We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

2.5 of 5 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
20
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great Location, Nice Facility, Excellent Staff! However, the rooms lack some amenities that make life easier for business travelers. First, no work desk was available; the room only offered a small table with casual chairs but no desk chair. The casual chairs are comfortable but at a low working height to the table. Second, no refrigerator or microwave in room;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Omg this room is so nasty .pee on the toilet seat. ...front desk girl was rude as ever. I will never be back. No parking rude teenagers running around the hotel and taxi drivers hanging out in the lobby. Creepy and I wish I could go somewhere else but it's late. Gotta stay now. Yuck gross

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room condition. We did have groups in house for a tournament going on at the University and a concert in town. The hotel was very busy during your recent stay.... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I blocked a group of rooms with Becca McClure for out of town family members coming to a New Year's Eve Wedding. All of my relatives complimented the comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast (especially the pancakes) and great service! I want to thank Becca for making them feel special here in the Bluegrass!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Congratulations on the wedding! Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your wedding party! I am so glad to hear Becca was a huge help with your group and made you feel special while in the area! I cant wait to share your review with the staff and hope you visit us again in the future! Stephanie Toy,... More 

Spring Hill, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

Most Holiday Inn Express properties are above average since the rebranding. This hotel was below par with their new, simply stylish hotels. The rooms are old and musty with worn carpet. My AC was broken and I was moved to a suite by a very friendly and service-oriented employee. He was delightful, and doing the best he could with what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Sorry to read that our property was not what you expected. You are correct that we do not have the newest design but we do have a complete renovation planned in the near future. We hope you can visit us when our hotel will have the newest Holiday Inn Express design. I am glad that the staff was helpful and... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I stayed here for a conference back in September. I choose this hotel based primarily on its proximity to the UK campus and downtown. After staying here the location really is the main selling point. I walked to/around campus and ended up eating dinner at a campus pizza/bar joint which was great. Everything about the hotel itself was fine, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read that the stay was only fine. I am glad the room was clean and quiet. We do have fridge and microwaves in all of our suites. We also are able to supply a fridge and microwave to non suite rooms if available. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Loudon, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Hotel had a musty smell. Was unable to get assistance or information on dining even though in the downtown area. Had AC problem, was told how to fix it myself. Room was very nicely appoint d and clean. That th best I can say. They charged my credit card $20 that was not owed. I was told this was to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We take all feedback very seriously and are always looking for ways to improve. The 20 dollar authorization charge you are speaking of is not a charge but just a simple hold until you depart from the property. This is a standard for most hotels and I... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

I just posted a review to the wrong hotel. Stayed here over the weekend it was great! Had a sleep over the girls enjoyed themselves and the hotel was accommodating. The continental breakfast was the best I've had in a while. The attendant was better friendly as well. It also saved me a TON of money!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your sleep over at our property! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you stay again in the future! Stephanie Toy, General Manager More 

Waukesha, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We had an excellent stay at this hotel while in Lexington for a family reunion. Everyone at the front desk was personable and helpful. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of item to choose form. Teresa was very personable, checked on us often to see if there was anything we needed, and got to know us by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Lexington and the staff was helpful! We hope to see you again in the future. Stephanie Toy, General Manager More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Very nice facility, clean and orderly, despite the renovations and repair work during our stay. Disappointed that the jacuzzi was not working. Robert at the front desk was very helpful, friendly, and courteous in assisting with those items we had forgotten and making sure there were plenty of pool towels. The breakfast staff also did a fine job keeping up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad you had a positive experience while staying at our property! We will recognize the staff and their great service. We hope you visit us again in the future! Stephanie Toy, General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Think this may have been the worst mattress I've slept on in years. To make matters worse, the A/C sounded like a jet engine. One positive, just around the corner from Starbucks so I could load up on caffeine this morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We take all reviews very serious and always look for ways to improve. We appreciate your feedback. Stephanie Toy, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lexington
#24 Business Hotel in Lexington

40 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University