We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Lucas accommodations

Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages

Save Saved
You added Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages to your Saves list
1149 State Park Rd, Lucas, KY 42156
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (50)
  • Photos (76)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucas
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We drove with 15 Corvettes through the beautiful winding roads from Bowling Green to Barren State Park for lunch. The whole facility is just beautiful and the buffet lunch for $7.99 including great desserts and drinks was amazing . Our group can't wait to go back and stay a Couple nights'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gallatin, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My stay was not at all pleasant...and unfortunately, I won't be back!!! There were several things broken or askew in the room...no clean linens on day 2...coffee creamer so old it was melted and stuck to the foil packaging...in both packs (but the restaurant - Leah- was very nice and gave me some for 1 pot of coffee - no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

I apologize for the disappointing experiences at our park. We have reviewed your issues at length and thank you for taking the time to share them. The worst thing a guest/customer can do (in my opinion) is not tell someone in charge. Due to you sharing your comments, today our operation is better. No one and no business is perfect... More

Travelers are raving about these Lucas hotels

Roundhill, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and some friends went up this last weekend to get away! we found the rooms to be clean but a little out dated. WIFI was not the best either. We had a room with balcony over looking the lake that was AMAZING! Beach was closed so we had to travel to another location on the lake to enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest! I love our views too (especially at sunset). I apologize that we did not meet all your expectations. It is my hope you will come back for another visit and the great memories that await. Let me know if I how I may be of assistance. Lisa- More

Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We usually rent a house when going to the area to visit family, but this was an unexpected trip due to a family death, and the lodge and villas were all that were available. I can honestly say that the poor reviews were a deterrent, but I wish I had stayed there before to form my own opinion. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

The staff and I offer our condolences for your loss. Your comments touched us and we are very glad we were here in your time of need. I have spoken to Whitney and Leanne and told them of your thoughts. It means a lot to know what you do makes a difference and I appreciate you affording me the opportunity... More

Bug Tussle
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in the famous cabin 507 which IS down a flight of stairs from the parking area. Others are not. The lake view is restricted by the woods behind the cabin. Don't expect much view from the back deck. It is not there, so we don't sit out there even though there are metal chairs out there. The front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us-we appreciate it! The cabin you had is in a more wooded area. The next time you visit, may I recommend our villas. Many of the villas will have a view of the lake. The cabin you were in does have the advantage of being closer to the pool, marina and lodge. If you would... More

Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
2,118 helpful votes 2,118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife was going through a rough time with work and an ill family member and with Barren being less than two hours from home, I took her for a getaway out of town. Arriving was an experience. Location typed into GPS did not match where GPS sent me. I had to stop and ask for directions twice. Would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

It is nice to take a get away and not have to drive so far. Our location is a definite plus due to us being centrally located and so close to I 65 and many other attractions. I apologize for your key not working the first time and glad a staff member brought you another. One of my favorite things... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

First of all villas are the better place to stay by far, executives are rustic primitive and just plain old, but closer to the lodge, third you cannot tell anything by their lame website you just need to go there and check it out seriously. If you call them you'll have to pry this information out of them. They are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our check-in time is 4pm, however we do allow early check-in whenever possible. The cabin you saw may have been part of a large group block (such as a family reunion) and therefore not available. The check-in time is given at the time of reservation and I apologize if you did not know this information.... More

Glasgow, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I recently hosted a fishing trip for two chronically ill children. After talking with the park manager, she gave me suggestions on the best way to handle different aspects of my trip. Both families were very pleased with the lodging, food and overall friendliness of the staff. I will definitely be using them for all my fishing trips in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Mark, The trip for the children would not have been possible had it not been for your efforts. It was our honor to be a part of such a worthy experience. Thank you for letting us be a part of the memories. Let's us know how we can help in the future. Lisa More

Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins for 3 nights in January. We checked in on a Friday evening. Check in was very quick & the lady at the front desk was very friendly. The park has beautiful surroundings & we saw a lot of wildlife. We stayed in one of the executive villas & it had a view of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. January is a great time to visit for peace, quiet and wildlife viewing. I apologize for the inconvience of the hot water heater breaking down and that you needed to change cabins. We would wish for no surprises but must admit unfortunately things will break down. Regarding the discount on your cabin,... More

Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Staff was excellent cabin was nice & comfy. If you are looking for peace and quiet the is the place to stay. They will take excellent care of you. I will return when I am in the area again. My only recommendation to anyone visiting the park in the winter is be prepared to drive into town for dinner when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello, In this hustle and bustle world, we so appreciate you taking the time to share the good news! Hearing your thoughts and praise is very uplifting to our staff and myself. We realize there are many lodging choices; thank you for chosing us. It will be our pleasure to serve you the next time you are in our area.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1149 State Park Rd, Lucas, KY 42156
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Barren River Lake Resort Lodge And Cottages Hotel Bowling Green
Barren River State Park
Barren River Lake Hotel

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Restaurant Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This resort park is bordered by a 10,000 acre lake. Accomodation choices includes lodge room, cottage or villa. The lodge room is spacious and includes hair dryer, ironing board/iron and coffeemaker. The outstanding feature of this accomodation is the private balcony that offers peace and relaxtion. The Villas are two bedrooms with two beds per, two full baths, living room, dining/kitchen, screened room and deck w/grill. Vaulted ceiling and a gas fireplace add to the ambiance of this accomodation. The cottages are more rustic than the villas. Similar to the villas, they have two bedrooms, two full baths, living room, kitchen/dining room. Both the cottages and villas, are fully furnished including, bedding, terry, pots/pans, glassware, plates, flatware, coffeemaker,mircowave and full-sized refridgerator. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
51

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Barren River Lake Resort Lodge and Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer