We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveler's Rest Motel

Hotel website
1730 Sullivan Dr., Bogalusa, LA 70427-5866
Traveler's Rest Motel
Add Your Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on a cross country bicycle tour. The staff was friendly, and the room was adequate at this price point. Amenities included a coffee maker, microwave, fridge, TV with cable, desk, and wifi. It was on the south side, but we rode the extra 2 miles anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MOBILE
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Chose the Traveler's Rest in Bogalusa, LA after checking it out on Tripadvisor. Checked in on New Year's Eve, out on new year's day. If you're heading to Bogalusa and want to stay in town, rather than 20 miles away at the next closest hotels, you will do well to stay at Traveler's Rest. Bogalusa is not a big town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This is a very nice, albeit basic, motel. It was clean, quiet, comfortable and everything worked. The room included a microwave and fridge, which was very helpful. The front desk staff was helpful and very friendly. We even got an email from the owners thanking us for staying with them! That was an unexpected surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My family and I were finally able to make it back to new Orleans after a 10 year fight of trying to get back after Katrina. We stayed here at this hotel and feel in love with everything about it. Head House keeper Carmen Turnage, morning front counter girl Heather is a sweet heart. The one's that helped us out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Over all this is a very nice motel. The front desk was friendly, the room was very clean & fairly updated & the price was quite reasonable. I did not know I would have a fridge & microwave, this was a welcome plus. We felt very safe in the area even though it does seem to be frequented by work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I'm truck driver,i pick up load Bogalusa paper mill.I make traveler's rest my home,im from Brazil,i stay there almost every weekend.The staff it's just wondeful people.I love that place,sometime i travel over 60 miles just to enjoy the hospitality.I just want to say,thank you bogalusa traveler's rest to make me feel so comfortable...GOD BLESS ALL...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The wife and I have really enjoyed our stay, all the employee's are great people, and the rooms are very nice. House keeping was on top of things making sure we had all that we needed going above and beyond to make things more comfortable. My wife and I drink alot of coffee and they got a bigger pot for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Room had many flies inside. Bathroom sink very dirty. Bedside lamp and clock plugged into broken extension cord so did not work. I came in about 9:30 - 10:00 pm Friday night by myself ( a female) and there were many men just hanging outside their rooms right near mine playing loud music, talking, etc. I felt very unsafe plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melandavx2, Manager at Traveler's Rest Motel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your experience with us was not pleasant. I only wish you had given us the opportunity to address any of these issues while you were here. Your happiness while you are with us is our first priority. We would have been happy to move you to another room if we had been notified of any... More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very clean very nice place reasonable rate would stay again we stayed 4 days here . The only thing that would have made it better is if they had a breakfast. It was very quite and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TravelersRestBogalus, Manager at Traveler's Rest Motel, responded to this review

HI! Thanks so much for the great review. We agree that a hot breakfast would make things almost perfect! Plans are being worked out to make this happen. In the mean time, we promise to keep our rates lower than those who do offer breakfast to make it worth the compromise. Please keep Traveler's Rest in mind for your next... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family & I arrived around 6am and was greeted by Amy at the front desk. She was pleasent and made our check in so easy. We came down for my brother in law passing away. Amy put us all at ease she's a beautiful person & we cant wait to go back for the family reunion im coming back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TravelersRestBogalus, Manager at Traveler's Rest Motel, responded to this review

I am so glad my staff members were able to make this trying time for you and your family a little easier. Thank you for your kind words about Aimee, I know she appreciates them. Please continue to share the good news about us with your family and friends. We look forward to helping you guys with your reunion travel!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question