We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Lake Charles

335 Hwy 171, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Lake Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Lake Charles
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    1
    5
    7
    29
See reviews for
12
13
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a road trip from Los Angeles to Miami Florida,My fiancee and i stayed at the Motel 6 , My fiancee went in to check in , and we should have known we at the registration desk The clerk asked if we wanted to see the room first. My fiancee had stayed in Motel 6 before and we said no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Darryl, Thank you for posting your review. The service concerns you describe are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Please know the conditions you experienced in your room are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We are committed to delivering a clean,... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm currently awaiting a phone call from the management of this motel. Our room had stains on the floor and a roach in the tub. There was an odd funky in a really bad way smell in the room. I can get over all of those things. What I cannot get over are bed bugs. I did not even pull... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Halley, We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We take bed bug reports very seriously. We sincerely apologize for your experience and for the unsatisfactory response you received to your complaint. Please know that we are on high alert regarding this issue and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is dirty, run down, they do not have micro refrigerators and or microwave oven as stated when we booked. We woke with bug bites. It's the smallest hotel room I've ever seen. There were rats in the parking lot. The rooms have a terrible smell. This reflects VERY poorly on motel 6 and should be completely remodeled or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Nicole, Thank you for posting your review. The service concerns you describe are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Please know the conditions you experienced in your room are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We are committed to delivering a clean,... More 

Jonesboro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made reservations without looking at the reviews... wow, to my surprise this place was beyond disgusting. It looks like a homeless shelter. Cancelled my reservations and went somewhere else. Staying there was like asking for my truck to be stolen. Hell no! Do not attempt to stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Mario, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is important for all of our guests to feel welcomed, receive the highest level of service, respect and hospitality. We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret... More 

Church Point, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was horrible we went the for the 4th of July weekend that place need lots of repairs.to be honest it really need to be shut down.Some people that stayed there were very load through out the night after 12am they still popping fire crackers.then we get up the next morning the ice chest,the generator and etc were chained down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality... More 

Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

We use Motel 6 often on our road trips because they are dog friendly and affordable. This one, however rates a 'pass'. The folks at the desk were great, friendly and helpful but beyond that, it was terrible. The whole area around our unit smelled like dead, rotting fish and the unit was in a very poor state of repair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Carpet had piles of dog hair & old gum, the A/C was all beat up with parts hanging from it, the light on the wall was rusted, the smell was horrible, we didn't even get to the bathroom to check it out, went straight to the lobby and checked out and got a refund, this is by far the worse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Jessica, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the promise... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 via mobile

The bathroom was decent,but the furniture looked like it was falling apart,the comforter had several holes in it,the light fixtures were cracked,and we saw a bug on our bed. Also,the tv was so staticy that we couldn't even see the picture. Would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Lake Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a... More 

Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We stayed at this hotel because it was low price, the staff were very kind and very helpful. The location wasn't the best but not bad. We chose this low-price hotel because we were going to be gambling Later that evening. The room was clean and all we needed was a place to sleep. Only a short drive from downtown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This was a poor night's sleep between the noise and bed that assumes the shape of a cereal bowl. Requested a nonsmoking room, that we were assured only had ashtrays to catch your car keys... Light over the sink wasn't working, no shaving before leaving. No shampoo. Outside light turned off about an hour before dawn, made loading the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#2 of 29 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
#13 of 29 in Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#22 of 29 in Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Value Place Lake Charles
Value Place Lake Charles
#19 of 29 in Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
#21 of 29 in Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
2.4 mi away
America's Best Inn and Suites
America's Best Inn and Suites
#23 of 29 in Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay