We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Downtown
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
17
45
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Richmond, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to our room. The whole room looked "new". The place looks a bit rough on the outside, and it's not the Ritz, but for the price, downtown, I think it's a good deal. Brief interactions with staff at the desk were very friendly. We stayed one night, and will likely stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dave, It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We will share your comments with our staff and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Wheeling, West Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the hotel on a whim. I wish I would have done more research. Not worth the price. Small and dated room. 117 had a gap in the door that you could pretty much see through. Furniture scuffed & broken. Not many options for the continental breakfast. The guy working the front desk wasn't the friendliest either. I would look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review and posting picture of door regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. If your room was not up to standards, I hope you will accept our... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very pleased with my stay here over the weekend to watch the NCAA tournament at the Yum Center. It was a short walk and the Econo Lodge was about half the price of nearby chain hotels, sometimes less than half. The staff was friendly, parking was a reasonable $5 a day, and the breakfast area was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping and hospitality standards. It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable and convenient experience. We are glad that you were satisfied with the hospitality of our helpful and kind staff and the convenience of the location and we... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

the rates were up because of the basketball game snow was not cleared and pushed up on sidewalks so had to clime over it for access to pk lot... rooms as usual for chain but it just a glorified motel 6 type thing not wroth over 60 buck at most in the high season

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

The location is incredible for walking to all downtown attractions. Upon arrival and departure staff were extremely courteous and accommodating. The room was very clean, spacious, newly remodeled, and comfortable. The price was less than half neighboring hotels. We plan to stay here for all future trips to Louisville. Great hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a ton for the great review. I am happy to hear that you found clean, comfortable rooms at Econo Lodge Downtown, which is located in the heart of downtown and within walk-ins distance to 4th street live, KY convention center and KFC Yum center and many restaurants in downtown. I am glad that staff delivered the great... More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

The econolodge staff were very helpful. It is very close to most things downtown. The rates are very reasonable. The rooms were cleaned well everyday. I took advantage of the breakfast every morning. The only negative was a cigarette burn on my comforter from a previous occupant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel for your stay in January. I am glad that staff delivered the great service. I do apologize for the cigarette burn on the bed spread. You will be glad to know that all the rooms have new Econo Lodge Easy Bedding now. We just replaced bedding in... More 

Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Suited our needs perfectly for a stay right downtown. Within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and museum row. Our room was clean and updated from the pictures on the website, and much better than I expected for the cheapest hotel in the area. $5 for parking seemed extremely reasonable. Some of the staff was not friendly, but one desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Happy Guest, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. made a note of your concern for friendliness of some of the staff member, I will personally discuss your concerns and will make sure... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

The room was nice and clean, and in a good location right off the interstate, but when we paid for Service we were treated like "popours" or poor people simply because of our appearance. As soon as the night shift clerk knew that we could pay the price listed online he quickly overcharged us and never even gave us the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We take your feedback seriously, and we are sorry we failed to provide the service you should have received. We regret your disappointment and we hope to have the opportunity to make amends. I looked into your account and found out that you were not charged over. The rate you paid is our normal rate being in downtown.... More 

Illinois
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

This hotel wasn't bad. Great location for 4th street. Gas station across the street for late night snacks. Great value. Rooms were fine. walking distance to fourth street venues. would stay here again if I was going downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for the reviewing our hotel for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel in great location and you had a great stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed here for three days during the week. First impression of this hotel is positive. Upon checking in, I can tell its slowly going down hill. Staff not very friendly. Got to our room and the first thing I see is stains on the carpet. Inspected the room and found food left in fridge, bathroom/shower area not very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had. It has never happened where we send wrong items back to guest and we never intend to do that. Since it was shirts, it is possible we didn't get the detail and we sent whatever we had. I will discuss your concerns about... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question