We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Louisville hotels

Econo Lodge Downtown

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
61%
Ranked #47 of 96 hotels in Louisville
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
sas11560 Richmond, Indiana
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
29
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're looking for luxury or even a good nights sleep then this probably isn't the hotel for you. Yes it has a great price especially compared to the other hotels in the area. It also has a great location within walking distance to 4th Street Live and many other local attractions. However, the rooms are musty smelling. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Tomichekn, Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with us and I am glad that you loved the location of the hotel. For your concerns for the safety and security of the hotel, we never had any incident of car broken or stolen in past 7 years I have been as a General Manager. The sign you... More

Richmond, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the downtown Econo Lodge on March 7, 2014. Excellent location as we were going to the YUM Center to see a concert. It was only about a 5 minute walk from the motel and to 4th Street Live. The motel was dated but very clean. Motel staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable. This motel met all our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sas11560, Thank you so much for the great review for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you loved the location and comfort and cleanliness of the room. Please visit us again! Pete Patel More

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The city was booked solid so I reluctantly booked here. I had low expectations after a frustrating booking process, but I was determined to make it work because I had to attend a Convention. I checked out after ten minutes. The room was putrid with stale tobacco smell, the bed linen was discoloured and the blanket was 1970's style with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mickthered, Thank you so much for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you may had during your visit. I looked into your reservation and found out that you had a smoking room reserved as we were super busy. I took a note about your concerns and will discuss to my staff for improvement. Once again I... More

Kingston
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was adequate. No complaints. The rooms were worn down and could use renovating but were comfortable and clean nonetheless. Bathroom was extremely small. Breakfast had limited choices but was better than nothing. Hotel staff was friendly and welcoming...probably the best thing about this hotel. I would stay here again but only if trying to save money...it is the cheapest... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth, Thanks a lot for reviewing our hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your experience with my staff and I am sure that they will be happy to know that we are going great job. Once again thank you very much and stay with us again! More

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Traveled to Louisville for a concert and was primarily concerned about a location close the Yum center to avoid driving and parking. This Hotel is very conveniently located to all the major downtown venues including 4th street live, easily within walking distance to everything. The Hotel is a little dated and rough in a few spots, but served Our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear gklittle500, Thank you so much for the review and I am glad that you loved the location of the hotel. I made a note about your concerns about hotel condition and I will share with my staff. Once again thanks a lot for the review and please visit us again! More

Louisville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were able to check in quickly - staff was not really friendly but not unfriendly either. Cigarrette hole in bedspread and we were in a non-smoking room. It was also either too hot or too cold - there was not a happy medium & when you turned the heat on it blew the curtains out - not an inconvenience... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lesa, Thank you so much for the review and I do apologize for any inconvenience you may had during your stay. I took a note about your concerns for hole in bed spread in nonsmoking room, heat temperature and room price. Just for your information, our average rates are from $79.00 to $99.00 per night but rate changes for... More

Boonville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Surprisingly clean, and affordable hotel for being in downtown Louisville. We checked in late and they waived the parking fee! They had a great military discount! Free Wifi, and the breakfast wasn't bad. No waffles :( LOL, The shower hot water lasted forever!! Awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write such a great review of our property! I am happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and clean. Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay even better. We hope to... More

Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We needed an inexpensive hotel, near downtown, for 2 nights. Booked non-smoking rooms, but were given rooms that had clearly been smoked in. Called the front desk and they were very good about changing our rooms. The rooms are very basic, but comfortable and very quiet. Free Wi-Fi and a decent breafast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for the great review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Once again thank you so much and please visit us again! More

Louisville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Location is great, room very clean and nice, We enjoyed our stay very much. When we arrived, the heat in the room did not work. Manager on site was very accomidating and nice about it and immediantly gave us another room, which was very nice and warm. I would definantly stay here again because the facility and staff were very... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel for your recent stay. I am glad that you find clean, comfortable rooms. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with room that you were satisfied with. If you are in the area in the future, please visit us again! More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to start off our KY Bourbon Trail. Free wi-fi, free breakfast [though limited], and daily parking at $5. The rooms are a little old, but fine. The bathrooms could do with a re-do. Great location, not far from the Yum Centre, 4th St Live or dining/attractions of Louisville. Comfy beds, cheap deal if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much the reviewing our hotel for your recent stay. I am glad that you find clean, comfortable room and you loved the location of the hotel which is in the heart of Louisville Downtown. About your concerns for an elevator, we must haven missed to inform you during your check inn, but we do have... More

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel
Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.