We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South

3.0 of 5 7979 Essen Park Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
12
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Southaven, Mississippi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

The property is very clean. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast has many options and is well maintained. The pool and hot tub are nice and clean. The fitness center is nice. Only problem with the fitness center is that the only TV in the room was on a wall not infront of the machines. The machines had a tv... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all your great feedback. Next time you stay with us make sure that you have your earphones plugged into the fittness equipment. The televisions only work with earphones. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Jeanette Knight General Manager More

Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

As a health and safety professional with over 28 years’ experience that travels a lot, I wasn't impressed with the hotel. I joined my wife and sons who play travel soccer and had league games scheduled in town on a weekend with a big LSU football game. Not sure who set up the schedule but that's another email. Now trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us this weekend. Our LSU home games are quite a busy time for us. I was glad to read that you found the room clean and you liked the microwaves and refridgerators provided. I apologize if you found the elevator slow. I will call our contracted company to make sure that everything is functioning properly.... More

Hammond, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This hotel is close to the expressway so it's easy to get on and off I-10 and I-12. The lobby and hotel appear to be renovated recently. I had a king suite on the second floor, which was quite large. The room was clean and well stocked (coffee maker, extra cups, plates, forks, tea, earplugs), the housekeeping service did a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed our renovated spaces, clean rooms and friendly service. I will make sure that we are keeping the pool and deck area clean and tidy. I appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Jeanette Knight General Manager More

Spring Hill, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

As a Marriott Platinum member, I've stayed at many Marriott properties. This property was clean, but noisy as it was near the freeway and near the LSU campus. I stayed in late August, so there were many "rowdy" college types around. The stay wasn't unpleasant, but I feel the staff could have worked harder to ensure that non-college guests were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your way to Houston. I will share your comments with the staff. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and we want to make sure everyone enjoys their stay. Sincerely, Jeanette Knight General Manager More

Vinton, Louisiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Stayed here to go to LSU game due to the price. Good check - in and got room on first floor by exit. Room was nice and big. Stayed the first night and woke up for breakfast. Powdered eggs and cardboard sausage links. Biscuits were dry and the gravy was horrible. The best thing was the orange juice out the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I appreciate the email letting me know what happened during your stay and I will certainly address your findings during breakfast. Maintenance informed me that they were able to fix the ceiling the day you reported the issue. I hope that you give us another chance when you drive through... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Hotel is on a side street that serves 2 other hotels (Drury and a Fairfield) so not that much traffic. But the main boulevard once you get off the side street (Essen Ln) can be plenty busy, especially during rush hour. I was greeted with warm welcome and smile from the young lady (Kim?) who checked me in. She was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! We are most excited to see that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and friendly service. We just completed our renovation a year ago and we are proud of the way everything turned out. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Jeanette Knight General Manager More

Norcross, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I had a wonderful experience from my stay this past week. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff and especially Kim were excellent, Kim was very professional and if there was anything i needed she made sure it was taken care of. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

I am glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I will share your comments with Kim about her professional service. She will be so proud that she helped you enjoy your stay. Thanks for staying with us! Sincerely, Jeanette Knight General Manager More

Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

we were in town for a funeral. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was good and there was a wide range of choices. We would stay again. not far off of I-10, wasn't that hard to find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I will certainly share them with the staff. I was glad to see that you got a comfortable night's rest and enjoyed our breakfast the next morning. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Jeanette Knight General Manager More

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

TV broke, pool broke and sheets look like they never been changed. I would not tell anyone to stay with this change of Hotels. They should refund our money. Four stars yeah RIGHT! NOT See I can't even get this review finish this with out another requirement.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. I apologize that your television was broken in your room. If you have time and wish to call or email me I would like to find out what room you were in so we can address that issue. I also do not have any notes about the pool being closed... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I had a wonderful experience for my stay this past weekend. I was in town for business. The staff was friendly and the room was clean.I was greeted with complimentary grandma cookies. The house keepers was wonderful. I was in room 205. My only complain is breakfast was horrible. The asian lady cannot cook!!!!!!!!! She messed the eggs up and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jeanette_knight, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. I was delighted to see that our staff was friendly and our rooms clean. I apologize that you did not enjoy our breakfast. I can certainly speak to our breakfast attendant to see how we can improve the quality. Thanks again for your comments. Sincerely, Jeanette Knight General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South

Address: 7979 Essen Park Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Baton Rouge South Hotel Baton Rouge
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge

24 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay