We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Baton Rouge hotels

Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9999 Gwenadelle Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70816 (Formerly Days Inn Baton Rouge)
Hotel amenities
Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge to your Saves list
21%
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    3
    18
See reviews for
9
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Monroe
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The room was dirty. Pee on the toilet and bath tub was very nasty. The beds looked dirty too!!! I ask for toilet to be cleaned and a guy came with a nasty rag and a spray bottle and it took him all of 3 seconds to clean it. Horrible place. Will never stay here again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that there was a housekeeping issue that detracted from your stay. We satisfy many guests each week but obviously let you down in this case. I hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. You’ll find that this small misstep is not an indication of how we usually do business,... More

Liberty, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 1 night. Holes in the bed spread, asked for extra towels and when they brought them, the maintenance/housekeeping person just walked right intot he room without knocking. One of the clerks was very rude. Broken appliances thrown in the grass, trashy looking on the sides and in the back. Very nice looking in front. Doors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us despite the failings you mentioned. I’m terribly sorry if we fell short of your expectations in any way. You caught us at a time when several maintenance tasks around the hotel were undone, but we’re involved in a continual improvement process and have already addressed most of those. You will be most welcome... More

Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here for business. Found the staff to be very helpful. Housekeeping was fantastic. The property is an exterior corridor property but I really enjoyed the stay. Rooms were very clean. The property is a good price and also provides a simple breakfast! Thanks for the great customer service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on our way to Texas for 1 night. We accidentally left our Apple Ipad in the room after we checked out and were too far away to return. I called the office and immediately the woman I spoke with went into the room to look for it. When I called back 5 minutes later... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Rented a room at this hotel this weekend. Customer services there is HORRIBLE. I was only in the room for five minutes and the sheets was nasty, it had dirt streak marks on the sheets, pubic hair , and the even had a bugs in the sheets. Went to the front office to complain and customer service of the Manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Britt T, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge. In response to your comments I will say that our Front Desk offers each arriving guest a 15 minute window to inspect a room and request a change for very nearly any reason. This is agreed to by each guest when signs the bottom of the Registration Form. This... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

DO NOT!! Use a credit card to pay for stay here!! They will take payments off your card unauthorized!! Horrible service!! Drug addicts, people asking strangers for drugs, prostitues walking around. Very noisy. NOT clean at all. Pest, insect, very unsanitary! Mold on ceilings in restrooms, over beds on ceiling! Law enforcement are there frequently!! They really need to shut... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. We use every comment to help us get better. I’m sorry to hear that you experienced a payment issue. I hope that was resolved for you at the time of your stay, but please contact me directly if there are any unresolved issues. I’m sorry that your stay with us did not meet your... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have never experienced such terrible treatment at a hotel! I was in Baton Rouge for a weekend for my aunts wedding. I drove 8 hrs from north Texas and was extremely tired when we arrived. We seen this place & stopped to check in. We couldn't find the original hotel we wanted. The hotel manager Crystal was very rude!!!!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that you experienced a customer service issue at our hotel that was apparently caused by your actions. I apologize for any ways in which we fell short of your expectations. Comments like these are routinely evaluated to help us determine how we can improve staffing, improve our hotel and make other positive... More

Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First room was a dump- we asked for another one and were moved. after moving in , we discovered there was no phone . Bath tub was dirty as well as walls. It smelled , but not as bad as first one. The sign outside gave a pr ice; however at check in. we were told that was price if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us during your last visit. We also appreciate the effort you have taken to give us review and we take them quite seriously towards improvement. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had whatsoever. The entire issue related to the cleanliness and other hygiene related problem in the room has been investigated. Appropriate steps... More

The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Already posted a review on hotels.com. Also sending team out to review hotel details as they misrepresent the rooms. Anyways, was a bad stay. The hotel caters to the bad crowd. Had hookers hanging around outside when we pulled up. Drug deals going on in front of the sign in window and free rooms given to the ladies friends. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken: • Security and management were approached about eliminating the “business dealings” going on the Hotel property. • Management was informed... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My room was dirty shower was not clean the shower head was broken so water was all over the small bathroom when I first got into the room there was water on the floor because the refrigerator was not working so I told the girl at the front desk that I need towels and she told me not to come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you like the location. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: • Maintenance was informed of the broken shower head, not working refrigerator, not... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge

Address: 9999 Gwenadelle Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70816 (Formerly Days Inn Baton Rouge)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay