We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvest Home Boutique Hotel

1 - 3 Bank St, Avenel, Victoria 3664, Australia
Hotel amenities
Harvest Home Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avenel
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    8
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Bellagio, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Last stayed at this quaint and quirky place 10 years ago. Stayed again last night. Very disappointed. Apparently changed hands 5 years ago. Previously owner occupied, now leased. Current operators have no idea. Garden unkept and full of debris. Towels non absorbent. Light bulbs don't work. In desperate need of a new owner operator with flair.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We had occasion to visit Avenel over Easter. We booked a room at the Harvest Home Hotel in Bank St. We were greeted by Damien and his wife Sonia who were both friendly and welcoming. Being a lovely sunny day, we sat by the sparkling pool in the beautiful garden under a lovely big weeping tree. Damien kept the cool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

A simple, old style hotel, run by professionals who care about their guests! We had an excellent stay - the extremely helpful hosts Damien and Sonya who shared their stories and showed us their wine cellar were a pleasant breath of fresh air. Our room was quaint but perfect for a weekend stay. We sat and had breakfast and dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel. I was charged more than I was quoted over the phone, the garden paths weren't lit, making it very hard to get to my room in the dark, the venue was run down and I was bailed up by a large dog that was running around the grounds during the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Avenel hotels

Cootamundra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed in avenel for a wedding, I would never stay here again, there was no BLIND on the bathroom window, couldn't walk around barefoot floor without getting dirty feet, no lock on bedroom door, bed like a brick, no tv , no clock radio, price of accomation was $150, only worth $50

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

As a family we looked forward to staying at this accomodation. Between a dog that barked non stop, loud music that played from a neighbour which vibrated the floor, a train line close by, dirty housekeeping (bugs on the bathroom floor), the TV in the room didnt work at all, and of course listening to other people in their rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A group of 11 of us did a weekend trip to the Goulburn Valley to sample the wineries in the region. We were recommended the Harvest Hotel from the staff of one winery we were to visit. We arrived in the late afternoon and were met by Damien who showed us all to our respective rooms. I stayed in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sonya W, Public Relations Manager at Harvest Home Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review. So glad to here you enjoyed your tour of the Strathbogie. Here's hoping that the collaborative efforts of Fowles, Michellton, Tahbilk the Pizzaria & ourselves, showcasing some of the best of what the region has to offer, is the first of many tours to come. More 

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Awful food - waited an hour & a half for burnt schnitzels and another hour for gristley steak.. and then told we were being rude when I enquired if there was a problem in the kitchen. Very similar experience to the reviewer who mentioned dogs on the roof at 530 am - woke our party - my 83 year old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonya W, Public Relations Manager at Harvest Home Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. Chicken schnitzel has now been taken off the menu. You're right it's not my forte'. Although I don't recall anyone cancelling a second night- we have a no cancellation policy due to the high demand for our small number of rooms?? More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

should be no dogs allowed in hospitality especially when they are not super friendly and the owners let them out when still in service and you are locked in the amenities with a growling dog at the door is not what I call fun and then they secretly put them away and don't bother to come tell you that its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sonya W, Public Relations Manager at Harvest Home Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

It's such a shame that after your pony club were given exclusive use of the casual dining space for six months (for approximately $150 worth of pre set meals-which you deviated from this meeting without any prior notice to the kitchen!), that this is how you repay our kindness, and represent your club. I am sorry you will no longer... More 

Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We just had a great stay at the Harvest home, this is the second time we've stayed here, once before in 2005 for a wedding and love this wonderful country hotel. The welcome from Damien on arrival was exceptional , he and Sonya & their daughter are fantastic hosts and great fun. We were travelling with our girls this time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sonya W, Owner at Harvest Home Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

High praise indeed!! We enjoyed your company also and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Warm Regards Damien, Sonya & Bella More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay