We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Lake Charles hotels

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
9%
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Lake Charles
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (15)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (2)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dutchtown
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is by far the nastiest/scariest hotel that I have ever stayed in. If not for the fact that we had no other choice to stay, I would have left when I got there. The hotel stinks, the towels are little and are like sand paper, the floors were disgusting and the bathroom was disgusting. Let me also say that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked via internet .... on arrival looked around the outside foyer area which alerted me to a problem..after being checked in by Corey he settlemented my concerns....than the lift..than the room....what a sight.looked closer...than the night mare began...cleaned the vanity and took the cloth and showed this lovely young man who was embarrassed...ask for cleaning cloth and disinfectant.....cleaned the vanity..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is horrible and Management treats you like your an idiot. Room not cleaned, carpet dirty, bed had dirty sheets, no towels in room, dried mucus on shower wall, hair on bathroom floor, toilet had black stains. When complaint was made, manager Nehemiah told us to leave. We asked for refunds and only got $12.00 from the $90.39 we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This property might be suitable for the extremely budget-conscious, but it's just not up to par for the more experienced traveler. During my stay the place was plagued by operational problems: an out-of-service elevator, a casual approach to replenishing breakfast supplies, off-and-on housekeeping service, and a front desk staff that seemed to be learning on the job. That said, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We left an hour after we got there because #1 we got there with our pets, paid the pet fee and everything THEN the owner comes and says pets aren't allowed after we confirmed a week prior!! #2 we had non smoking rooms but the rooms smelled like cigarettes as well as the hallway! #3 Mold all in the fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nehemiah T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review

May 31, 2013 Dear Traveler, It states in our description of the property online with all of our vendors that we are not a "pet-friendly" establishment. It is also posted behind the front-desk receiving area. Payments of any kind where never exchanged between said parties. Inquiries of conformation where made, but only detailing that we had your reservations here at... More

New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at this one on lake street had non smoking room but was on a smoking floor,when you got off the elevator the hall smelled strongly of smoke. We checked out a day early and two this day which is 15 days later they can not get my credit cake to me manager keeps the Ling me it is my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity. I do remember speaking with you about checking out a day early and I remember telling you that you would get a refund... More

Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Paid $100 for a room for one night and walked in to holes in the hallways, and beyond nasty carpet. Get in the room and it stinks, the mirrors are busted and there are bugs crawling all over the refrigerator. DO NOT STAY HERE. We went down the road to the Holiday Inn Express and were able to get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We checked our records for all of July and none of our guests paid $100 for a night's stay, so you might have this hotel mixed up with another one. We are always advised by our Housekeeping department of anything that needs attention in our rooms - including holes in the carpet and any bugs that are detected... More

Roanoke, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were very tired from our day of traveling. Beds were comfortable, sheets were clean. Dead roach in bathroom but at least that meant the bug killer was working...Would choose another place to stay next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dallas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wwe have stayed here several times, most recently for my daughters graduation. This is a nice hotel and an excellent value. The staff is very friendly and it is in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I really hate to give this hotel such a low score because all of the staff were very helpful, freindly and attentive. Unfortunately it could use a good cleaning, the carpets in the rooms were so dirty they turn your socks black, the refrigerator in my room didn't work, the pool was down the first day I was there and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles Hotel
Microtel Inn And Suites Lake Charles
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Microtel Lake Charles
Lake Charles Microtel
Address: 3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com Priceline.com
and 7 more sites!

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
52

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.