We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown \/ University
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location and clean. Easy drive to rupp and close to everything. There is a train that passes by occasionally, but not too bad. Compared to staying downtown the price is worth the short commute to rupp. Parking will run you 12 to 20$ at rupp.

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Well let's start with the bad a train that rolls by on a regular basis. I'm not sure if you could request a room further from the tracks and it be quieter. The room was of above average size but some of the furnishings looked like they had seen better days. The rate was ok so I guess that could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Steve H. - Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review! I'm so sorry you experienced noise due to the train. That is one downside to our central location! We are actually getting ready to undergo a renovation, during which we will be replacing all the furnishing! I hope you can come back and see... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

The rooms were clean and beds were firm with soft pillows. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. They had decorations up for Christmas. They even had an elf on the shelf on tree! The breakfast was fairly good, but stay away from the sausage (seriously - had to spit it out it was so bad). The location is great... More 

Helpful?
Thank smilesalot15
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! I am so glad you enjoyed our Christmas decorations. We love making this your "home away from home" during the holidays! I'm so sorry the sausage was not so good! I will definitely look into that so we can make sure it doesn't happen again. We are actually beginning renovation next month so... More 

London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

The hotel was clean and the room was spacious. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and the food was fresh and good. Even though the room faced the street, it was very quiet and there were no disturbances through the night.

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in providing a great experience for all of our guests, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

The hotel overall was very nice and clean. On a downside the wifi did not work. My husband and I chose the standard king room for the night, we were staying for the night due to our son having surgery the next morning. The room overall was nice but the room did not have a mini fridge which was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meade5
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I'm so sorry you had problems with the wifi while you were here. We will be undergoing a renovation early next year and will be including fridges and microwaves in all the rooms! I hope you come back and see us soon! More 

Rogers
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was nice, it seamed newly decorated. Rooms were clean, breakfast area was large and well stocked. The pool was clean, when I noticed a lot of kids in there I was surprised how quiet our room was. At times the pool service door was left open for anyone to enter and was usually a lack of towels. Service... More 

Helpful?
Thank G U
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We take great pride in providing great service to each and every guest and I'm so glad you experienced that here. I hope you come back to see us soon! More 

Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Stayed here one night while my brother was in the hospital. It was very pleasant & quiet. Rooms are a little dated but huge & clean. There was a little kitchenette with microwave which is very convenient. Breakfast was good!

Helpful?
Thank Jerseyrain
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us during your recent stay in Lexington! I'm so glad you were able to have a pleasant and quiet stay during the hospital visit. We know how stressful it can be and always want to make this your "home away from home". We hope your brother is doing better and we hope to see you again... More 

Clarksville, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

I had previously reviewed this hotel as 5 stars worth of a stay, but this stay was a little different with the quality of the room. The parking is very limited and if you are arriving late at night you will have to park in the back. My room this time around seemed much lower in quality than my initial... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ange C
Sarah M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm so disappointed to hear that your experience wasn't up to par. We strive to make every room and every guest experience worthy of a five star review and we dropped the ball here! We hope you give us a second chance the next time you're in Lexington! More 

Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

Room was satisfactory.. breakfast was delicious... Lucinda at the front desk was very hospitable as well as the Hispanic housekeeping lady.. checking in and out was smooth...the chocolate chip cookies were an added treat. ..

Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We passed your comments on to Lucinda and she was so happy to hear from you! Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

BEST PILLOWS EVER!!!! After finally finding a room at 2:30am on an extremely booked Tuesday night, pillows were all we were thinking about. We were not disappointed. Tiffany was the best!!!!!!! She went over and above to help us. After traveling 13 hours, never thinking how difficult it was going to be finding a room on a Tuesday, she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wildcat719
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Stephanie Toy, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington near the University of Kentucky
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#12 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#23 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
0.5 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#37 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#33 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay