We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 64 Lexington hotels

Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Resort Credit
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
76%
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
12toby12 Charlotte, North Carolina
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    127
    62
    30
    9
See reviews for
80
82
17
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (417)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Griffin Gate Hotel for 3 days in September. I was a little nervous when we drove up to the hotel because the outside outdated and unattractive. When we got inside the hotel I was surprised because it was nicer then what I expected. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are what you would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel...the grounds are wonderful. This is am older hotel however it's in great shape. This was our second stay this month. Both times we have had an excellent stay. Bar is excellent and the steakhouse gets good reviews. We have not had chance to visit yet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watkinsville, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed our stay at the Griffin Gate. Rooms were small but clean. Beds were comfortable. The lobby was nice, but the hotel restaurant was a bit pricey. Fitness area was passable and pools were fine. Across the street is a very nice 5+ mile walking/running/cycling trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Bjbrodrick - I wanted to share with you that our fitness is going to be completely updated in mid-November! We will relocate our equipment for approximately one week so there is no interruption in service. We hope you have a chance to come back after it's completion to let us know what you think! Thanks for your review. Dan... More

East London, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently spent one night at the Griffin Gate. It was suitable for our purposes, staff were friendly, and the restaurant served great food! Lovely bar too. Unfortunately our stay did not allow us an opportunity to explore the grounds the hotel is set in a bit more, except for a short stroll - the golf course looks incredible, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a terrific visit to Lexington with our stay at the Griffin Gate. Not only was the location convenient to the Horse Park, but the staff was friendly and willing to do everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We especially appreciated that they located and sent us our mobile phone that we had left behind! Thank you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as we visited our son at the University of Kentucky for a Saturday to Sunday stay. The bathroom was VERY small and tight. I agree with another reviewer that the rooms are dark. Pillows need to be updated. I downloaded and tried to use the new check-in app with some trouble. Had to use front desk anyway.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us while visiting your son at UK. Your feedback is very important to our team and we continously challenge ourselves to provide an exceptional experience for every guest and with every interaction. We will continue to monitor feedback regarding the lighting or darkness in our rooms. Part of... More

Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was booked here by my agency for an extended stay. I didn't think it would work out but it was great. The first room wasn't exactly what I needed but they moved me to a fantastic room on the concierge floor. After a month my parents came to visit and the front desk staff made sure they were right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a terrible time at check in. The staff was not on their game that day, and a letter has been written to Marriott. The rooms are small, dark colored, and with very small bathrooms without a lot of space. The Tempur-Pedic mattresses are hot. I would suggest staying at a brighter, newer hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret the experience you had and offer a very sincere apology. We have followed up with our associates who assisted you with your check-in. They genuinely regret their failure to take great care of you. We value your feedback and take it very seriously. We hope to see you again in the future... More

Dayton, OR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an extended business stay in a hotel advertising itself as a "resort and spa". The positive: it had a spa, it was conveniently located and it was clean. The not so positive: VERY small bathrooms, small guest rooms, very uncomfortable mattresses (updated to Temperpedic) but if you sleep "hot" you will have an awful time of it, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Ram1995, Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments on the cleanliness of our resort. I'm sorry to hear abot the difficulty you experienced with your guest room. Because you also were kind enough to complete a Marriott survey for your stay, we were able to go back to the room you occupied to address the concern... More

Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've stayed at this "resort" three times now and the staff are always welcoming and professional. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Apparently some of the rooms have been recently renovated but mine have never shown signs of that. The grounds are very nice if you have a chance to walk them. My major issue, and it's happened twice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Chef_Baboo, I'm sorry to hear about the problems with the neighboring room's dog! While we do still accept pets, we have strict restrictions in place to avoid these kinds of issues. We strive to maintain a peaceful environment at all times and I'm glad to read that our security staff responded quickly. We appreciate your return visits and the... More

Do you own or manage Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Legacy Trail
Legacy Trail
Hiking Trails