We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Lake Charles hotels

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles to your Saves list
7%
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Lake Charles
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
3
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I thought I'd booked into the one on Lakeshore...It's really unclear which one is which! This one is MILES out of downtown (although it is right next door to a mall of sorts...) and the other reviews pretty much sum it up...dirty. The pillows are all different sizes, the bathroom is a bit ick, the sheets are stained, the towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We got a so called: King size Suite. Look at the pictures of the bathroom ceiling. This explains everything. Mildew is a health risk - do not stay in this hotel. In the Visitor Guide 2014 they advertise this hotel in bold letters as BRAND NEW!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is the nastiest Hotel I have ever stayed in! I would rather spend $300 a night at a hotel then this dump. First walked in, the lobby smelled, got in the elevator it smelled. Carpet was filthy!!! Husband wore his white socks, after walking on the carpet for a while the bottom of his socks were BLACK!!! Even the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dutchtown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is by far the nastiest/scariest hotel that I have ever stayed in. If not for the fact that we had no other choice to stay, I would have left when I got there. The hotel stinks, the towels are little and are like sand paper, the floors were disgusting and the bathroom was disgusting. Let me also say that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Booked via internet .... on arrival looked around the outside foyer area which alerted me to a problem..after being checked in by Corey he settlemented my concerns....than the lift..than the room....what a sight.looked closer...than the night mare began...cleaned the vanity and took the cloth and showed this lovely young man who was embarrassed...ask for cleaning cloth and disinfectant.....cleaned the vanity..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is horrible and Management treats you like your an idiot. Room not cleaned, carpet dirty, bed had dirty sheets, no towels in room, dried mucus on shower wall, hair on bathroom floor, toilet had black stains. When complaint was made, manager Nehemiah told us to leave. We asked for refunds and only got $12.00 from the $90.39 we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This property might be suitable for the extremely budget-conscious, but it's just not up to par for the more experienced traveler. During my stay the place was plagued by operational problems: an out-of-service elevator, a casual approach to replenishing breakfast supplies, off-and-on housekeeping service, and a front desk staff that seemed to be learning on the job. That said, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We left an hour after we got there because #1 we got there with our pets, paid the pet fee and everything THEN the owner comes and says pets aren't allowed after we confirmed a week prior!! #2 we had non smoking rooms but the rooms smelled like cigarettes as well as the hallway! #3 Mold all in the fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nehemiah T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review

May 31, 2013 Dear Traveler, It states in our description of the property online with all of our vendors that we are not a "pet-friendly" establishment. It is also posted behind the front-desk receiving area. Payments of any kind where never exchanged between said parties. Inquiries of conformation where made, but only detailing that we had your reservations here at... More

New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at this one on lake street had non smoking room but was on a smoking floor,when you got off the elevator the hall smelled strongly of smoke. We checked out a day early and two this day which is 15 days later they can not get my credit cake to me manager keeps the Ling me it is my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity. I do remember speaking with you about checking out a day early and I remember telling you that you would get a refund... More

Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Paid $100 for a room for one night and walked in to holes in the hallways, and beyond nasty carpet. Get in the room and it stinks, the mirrors are busted and there are bugs crawling all over the refrigerator. DO NOT STAY HERE. We went down the road to the Holiday Inn Express and were able to get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We checked our records for all of July and none of our guests paid $100 for a night's stay, so you might have this hotel mixed up with another one. We are always advised by our Housekeeping department of anything that needs attention in our rooms - including holes in the carpet and any bugs that are detected... More

Do you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Address: 3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Lake Charles
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Microtel Lake Charles
Lake Charles Microtel

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles