We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capital Plaza Hotel

405 Wilkinson Blvd., Frankfort, KY 40601 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capital Plaza Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Capital Plaza Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    25
    17
    11
See reviews for
17
16
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Gracey, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Service was fine. Room was reasonably clean. Mattress and pillows comfortable. Good water pressure in showers. Location was great for me. The hotel is just kind of tired and worn out. Really needs a renovation. Sign on the restaurant said it was closing the end of June. Food bland and overpriced. The towels were about the size of a sheet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the worst place you want to step into when you're exhausted. This is the kind of place that makes you want "independent" hotels to go away and be replaced by bland but predictable Holiday Inns. Popcorn ceilings. "Sandy" bed. Errant tape on the A/C unit. Chipped paint and fixtures. Poor lighting. Towels like thin sandpaper. About 25 years... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Versailles, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checkin was smooth as silk. Rooms were clean and well stocked. Ac worked well and kept the room cool on a hot June night. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was just right. These are both Hugh selling points to me when it comes to an hotel.parking was free and in a garage large enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here for a wedding and chose a place close to the venue. The lobby was pretty and the room comfortable. We had a baby with us, so we requested cribs, one in each room depending on where the baby would be staying. The baby's mom said the one in her room was awful, and on examination, the mattress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Capital Plaza is an older hotel. It reminded me of the movie " The Shining". However, our room was updated and was clean. The pool is off to itself and was kind of dark. It is extremely close to the Department of Transportation if that is why you are staying there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our class just had its 20th reunion at Capital Plaza Hotel and I cannot say enough nice things about the staff and the facility! Everyone at the hotel was so friendly, helpful and accommodating. And the ballroom was the perfect place to hold our event. Classmates who came from out of town stayed in the hotel rooms and had very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff and ballroom. We are so happy that you all had such a great time! We hope that you choose our hotel the next time you are having a reunion or any event that you will stay with us here at the Capital Plaza! Carol Jones General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Our stay at the Capital Plaza Hotel was nice. The beds are comfortable and the room was clean. The WiFi is great. Some aspects of the hotel could use a bit of updating, but if you don't pay attention to small details, you won't mind. Location is great for the Frankfort area. Parking is convenient but crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review and the positive comments towards our hotel. We are currently renovating some of the rooms to condos, which is a exciting time here at the Capital Plaza. You can follow the renovation process on our facebook page as well as other promotions we have going on this summer! Hopefully the next time you... More 

michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

This is a very tired hotel, where everything is old, worn, or not working. Location may have been a selling point at one time, but what was once a quaint downtown area is nothing but abandoned stores and restaurants. With the exception of a great little wine store (Capital Cellar) The whole area matches the hotel. The room was priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We definitely welcome any feedback for our hotel and the facilities. We will also be addressing the nonexistent conversation that you had with our front desk staff when you checked out and want to apologize for the lack of hospitality on our part. We hope that you will consider... More 

Big Creek, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

I was in this hotel for a week due to work, but I took my husband and toddler with me. The lobby is very nice, but you could tell that people were smoking in or near it. The staff was pleasant enough, but not friendly. The other lady at the desk was pretty rude to a caller as I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We want to apologize for the unfriendliness of our staff to you and your family and for the condition of the room not being to yours or our hotels standards. After going over your review, we have addressed the housekeeping and the front desk issue that you had while staying... More 

Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We had a nice room and it was clean and well maintained. The restaurant seemed to have had 1 guy working, I think he was bartender, cook, and waiter, Waited over 1 1/2 hours for a raw hamburger, Was assured of a specific floor and then was told they could do nothing about it when I got there. Not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about our hotel as any feedback we get from guests helps us know what is or is not working for our hotel. We want to apologize for the front desk staff not being friendly to you while you were here with us. As for the restaurant and the waiter... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay