We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville

2.0 of 5 7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, PO Box 440, Saint Francisville, LA 70775
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    17
    21
    24
See reviews for
23
34
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Smyrna, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We aren't the pickiest folks in the world so we were overall satisfied with the magnuson. The young lady who checked us in was super friendly and called us as we were settleing in to make sure everything was ok with the room- nice touch.The price was right and included breakfast and dinner. It isn't a new hotel but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HaroldDaniels, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Dear Joann D. of Smyrna, Georgia, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time this must take out of your busy day and we are grateful. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are delighted that you took the opportunity to write a great review for the hotel. I’m so glad that you have notice a... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

When we got to our room the smell was horrible, spider webs all through out the room. I laid down to rest from a long driving trip. An within minutes my daughter yelled from a roach crawling on her from the bed, I put it in a cup an took it to the front desk, the lady was grossed out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HaroldDaniels, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Dear Guest smm76067, Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I regret that you had a problem with your stay. I will address the problems with the staff to make things better. We are here to please our guests and would have bent over backwards to make sure... More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Here on business... could have stayed in Baton Rouge, but hate the traffic. The only other motel in the area is a Best Western, that was completely booked up. I received a weekly rate- cheap, but still.... not so great. The color scheme in my room was a dark avocado green, harvest gold, and purple. First impression when door was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldDaniels, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Dear lafff of Wilmington, North Carolina: Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I regret that you had a problem with your stay. I wish you would have address the problems when you were here. I will address the problems with the staff to make things better. We... More 

Birmingham, al
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Hotel is older but owners keep it up nicely. Rate charged was $71.00 and better price would be around $60.00. Seems a lot of working crews stay at hotel during week, which wasn't a problem. Everyone I ran into was very nice. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom clean with little water damage above shower, nothing bad. Frig and microwave in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldDaniels, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Hi KFA3 of Birmingham, AL: Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time this must take out of your busy day and we are grateful. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are delighted that you took the opportunity to write a review for the hotel. I’m so glad that you have notice a change in... More 

Panama City, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have stayed 2-3 times in the past and it was adequate for an overnight stay, nothing fancy. This visit was better. I would still consider it basic lodging and not overly fancy or luxurious, the front desk staff was much friendlier than before and actually seemed to enjoy their jobs. Passageways to the rooms were cleaner and nothing out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldDaniels, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Hi Joanne S of Panama City, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time this must take out of your busy day and we are grateful. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are delighted that you took the opportunity to write a review for the hotel. I’m so glad that you have notice a change... More 

Muskogee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The pictures lie. This was the filthiest, scariest place I have ever stayed. I could not wait to leave. Do not stay here! The people putting good reviews must work for the motel. There is no way anyone could possibly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

I'm sorry to see your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Since you don't mention any specifics as to what issues you encountered while you were here, it's tough for me to address them effectively. If you would care to discus them with me, I would love to hear from you. We want our guests to feel like this... More 

Edgewood, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have only stayed in one hotel worse than this one. I would say the place needs a good remodel but it really needs a bulldozer. Room 237 has many dead bugs on the curtain sheers facing the window, paint peeling on the outside of the room, the second floor steps are filthy dirty, the microwave is stained with food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am sorry to see you experienced the issues you mentioned. We take great pride in being able to offer our guests a clean and comfortable setting. I have spoken with my Executive Housekeeper as well as members of my maintenance department with regards to the things you mentioned... More 

New Baltimore, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

By far this was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. It started with the lobby desk and entry covered in plastic with garbage pails placed around the room to catch the water that was leaking in from a mild rain. Once placed in a room we were greeted by cockroaches.. As it is the south we just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to make me aware of these situations you encountered and want you to know I take them very seriously. With regards to the leaking roof above the Front Desk area, the roofing company has been contracted and will begin repairs in the next... More 

Georgetown, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

If ever you find yourself in St Francisville, LA and you want to experience true southern hospitality, you need to stay at the Magnuson Hotel. You will be greeted by friendly and helpful staff and enjoy its recently remodeled rooms. Breakfast, Wi-fi and a pool are all included with your room. Definitely a great value! You are just minutes from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Erin, thank you for your recent review of your stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel-St. Francisville. We always look forward to hosting Jeep Jamboree every year and i'm glad to see we didn't disappoint this year. The Jeep Jamboree group is by far our favorite one to host. Everyone always seems to enjoy themselves while they are here... More 

Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Wow. Where to begin? When I walked into my room I thought I must have walked into an already rented room: all of the lights were on, the television was on, and the air conditioning was set at 60 degrees. There was a used tissue on the floor, the soap at the sink was unwrapped, and the toilet (which only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cstroud, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry to see your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We strive to make sure each one of our guests feel like this is their home away from home when they stay with us. I have spoken to my Executive Housekeeper regarding the issues you mentioned and please know that they are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville

Address: 7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, PO Box 440, Saint Francisville, LA 70775
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Francisville
Best Western Saint Francisville
Saint Francisville Quality Inn

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay