We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carter Caves State Resort

Certificate of Excellence
344 Caveland Drive, Olive Hill, KY 41164
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Carter Caves State Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carter Caves State Resort
See the most recent reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

We stayed here 3 nights in mid week. Our room 282 was a king room with lots of space & comfortable bed. Nice quiet clean room, flat panel TV, located just off the main lobby. Handicapped accessible & close to parking. The balcony was disappointing. It partially overlooked the kitchen roof & needed cleaning. Didn't matter much to us because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DutchH37
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your post and most of all your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay. We try to do our best and it helps when folks let us know. Again THANKS for the post and most of all your visit. More 

Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We were tent campers and were very thankful to have a flat, dry site. We were caught between great neighbors (obviously came to spend time outdoors and fairly quiet) and then...awful neighbors, as in, some people simply do not know how to be considerate in a busy campground - noisy during the day with car stereo blaring and noisy at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. You pointed oout some very good points. I will speak with our Rangers about getting out more on foot rather than driving through. Our plan is to do some remodeling of the upper bath house you mentioned this winter as long as funds will allow it. Our mini-golf... More 

Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

The front desk when I called yesterday immediately transferred me to the campground when I clearly asked about the cabins and rooms. But they would not even let me talk before I could tell them before being transferred. Other than that the campground staff was very nice. We loved pioneer life week. We will be coming back soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank laurenrucker34
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your post and thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have passed this information along to our front desk and advied them that this form of service will not be tolerated. Again THANK YOU for your post but most of all for your visit. Hope to see you again someday. More 

Richmond, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

First time camping there and it was very hot and humid, rainy and muddy. The grounds for camping were basic and small. Our camp site was slightly trashed, we spend time cleaning the area first before setting up camp. The fire pit consisted of rocks in a circle. The people working there were adequate but not overly friendly. The bath... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank D E
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. I do apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations. Weather has not cooperated with our area for the past few weeks. The weatherman reported that it has rained 31 out of the last 38 days in our area. Our area was hit with a really bad storm the week of July 13th.... More 

Willow Wood, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Campground is going down hill. Understaffed and Ranger only went through one time while we were there. Bathrooms were dirty and 2 showers were broken. Staff member sign up while he was cleaning bathrooms but he was standing there texing on his phone. Young kids working in camp store....no respect for the park or the integrity of Carter Caves and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PATPOO68
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

THANK YOU for ppointing out a few things that need my immediate attention. I have had a discussion with our campground staff and we discussed the issues you pointed out. THANK YOU for sharing them. We hope to serve you again someday. More 

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

If you go on x-cave tour, be sure to ask for Josh. He is a fine young man who is both knowledgeable and enthusiastic about caves. It was a slow weekday a couple weeks ago, and my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. We enjoy going on cave tours but are not exactly enthusiasts. We learned... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank George R
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your posting. We have truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at Carter Caves. I have shared your comments with Josh and his supervisor. Again THANK YOU and we look forward to serving you again in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

Carter Caves is hands down our favorite place to go, we went camping again this past weekend at their camp ground. Friendly staff, very nice facilities (Considering your camping, not staying at some expensive hotel) We kayaked on the lake and fished with family, mountain biked their multi-use trails, played on the tennis court, and played in the creeks with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Outdoor-addict85
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your post. Post such as that are such positive impacts for our staff. I have shared your comments with all staff. We so look forward to serving you again someday in the future. More 

Olive Hill, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed at the campground the past weekend and had a much enjoyable stay. The staff was courteous and went out of their way to ensure a wonderful stay. We will be going back as often as possible throughout the summer. Great management!

Helpful?
Thank Brandi G
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to post about your visit. Posts like this allow us to know when we are doing our jobs and doing them right. Thanks agin and we hope to serve you again someday. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

As avid hikers we went to Carter's cave because we were running out of places in the Midwest that we hadn't been to. The hikes ranged from short to long and were scenic. The cave tours are a "must see" for day two! Beautiful park overall and the lodge wasn't fancy but wasn't a hole in the walk either Small... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steinbeck1
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay at Carter Caves. We appreciate not only the post but your visit to the park. I have shared your comments with our staff. Thank you again and we hope to serve you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Our group of 10 tent camped over the Memorial day weekend. The even numbered campsites in the 100 range were large and accommodated our large group. The fire pits are a nice stone circle and good firewood is available at the camp store but we bought more wood for less money from local vendors.The bathrooms were somewhat unclean but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenniferFray
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this review

Glad your visit to the park was great and THANK YOU for letting us know about your visit. Your comments on the restrooms I will be checking into and will stress to the campground staff to stay on that. Again THANK YOU for your post and we look forwad to seeing you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olive Hill
10.5 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Grayson
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead
Hampton Inn Morehead
#1 of 6 in Morehead
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
23.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
22.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay