your next visit! More 

Biloxi, Mississippi
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

It was the only hotel that would allow our dog.... We should have stayed in the truck. It would have been more comfortable for all of us! Beds are hard as rocks, rooms are as clean as the staff could get them if they were blind. The door key card lock broke. It took them two hours to get our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

i would like to apologize for the problems you encountered at my hotel. We do try to make each and every guest fill as though they are part of our family. It is unfortunate that the lock on your room became disabled, and again, I apologize for that. I hope you reconsider and give us another chance should you return... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

I was eaten by bedbugs at this hotel. Over 25 horribly itchy painful bites. BITES DON'T LIE!! It ruined our vacation and the annoyance of meticulously cleaning everything and/or throwing stuff out was not fun! If your house gets infested, then you're screwed. I tried to get in contact with the manager, but they didn't return our calls. I then... More 

Helpful?
Thank chornia
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the experience you had at my hotel. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am not sure of the dates you stayed but I began work here on October 12th and we are working very hard to make sure all our guest's have a great... More 

Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Clean room, quiet location, comfortable beds. Large breakfast selection and nice large breakfast room with lots of seating. Conveniently located right off highway. Ample parking. Friendly front-desk staff. We had absolutely zero issues and I would stay here again. We checked in after the LSU Florida game and based on other reviews I was very concerned about cleanliness/infestations. They are... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Hola624
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was very nice of you to give us a good review and we do look forward to seeing you again in the future. Again, thank you for your kind words! More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We stayed here because it was the only place within 100 miles that had rooms available. The hotel is in poor shape and in desperate need of a good cleaning and an upgrade. I will say that the ladies that checked us in were extremely nice and they were the only nice thing we could find about this place. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank QueenieFS
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would also like to apologize for the experience you had at my hotel and please be aware that we are in the process of replacing the carpet, some have already been completed. I am happy to hear that you were treated well by our front... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

Made a reservation weeks ago, here for the angola rodeo oct 10, 2015. Then multiple reviews said magnuson had a bed bug infestation so we changed plans. Called 48 hours ahead to cancel and the manager would not cancel it. Charged us the full amount for our room. The cancelation policy, they say is 72 hours. Was told that and... More 

Helpful?
Thank amy m
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. Our normal cancellation policy is the day of arrival BUT on VERY BUSY sold out weekends (Angola Rodeo) we do change our policy to 72 hours as we have to turn away many guests who call for rooms. It is published on our web site. I hope... More 

Starks Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Our stay was great! Room was clean and neat with everything we needed Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was really friendly Will stay again the view of the pond was relaxing and there are fish in it also.my grandkids will love the pool.Thank you for a great weekend

Helpful?
1 Thank suestanley13
Thomas S, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your review! I will certainly share with the team here. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

My recent stay was very pleasant and charming for an older hotel with such wonderful front desk assistance from Lisa Kay and Katie, rooms were very quiet and clean, the room came with breakfast and a complimentary supper which most hotel don't offer that, so that was a very nice perk, will definitely visit again

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Nancy B: Thank you for your review and the positive comments you provided. I will share the review with the team and give them a special thanks as they are doing a wonderful job! We believe in, above all, providing superior service, and should you need anything in the future, please feel free to contact me directly via e-mail... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

I prepaid for a 6 night stay here with points earned through my work because the Best Western was full and they told me this was the only other hotel in town. We had to stay here for a golf tournament. I looked online and went by their photos-lesson learned. Pics on website of rooms are not accurate. I was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SandyRay725
Harold D, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I very much appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointments with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced when the actions of the staff did not meet your expectations. There was never a bait and switch as you stated, we have many types of room and for the rates... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Hotel
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zachary Inn
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Baton Rouge Airport
19.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Livonia West
22.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baton Rouge Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay