We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Cabin Rentals

77 Natural Bridge Rd., Slade, KY
Scenic Cabin Rentals
Rate this Hotel

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (11)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Athens, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We looked on Trip Advisor prior to our honeymoon in January, and I had not seen all of the terrible reviews. DO NOT GO HERE. We were so excited to stay in Mt. Hideaway because of the jacuzzi, spiral staircase, and outdoor hot tub. When we got there, we knew it was going to be an interesting week. The spiral... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sceniccabin, Manager at Scenic Cabin Rentals, responded to this review

So sorry, sounds like you had a horrible experience and in discussing this review with all our office staff no one remembers any contact with you. You indicated you stayed in January and I apologize we do not have any information on this scenario. However, you are correct our store is closed during the week in Jan and Feb and... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We rented a different cabin with a different company, but due to frozen water pipes we were placed at Whippoorwill through Scenic Cabin Rentals. The cabin might have been great 20 years ago, but it has suffered wear and tear and has not been maintained properly. There was never hot water in the shower despite having hot water in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sceniccabin, Owner at Scenic Cabin Rentals, responded to this review

Thank you for the information on Whippoorwill cabin and we are in process of making numerous upgrades at this cabin at this time. You should not have been moved into this cabin; that was a mistake by office staff since the emergency at the other cabin lead them to have to make a move. New ceiling, new basement wall, new... More 

Travelers are raving about these Slade hotels

Colliers, West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We stayed at Peaceful Waters. Before I go further, I did attempt to notify the owner--While we were at the cabin, upon checkout, through email and finally by telephone. I was completely ignored until I threatened a review on tripadvisor and when I did talk to the owner, Nancy, all she did was make excuses. This cabin is advertised as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sceniccabin, General Manager at Scenic Cabin Rentals, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry to hear about all these issues at this very popular cabin. Athough she says she contacted our office none of the office staff remembers hearing from her at the time of her stay and we did not get any messages. We have just one new staff member who said she didn't get any complaints and the... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed in the Mountain View Cabin for 3 nights in Oct. The cabin was clean, cozy and had everything we need inside. Perfect size for a 4 ppl staying. Close to the climbing areas in Red, the restaurants and groceries. The rental office was not that obvious in a dark raining night, but with the instruction given in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Whippoorwill cabin was so cozy, yet there was plenty of room to gather in the family room and sleep 12 of us! The kitchen was a good size for our group to make meals and have buffet style dinners. The kitchen table was perfect for games

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We stayed in The Manor for two nights to celebrate a special Birthday. For the money we spent I expected more. The house has a walkway all around it. The weeds were so tall they were covering the walkway and the grass needed to be mowed. We had several outdoor activities planned and it would of been nice to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sceniccabin, General Manager at Scenic Cabin Rentals, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the Manor House. Yes, we sincerely apologize the yard was not taken care of prior to your arrival. We did have to make a mowing/ weed eating contract change late this summer due to poor results. We have since changed and the cabins are all mowed and weeded on a regular basis now. We... More 

Marcellus, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

No hot water, no water pressure, noisy Toilet. holes in the walls. missing and broken ceiling tiles, broken doors, molded and dirty patio chairs, picnic table rusted apart, dirty windows, Beware Dump!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sceniccabin, General Manager at Scenic Cabin Rentals, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Whippoorwill cabin. We are so sorry it was in such a poor state of affairs for your stay. This is not the typical state we strive for; we really want our cabins in top notch shape as repeat renters are a major part of our rental program. This cabin is scheduled for new... More 

Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

At first we thought the tee pee was so cool. It's made of stucco and the inside is exactly has the photos on their website. However, the drive is very steep on gravelly roads and if you need a running start to get up to the top of the hill, you cannot see drivers coming the opposite direction. The hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sceniccabin, General Manager at Scenic Cabin Rentals, responded to this review

Thank you for giving feedback on the Runnin Bear TeePee. It is nice to hear from our guests and we can say this is the first ever negative review on the TeePee. Matter of fact we have more great testimonials on this cabin than any other. We are not aware of any termites in this cabin but maintenance did check... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We rented Falcon Hurst through Scenic Cabin Rentals for a weekend stay at Red River Gorge. The cabin was located in a nice secluded community and was easy to find and wasn't too far from the Shell Gas Station everyone that goes to the Gorge knows, which makes it about a 10 minute drive from Nada Tunnel and the Natural... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We reserved a cabin through Scenic Cabin rentals online. We choose the Bear Lair. The cabin was GREAT! It had all of the amenities you could ask for. Dishwasher, full kitchen, bath, living room, satellite tv and a grill on the porch! As stated by the rental agreement, the "road" if you want to call it that to get back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question