We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Downtown

2.0 of 5 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Downtown
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
17
42
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Loved the location. The room was roomy and it was nice to have a fridge. The improvements are few but major. The housecleaning staff are not considerate of other guest. All I heard was slamming of the doors. Finally, when you have a checkout time, housekeeping should not be knocking on your door before hand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us! I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but thank you for bringing these issues to my attention so that I can address them with our staff. I am glad that you loved the location and amenities that we provide. Please stay with us again, we will make sure... More 

Clarksville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family made a short trip to Louisville for a concert and we only stayed over night. The Econo Lodge was very convenient to the location of the concert and the price was very reasonable. I was really impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the convenience of the check-in and check-out. If we are ever in the Louisville... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Gust, Thanks a ton for the wonderful review of our hotel for your recent stay with us. Thanks a lot for recognizing our location which is in the heart of downtown and within walk inn distance to all attractions in Louisville downtown. Once again thanks a lot and We are looking forward to see you soon! More 

Sidcup, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Don’t believe claims that the staff speak English. If only this were true. First of all, the desk staff, with the exception of the friendly and helpful Jeff, were taciturn and monosyllabic and knew nothing about the area. The accommodation was acceptable. The problem was that we booked a late checkout and in fact, returned to the room half an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank a lot for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. First of all, I never received your email requesting the maps you left in room otherwise I would reply it right away. I personally remember assisting you with the problem. As you mentioned about housekeeper could call front desk to... More 

los angeles
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Location is an easy walk to downtown and some fabulous restaurants. Clerk on check in and check out mechanical and not friendly. Very dirty carpet. Bed made in some crazy fashion with sheet and very thin blanket folded in the middle. Was exhausted and had to completely remake bed. Heat was very noisy so we slept in cold room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. I made a note of your concerns of customer service and we will work harder to make sure we don't miss any guest for the great customer service normally we provide. You will be glad to know that we... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed overnight for the Paul McCartney concert at KFC Yum Center. Convenient, easy to find location allowed for easy walk to the event. Clean, efficient and friendly. I expected the inflated price due to the event, but was still over $100 cheaper than most of the surrounding hotels. Papa John's on the property and a 24 hour Shell across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is indeed a pleasure to have your review in positive way. Thank you so much for the review. I am glad that everything worked out great and thank you for recognizing our location which is in the heart of Louisville Downtown. I am glad that to hear that our ongoing renovation of bathroom and vanity floor didn't... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed at the Econo Lodge Downtown when we came to Louisville for the Centennial Festival of Riverboats. We chose the Econo Lodge because of price and location. We could walk to the festival and to many bars, restaurants and night life. The motel it's self was clean, with a few cosmetic issues. The room was equipped with a coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found clean and comfortable room. On your concerns for the bathroom, we are currently renovating our bathrooms by installing new vinyl floor and painting the walls. We won't be changing the size of the bathroom as we have limitations... More 

Burgess Hill
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed here so we could walk to all the sites downtown. Desk staff were a little difficult over the Internet booking at first. Room was nice and very clean. However, avoid corner rooms by the stairwell due to those coming back after a night out echoing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for the review. I am glad to hear that you found a clean and comfortable room. I will look into the matter of internet reservation issues that you explained. Stay with us again you are in Louisville, KY next time! More 

Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

At the last minute, we booked a room at this hotel and cancelled our reservations at a much more expensive hotel just down the street. For a savings of nearly $100 a night, we decided to give it a try. Like others here have said, the room was clean but no frills. The worst thing about this hotel was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Janice, Thanks a lot for reviewing out hotel and explaining to world that what we provide is clean, comfortable rooms with great value in Louisville Downtown. I made a note of your concerns for coffee and please be assure that we are aware of it and in the process to change the vendor to GFS coffee which we used... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed at this location from 9/15/14 to 9/21/14 and really loved the proximity to 4th street live where you can find some really exciting mix of good restaurants and lounges. We have toddler who loved the short walk to the riverfront and the parks. The rooms were spacious and clean for an econolodge. If I were to give a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Randy L, Thank you for leaving us a review about your stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed it and we hope you will be our guest again soon. We certainly enjoy reading all these great reviews from our wonderful guests. It starts our day out in wonderful way and we have you to thank for... More 

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Clean linens, comfy bed, hot shower with good pressure. Only downside: The (free) wifi was intolerably slow. I ended up going to a Starbucks on the next block to surf the web. Also, breakfast was kinda lame, but I guess predictably so—the classic Continental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a nice review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us except the internet and breakfast concerns that you mentioned. Please be assure that both of your concerns will be taken care of its best level. Once again thanks a lot and we look forward to hosting... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay