We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 64 Lexington hotels

Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Resort Credit
Save Saved
You added Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
76%
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
DuchessofCornwall Mountain View, California
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    125
    61
    30
    9
See reviews for
78
81
17
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a terrific visit to Lexington with our stay at the Griffin Gate. Not only was the location convenient to the Horse Park, but the staff was friendly and willing to do everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We especially appreciated that they located and sent us our mobile phone that we had left behind! Thank you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here as we visited our son at the University of Kentucky for a Saturday to Sunday stay. The bathroom was VERY small and tight. I agree with another reviewer that the rooms are dark. Pillows need to be updated. I downloaded and tried to use the new check-in app with some trouble. Had to use front desk anyway.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us while visiting your son at UK. Your feedback is very important to our team and we continously challenge ourselves to provide an exceptional experience for every guest and with every interaction. We will continue to monitor feedback regarding the lighting or darkness in our rooms. Part of... More

Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was booked here by my agency for an extended stay. I didn't think it would work out but it was great. The first room wasn't exactly what I needed but they moved me to a fantastic room on the concierge floor. After a month my parents came to visit and the front desk staff made sure they were right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a terrible time at check in. The staff was not on their game that day, and a letter has been written to Marriott. The rooms are small, dark colored, and with very small bathrooms without a lot of space. The Tempur-Pedic mattresses are hot. I would suggest staying at a brighter, newer hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret the experience you had and offer a very sincere apology. We have followed up with our associates who assisted you with your check-in. They genuinely regret their failure to take great care of you. We value your feedback and take it very seriously. We hope to see you again in the future... More

Dayton, OR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an extended business stay in a hotel advertising itself as a "resort and spa". The positive: it had a spa, it was conveniently located and it was clean. The not so positive: VERY small bathrooms, small guest rooms, very uncomfortable mattresses (updated to Temperpedic) but if you sleep "hot" you will have an awful time of it, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Ram1995, Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments on the cleanliness of our resort. I'm sorry to hear abot the difficulty you experienced with your guest room. Because you also were kind enough to complete a Marriott survey for your stay, we were able to go back to the room you occupied to address the concern... More

Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at this "resort" three times now and the staff are always welcoming and professional. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Apparently some of the rooms have been recently renovated but mine have never shown signs of that. The grounds are very nice if you have a chance to walk them. My major issue, and it's happened twice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Chef_Baboo, I'm sorry to hear about the problems with the neighboring room's dog! While we do still accept pets, we have strict restrictions in place to avoid these kinds of issues. We strive to maintain a peaceful environment at all times and I'm glad to read that our security staff responded quickly. We appreciate your return visits and the... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel really has it all. If you are here for a business or pleasure I don't think that you will be disappointed. I was here for business and they have a great work area if you need to complete some things or meet with coworkers. I enjoyed the lunch and the breakfast bar that they had as well. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needed a one night stop halfway between Hilton Head and home so thought we'd try Griffin Gate - we wish we had stayed there a few days instead of just one night. What a beautiful property! It's a big Marriott built around maybe 1980 I would guess but the lobby and rooms are all updated - very current, fresh and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Generally we love Marriott hotels and this one was nice with a pleasant staff. However, I would rather take a beating than "sleep" on their bed again. My husband and I barely slept as the memory foam mattress or mattress top was hard and uncomfortable and left us feeling as if we had wrestled with someone instead of sleeping. Please... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hi SouthernGirl28, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the bed in your room. We want all of our guests to have a great, comfortable nights sleep and I am very sorry you and your husband did not experience this. Would you please be kind enough to send me an email so that I can inspect the specific room... More

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bed was wonderful! But bathrooms extremely small and had a not so clean smell. Hand towels need bleaching. Had to cut air way down to keep cool. Otherwise front desk friendly and room had a fridge in it. Nice room overall. Expected a little bit more for a Marriott!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lexington with
any amenities