We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Downtown

2.0 of 5 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Downtown
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    39
    14
    9
See reviews for
17
43
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is incredible for walking to all downtown attractions. Upon arrival and departure staff were extremely courteous and accommodating. The room was very clean, spacious, newly remodeled, and comfortable. The price was less than half neighboring hotels. We plan to stay here for all future trips to Louisville. Great hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

The econolodge staff were very helpful. It is very close to most things downtown. The rates are very reasonable. The rooms were cleaned well everyday. I took advantage of the breakfast every morning. The only negative was a cigarette burn on my comforter from a previous occupant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Suited our needs perfectly for a stay right downtown. Within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and museum row. Our room was clean and updated from the pictures on the website, and much better than I expected for the cheapest hotel in the area. $5 for parking seemed extremely reasonable. Some of the staff was not friendly, but one desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Happy Guest, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. made a note of your concern for friendliness of some of the staff member, I will personally discuss your concerns and will make sure... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

The room was nice and clean, and in a good location right off the interstate, but when we paid for Service we were treated like "popours" or poor people simply because of our appearance. As soon as the night shift clerk knew that we could pay the price listed online he quickly overcharged us and never even gave us the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We take your feedback seriously, and we are sorry we failed to provide the service you should have received. We regret your disappointment and we hope to have the opportunity to make amends. I looked into your account and found out that you were not charged over. The rate you paid is our normal rate being in downtown.... More 

Illinois
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

This hotel wasn't bad. Great location for 4th street. Gas station across the street for late night snacks. Great value. Rooms were fine. walking distance to fourth street venues. would stay here again if I was going downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for the reviewing our hotel for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel in great location and you had a great stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed here for three days during the week. First impression of this hotel is positive. Upon checking in, I can tell its slowly going down hill. Staff not very friendly. Got to our room and the first thing I see is stains on the carpet. Inspected the room and found food left in fridge, bathroom/shower area not very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had. It has never happened where we send wrong items back to guest and we never intend to do that. Since it was shirts, it is possible we didn't get the detail and we sent whatever we had. I will discuss your concerns about... More 

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Loved the location. The room was roomy and it was nice to have a fridge. The improvements are few but major. The housecleaning staff are not considerate of other guest. All I heard was slamming of the doors. Finally, when you have a checkout time, housekeeping should not be knocking on your door before hand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us! I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but thank you for bringing these issues to my attention so that I can address them with our staff. I am glad that you loved the location and amenities that we provide. Please stay with us again, we will make sure... More 

Clarksville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

My family made a short trip to Louisville for a concert and we only stayed over night. The Econo Lodge was very convenient to the location of the concert and the price was very reasonable. I was really impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the convenience of the check-in and check-out. If we are ever in the Louisville... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Gust, Thanks a ton for the wonderful review of our hotel for your recent stay with us. Thanks a lot for recognizing our location which is in the heart of downtown and within walk inn distance to all attractions in Louisville downtown. Once again thanks a lot and We are looking forward to see you soon! More 

Sidcup, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Don’t believe claims that the staff speak English. If only this were true. First of all, the desk staff, with the exception of the friendly and helpful Jeff, were taciturn and monosyllabic and knew nothing about the area. The accommodation was acceptable. The problem was that we booked a late checkout and in fact, returned to the room half an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank a lot for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. First of all, I never received your email requesting the maps you left in room otherwise I would reply it right away. I personally remember assisting you with the problem. As you mentioned about housekeeper could call front desk to... More 

los angeles
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Location is an easy walk to downtown and some fabulous restaurants. Clerk on check in and check out mechanical and not friendly. Very dirty carpet. Bed made in some crazy fashion with sheet and very thin blanket folded in the middle. Was exhausted and had to completely remake bed. Heat was very noisy so we slept in cold room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. I made a note of your concerns of customer service and we will work harder to make sure we don't miss any guest for the great customer service normally we provide. You will be glad to know that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay