We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages

1149 State Park Rd, Lucas, KY 42156
Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
20
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Columbus, IN, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Tranquil setting. Perfect for someone that enjoys nature. Great food in the dining room. Comfortable rooms. If you are looking for bright lights and entertainment options, go to Chicago or some other big city. If you are looking for a place to relax and "get away", this is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

The beautiful lakeside setting and rolling hills is definitely a defining difference for our resort park and those choosing to relax or enjoy getting into nature. Hope you can come for a return visit soon. Thank you for being our guests. Lisa- More 

Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

First, check-in was supposed to be at 3 pm, we weren't able to get into the cottage until almost 5 pm; because they were "cstill cleaning it!" That was a joke to say the least. We stayed in cottage 508 for 2 nts. Place was disgusting. Dead bugs smashed on the walls, their environmentally friendly AC looked like it hadn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

We apologize that you found your cabin in less than acceptable condition. We also regret that you stayed in it for two nights without asking for assistance to be moved or it to be cleaned. We are not perfect, however our housekeeping staff is much better than this as other guest/reviews reflect. Your comments have been shared with our staff... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lucas hotels

Newark, Delaware, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Great food and service. Views of the Lake are outstanding. This is a natural setting and if you appreciate nature, hiking, good photography and boating and fishing , you will love it. If you need to be entertained then you will not be happy. Go to Disneyworld.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding our park. Come back and visit soon! Sincerely, Lisa- More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

There are not enough words to properly apologize to my family for this lame getaway. The cabin sucks. There's nothing to do. No good at all. Maybe if you're elderly and just want to eat and sleep, then I guess it would be ok. The nature trail is short. The pool is closed. The beach is closed. And to top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

I regret you were disappointed in what our park has to offer. Just to let you know that our location is a seasonal location and the pool does close early September each year. We also offer recreational programming for all ages from Memorial weekend thru Labor Day weekend on Wednesday-Saturday. Some areas other guests enjoy are: the marina for boat... More 

Brevard, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We spent one night at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge in late September. The view from our room was outstanding. I took many photos at sunset and sunrise with the lake acting as a reflecting pool. The interior of our room appeared to be updated. The air handling system was modern. The bathroom had been updated and included luxurious towels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and thank you for your comments! Hope you can make it back for more pecan pancakes soon! Lisa- More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We drove with 15 Corvettes through the beautiful winding roads from Bowling Green to Barren State Park for lunch. The whole facility is just beautiful and the buffet lunch for $7.99 including great desserts and drinks was amazing . Our group can't wait to go back and stay a Couple nights'.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

I have passed your comments along to our restaurant and kitchen staffs. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and for being our guest. Please come back and we hope you are able to stay longer! If I can be of assistance, just let me know. Lisa- More 

Gallatin, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My stay was not at all pleasant...and unfortunately, I won't be back!!! There were several things broken or askew in the room...no clean linens on day 2...coffee creamer so old it was melted and stuck to the foil packaging...in both packs (but the restaurant - Leah- was very nice and gave me some for 1 pot of coffee - no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

I apologize for the disappointing experiences at our park. We have reviewed your issues at length and thank you for taking the time to share them. The worst thing a guest/customer can do (in my opinion) is not tell someone in charge. Due to you sharing your comments, today our operation is better. No one and no business is perfect... More 

Roundhill, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and some friends went up this last weekend to get away! we found the rooms to be clean but a little out dated. WIFI was not the best either. We had a room with balcony over looking the lake that was AMAZING! Beach was closed so we had to travel to another location on the lake to enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest! I love our views too (especially at sunset). I apologize that we did not meet all your expectations. It is my hope you will come back for another visit and the great memories that await. Let me know if I how I may be of assistance. Lisa- More 

Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We usually rent a house when going to the area to visit family, but this was an unexpected trip due to a family death, and the lodge and villas were all that were available. I can honestly say that the poor reviews were a deterrent, but I wish I had stayed there before to form my own opinion. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

The staff and I offer our condolences for your loss. Your comments touched us and we are very glad we were here in your time of need. I have spoken to Whitney and Leanne and told them of your thoughts. It means a lot to know what you do makes a difference and I appreciate you affording me the opportunity... More 

Bug Tussle
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
674 helpful votes 674 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in the famous cabin 507 which IS down a flight of stairs from the parking area. Others are not. The lake view is restricted by the woods behind the cabin. Don't expect much view from the back deck. It is not there, so we don't sit out there even though there are metal chairs out there. The front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us-we appreciate it! The cabin you had is in a more wooded area. The next time you visit, may I recommend our villas. Many of the villas will have a view of the lake. The cabin you were in does have the advantage of being closer to the pool, marina and lodge. If you would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question