We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Special Offer
$40 Credit for Your Stay
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    148
    71
    33
    12
See reviews for
92
93
20
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (482)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I went to Lexington to run the Kentucky Horse Capital Marathon (I did the half). It was very close to start line and had a late check out time for runners. The resort was very nice and good staff. Close to interstate and easy to get to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice expansive property that is very convenient to downtown and the interstate. The grounds are very well maintained and some of the areas within the property of haven been updated and the rooms have new furnishings, but you definitely feel like 1989 was a good year for its opening. Staff was very friendly and helpful which has become very standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
California, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Sadly, this hotel did not meet our expectations. The positives: Super friendly and helpful staff. A very comfortable mattress - if a good bed is your number one priority, consider booking a room here. The negatives: The room was small, dark, and smelled strongly of perfume (perhaps the cleaning solution used?). The smell took two days to fade. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Bev367 - Thank you for posting your review and I apologize for the areas you noted where we failed to meet your expectations. I will share your feedback with our housekeeping staff as the concerns you mentioned also fall far short of our expectations. I want to invite you to send me a short note so that I can... More 

Landenberg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a most excellent stay this year end of March for RunTheBluegrass! Perfect location for race day as well as tour pick up to Horse farms. Great lobby to hang out with friends, good bar area. We'll be back next year again for sure!! We only had one issue with our stay, our waitress our first night there, after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Karla K, Thank you so much for sharing your comments! We appreciate you taking the time to share the great experience you had at our resort and at the Run The Bluegrass event! It was concerning, though, to read about your service in our restaurant. I would love to hear from you so that we can share more details... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is already located on a beautiful property & has recently been given a "facelift". If you've stayed here in the past, by all means give it another try! From the grounds, to the staff to the memory foam beds, there have been some pleasant upgrades. Some of the rooms still need updating & it is a tad pricey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The bed was amazing. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. Interior of hotel and restaurants is very attractive. Restaurant was great. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a huge disappointment. The rooms, and service were not up to par. The towels were so worn and thin and should be replaced. The hotel is being renovated and that is part of its problem. The concierge lounge's food was below average. The restaurant however was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hanna48, I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. I'll make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of our team to ensure we are doing everything we can to provide the highest quality and service to our guests. I want to invite you to contact me with more specific details, and this may give... More 

Newington, Ct
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I opted to use Priceline just a few hours before we arrived; I expected a regular Marriott, but instead hit the jackpot with this property; even though we are advantage members, I thought we would get a mediocre room; when I jokingly asked the front desk for an upgrade, she said she would see what she could do...oh my: turns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kentucky
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I live only 20 minutes from this property so rarely do I stay here but now and then my company will hold several day meetings with a late dinner and open bar so it makes sense to stay. I am not sure how long ago the remodel took place but it has made a big difference. The lobby area is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkRavenscraft, General Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks so much for personally taking the time to let us know about your recent visit and great experience at our Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to know our recent renovation enhancements were so well received by you and your colleagues. We are very proud of our Associates and Resort ,and hope to be of... More 

New Philadelphia, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I left my riding boots in my room. I didn't realize this until I got home to Obio. I called the hotel and they were so nice and found the boots. I received them 3 days later Fed Ex. Now that's customer service! Did I mention at no charge to me. Will definitely stay here in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkRavenscraft, General Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear your items were located and shipped in a quick fashion. We will certainly share your comments with our Shipping and Receiving Team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa; come back soon! Best Regards Mark Ravenscraft General Manager Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay