We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horsted Place

Certificate of Excellence
Little Horsted, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5TS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Horsted Place
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    99
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
51
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pleasant environment, beautiful gardens,attentive staff and traditional fine food. £28 for three courses + delicious homemade bread on the house. The cheesecake was delicious. Go treat yourself and your loved ones :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed last night at Horsted Place for our 15th Wedding anniversary and what a treat. It was just as I remember if not better from when I last visited several years ago. Has the feel of a private house rather than hotel, but with staff quietly attentive and friendly, welcome from receptionist excellent, huge suite which we had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here for dinner for our anniversary what a beautiful place staff where lovely very friendly nothing was too much trouble the food was excellent would defiantly recommend to friends if you want to go somewhere a bit special Thank you so much we had a lovely evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

How nice to read your kind review of your anniversary dinner. I am delighted you enjoyed your evening and thank you for choosing Horsted Place to celebrate such a special occasion. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in little horsted which is very near Uckfield. This historical hotel is surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens from all directions, and the building stands in the middle of the grounds. The décor inside carries an air of true splendour. I went there on 15/8/15 at around 2pm in order to have some coffee and a brandy, but I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry we were unable to serve you tea when you called in last weekend. Unfortunately we were fully booked with advance reservations for afternoon tea and residents and every table in the Drawing Room was allocated - soon after you left things were looking considerably busier. I assure you our staff... More 

East Sussex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Horsted Place to celebrate a very special occasion. Not at all disappointed, the service was second to none and the food first class. The atmosphere was like being in someone home having Sunday dinner then chilling I the garden, fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

We were so pleased to read your lovely review. Thank you for choosing Horsted Place for your special celebration and I am so glad that you all had such a nice time relaxing and enjoying the gardens after your summer Sunday lunch. Do come and see us again. More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were told that that Horsted's goal was not to create the perfect luxury hotel, but to try and replicate an authentic manor from 1850s. Sadly, I can't confirm its authenticity, but I can confirm this is not much of a luxury hotel. Its other charms go a long way in compensating for its shortfalls; and, as indicated in other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed welcoming your tour group to Horsted Place recently so I do wish you had mentioned some of the unexpected issues listed here whilst you were with us as we may have been able to address them . Horsted Place is a traditional country house hotel and we pride ourselves on high levels of... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent evening meal at The Horsted Place Hotel. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent. They were very helpful when I asked for dairy free and even made a fruit salad as I couldn't eat any of the puddings . We have booked to go back in a few months time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Thank you for placing such a complimentary review about your recent dinner at Horsted Place. Your kind comments about the food and service are much appreciated and I am delighted that you have made another booking. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for afternoon tea today at Horsted Place. The building was very elegant and impressive. Food with the afternoon tea was the best we've had in the area. The cakes were by far the highlight all freshly made in the morning. Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

What a wonderful review - praise indeed! We do try to make our afternoon tea at Horsted Place an extra special experience and it is lovely to know how much you enjoyed it. Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation. More 

Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have dined at Horsted Place three times in the recent past, and on each occasion I have been delighted by the experience. Pre-dinner drinks are served in the very spacious drawing room which looks out onto the park. In this lovely setting one relaxes straight away and the delicious appetizers served with the drinks give a good indication of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

How nice to read your kind comments. We do value our regular guests and it is very rewarding to know how much you enjoy dining at Horsted Place. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

My husband and I ate here last night to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We thought we deserved more than a pub or even nice restaurant meal for the occasion and got it at Horsted Place. It is a lovely old traditional Country House hotel where guests are treated like they are special. The staff are very welcoming and attentive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing Horsted Place for your anniversary dinner and for your kind comments following your visit. We are so glad you enjoyed your evening and that the weather was nice enough to allow you to have a stroll in the gardens. I am pleased you were lucky with the taxi although we would still recommend pre-booking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
2.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#2 of 6 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
13.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2.4 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay