We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
9940 Airline Highway, Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Baton Rouge
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012
MississippiLawdog Mississippi
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
14
13
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
See the most recent reviews
ROSEDALE, MARYLAND
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently spent 5 days at this hotel, but because it was pre-arranged for our group. We made our reservations in July for two attached rooms (because of health problems) and reconfirmed the reservation at three different intervals- each confirmation assuring that the rooms were reserved, as requested. When we checked in, we found out the rooms were not reserved.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Senioronthego, I thoroughly enjoyed having your group here but I must say that it saddens me to hear that only one employee impressed you. Due to the nature of the business, we are unfortunately not always able to honor requests such as adjoining rooms. I am glad to see that we did have the request on your reservation when... More 

Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is nice although getting to it is sometimes hard due to traffic as you come off Interstate. The hotel rooms are small, and you don't really have a choice of the inside rooms, or the outside "motel" style rooms. Housekeeping fails to provide trash bags, ice bucket liners and cups. Friends staying during the same time, related having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MississippiLawdog, Thank you for the compliment about our hotel, however I am sorry that our housekeeping department was not as impressive. I assure you that it is unusual for the room attendant not to leave trash bags, cups, and so forth as those are daily items provided to all guest rooms. It is also unusual that guests would have... More 

NewYork
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent 5 nights at a Naval Reunion here. It was absolutely lovely. We had an interior room (must have been recently remodeled as everything looked new). King bed--mattress very comfy. Room was very clean and staff extremely friendly. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was a very nice buffet. They have someone at the grill and you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Owner at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joyce 1948, I'm glad to hear you had such a good time with us! We enjoyed having you as well! I have not been managing this property long, but I have encountered many different military reunions since I've been here and each one is more fun than the last! Thank you for your kind words and thank you for... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I preface this review that we did not choose to stay here, but we were brought in with a group. The staff was mostly pleasant. The fitness center was adequate. The rooms were not impeccable, but the linens and furniture were updated. The bathrooms were old. The breakfast was a buffet with no gluten-free dairy-free or otherwise healthy choices. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is certainly not our intention to insult you regarding the city you are from. I apologize for the comment that was made. My mother is from New Orleans, still lives there to this day in fact, so I can speak from experience when I say that the people of New Orleans are wonderful. In no way do... More 

Elysian Fields, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stay at a lot of Holiday Inns..Platinum Member...90 nights so far this year at HI. I guess overall I was major underwhelmed. At check in I was not greeted as Priority member although I was given a coupon for a discount at the restaurant that I did use. The main building is Holiday Inn all the way...attractive and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim H, Thank you for being such a loyal Priority Club member. You are clearly making the Holiday Inn brand your choice hotel and for that we are very grateful. Being a top tier Platinum level guest is very special and I apologize that my staff did not acknowledge your status. I will personally work with them to ensure... More 

Hopewell Junction, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our 8th Reunion and by far the best...The entire hotel departments from Housekeeping to Sales to Food & Beverage were outstanding.Never received any complaints from the 140 attendees.I must mention Ms. Heather Day(Sales Manager)as been the reasons why this reunion was outstanding.Her and I have been planning this reunion since September/2010 and because of her dedication,professionalism and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for such a nice compliment! It means a lot to us that you and your group were all so satisfied! We really enjoyed having you here... some of the people in your group had really great stories to tell. I'm especially happy to hear our sales manager Heather took such good care of you. She along with... More 

mbm59
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here 11 days until a Marriott property became available. I was in Baton Rouge on business. I arrived close to 11:00 pm, at check in Jason appeared annoyed I had arrived He didn't ask for my Priority memebership number, didn't give me the complimentary breakfast coupon and the $5.00 off dinner coupon. This hotel has rooms above the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mbm59, I am truly sorry that our desk staff did not make you feel welcomed or acknowledge your status as a Priority Club member. I can understand what an inconvenience it must have been to not receive the meal coupon or your cell phone charger and I apologize for that as well. It is never our intention to make... More 

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Lobby is nice, but the Southwest theme is odd for this part of the country. Hotel is made up of a newer tower and an older "exterior" section - think old motel with outside walkways. I just don't feel safe with people walking by my door and window all night. New decor is nice, but they didn't seem to improve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. While I am glad that you like our remodel, I can see how the theme can be slightly confusing. It is a nod to the Spanish influence in Louisiana back in the mid 1700's. Our way of standing out among other... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 days after Isaac. My room smelled horrible and had a big wet spot by the window. Curtains were stained and ceiling leaked. Don't you check your rooms before selling them? Was already stressed and did not want move. Came home sick. Air conditioning didn't work. Had it on 62 and only felt 70.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrissiclay, I sincerely apologize for your sub-par accommodations during your stay with us. You're right, we should be checking each and every room consistently to ensure that it is perfect for every guest. As part of the new management team I can assure you that clean, comfortable, and operational accommodations are our goal. We are slowly making progress towards... More 

Baytown, Texas
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
122 hotel reviews
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an older Holiday Inn but if really has been updated a time or two and the owners apparently are trying. It is clean and very close to the freeway. Plenty of parking and seemed very busy. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tigergirl2, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comment. Yes, we have been through a tremendous amount of renovations and are pleased you have noticed. We hope when you return to Baton Rouge, you will give us a call as your preferred hotel in the area. Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We will look forward to your return... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question