We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Basingstoke Country Hotel

4.0 of 5 Scures Hill, Nately Scures | near Hook, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Basingstoke Country Hotel
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    200
    104
    73
    53
See reviews for
93
269
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (642)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (185)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In fairness to this hotel we only slept here and did not experience the restaurant but when you enter reception it is very drab and tired. First impressions count a lot!! As we walked to our room the bar area looked the same. There was no water in the room and I had to get a jug from the bar.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second stay here for NYE and wasn't disappointed at all. We could not fault anything about our stay from afternoon tea to our evening meal. The food was really nice and for a five course evening meal the food came out hot and for our party of 4 we were all served at the same time. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janet t, How fantastic to read about your brilliant New Years Eve experience, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The whole team enjoyed the atmosphere on the night and the reward for the entire team was hearing how much everyone enjoyed the night, they will all be pleased to read that you could find no... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought we would book ourselves a room for a weekend break here with the family, thought it would be a nice weekend out, and we wanted to try the restaurant for an upcoming event we have there soon. There are a lot of reviewers mentioning the rooms are "old" and "tired", frankly I thought they were very nice. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear runnerbean1979, Thank you for your review and we also look forward to your return stay. It was great to read that you and the kids enjoyed your stay and the team will get great satisfaction from reading your praise. Chef and the kitchen team particularly like your description of the restaurant food as amazing! Warm regards Peter Bartlett General... More 

Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to this hotel for Christmas day lunch. Can only say that the food was disgusting, worse than my memories of school dinners in the 1960's. The service staff were good but what they had to serve was microwaved food, with the cauliflower unrecognisable. Don't go to the hotel to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda C, I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food and very much appreciate your recognition of the team serving Christmas Day Lunch. It was a very busy day and the service team will be pleased to read that they made a positive impression. Kind Regards Peter Bartlett General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Nately Scures hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for just the one night on a business trip so didn't get a chance to utilise any of the facilities. However, reception staff were friendly and welcoming, my room was clean, nicely decorated and a decent size, the bar food was tasty and buffet breakfast was plentiful. If back in this area, I would stay here again and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorna D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff members were welcoming and friendly. It is great that you enjoyed the food we had to offer and hopefully you will be able to make use of our leisure facilities on... More 

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having had such a wonderful NYE in 2013 our group of 8 could not wait to book for 2014, unfortunately due to sickness we dwindled to a foursome. Here is the list of points we sent to them about the night. (to date our only reply has been about a lack of tablecloth availability) Lack of cocktails at 6pm –... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fluffyredfox We have corresponded directly and I repeat how sorry I was to read that you did not enjoy your New Year’s Eve celebration with us. I do recognise that I have not responded to each of your points, partly because they are in such stark contrast with the resoundingly positive feedback that we have now received from the... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed as a couple for a long weekend (DBB) . Couldn't fault anything. Room clean , comfortable and spacious, staff polite and efficient ,and food excellent . We didn't use the leisure facilities, but they looked good . Hotel lacks a little character but we certainly feel we got great value for money ,and would return .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 145suze, Thank you fro leaving us your feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience here with us. What a shame you didn’t get chance to use the leisure facilities on this occasion. We do hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area, don’t forget your swimwear. Kind regards... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here about a year ago and was lovely so we decide to go back we where not as impressed seconds time round paif for a upgrade room which was nice didn't get robe and slippers as stated room was a little tied could do with a tidy up breakfast was very nice and staff where friendly and helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear emma s, Thank you for your kind comments about the team’s friendly service and the lovely breakfast Please accept my sincere apologies that your bathrobe and slippers were not in your room on arrival. Warm regards Peter Bartlett General Manager More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A group of 5 of us each bought a package for the spa to celebrate my birthday. We had treatments booked from between 09:00 through to 5:30 and arranged lunch for 12:00. I had the first set of treatments (1 hour massage and 1 hour facial) starting at 09:00. Things that were nice: With the exception of the barman, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear africanlamb, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to read that overall you were impressed with the service you received, your treatments and outdoor hot tub. However it is disappointing to learn that also there were aspects of your day that did not meet expectations. The points for improvement that you have... More 

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to a dinner dance here on New Years Eve with some friends. We had a lovely time. The 5 course meal was superb and afterwards the dance floor was full. I was a bit cold during the early part of the evening, so I would recommend that ladies with thin dresses take a wrap or cardigan, but it warmed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Supergran48, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it is great to read that you had a great time on New Year’s Eve, and your observation that the age diversity added to the evening is so true. The kitchen team worked hard to prepare the 5 course dinner and so your ‘superb dinner’ comment means... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel

Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures | near Hook, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay