We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Cave City hotels

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   807 Mammoth Cave Street, Cave City, KY 42127
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
20%
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Cave City
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cave City
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room seemed recently remodeled although the bathroom was definitely over looked. Nice enough , average price, quiet when we stayed there but don't plan on filling up on the complimentary breakfast

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well at first entry I thought "It's not that bad" Then stepping out of my shoes and on to the carpet I noticed it was damp. There wasn't an odor, so I assumed perhaps they had cleaned it (and perhaps they had). Pulling down the bed covers they did appear to be clean, but the blankets (polyester) had been laundered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Groveport, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chose to spend one night here while traveling through because the price was low and the fall 2013 coupon book ad said it was newly renovated. That is not the case. The beds were worn, the carpet is filthy and looks like it hasn't been cleaned beyond a quick vacuum in a decade. The worst offender was the bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was close to everything is the only positive thing. The bathroom had black mildew/mold on the ceiling and the shower surround tile looks like a 5 year old applied the repairs with a caulk gun! I was afraid to take a shower for fear the tile would fall in the bath tub! When I told the front desk, He... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not have a good stay here with us. We are actually undergoing a full renovation and will have all of these problems solved very soon. Thanks More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is well situated surrounded by lot of restaurants but it was really cleanliness. Bathroom is dirty with low shower! !! When requested an extra pillow we got it but with a condition (you should bring it back in the morning! !!)and it was very dirty that we couldn't use it However I don't recommend it at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we will make sure we address our guests issues properly in the future. We are glad you had a good stay overall. Thanks again. More

Morgantown, WV
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night over Labor Day weekend while visiting Mammoth Cave. Terrible decision. In the first room, I found dried poop on the toilet floor and stained (dirty?) pillowcases. After I got those issues sorted out, I noticed beetles running around in the room. After arguing with the front desk clerk, he showed me other room options.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the bad stay you had here. We are working with the housekeeping department and are resolving the issue. Thanks for giving us a heads up so we can make things right. Thanks again. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't think to sleep in it only if the Black Bear runing after u .. If not so sleep in your car its most better .. Its to small .. tooo dirty .. toooooo expensive .. Even the bathroom its tooooo toooo small to take a shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry that did not have a great stay here. We strive to serve all of our customers to the fullest. We are under going a renovation right now and would love to show you our finished product when you return back to this area. Thanks. More

Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Obviously this isn't a Hilton but for the price it's a perfectly fine place. Check in was quick and our room location was good. The pool was busy and while we didn't use it the people who did seemed to enjoy it. The only negative is the bathroom had some mold issues up around the ceiling in the shower and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not have a good stay with us. We are in the middle of a big renovation and hope you will give us another shot. Thanks and sorry. More

Knightstown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here three nights and it was very quiet. Had adjoining rooms so grand-daughter and her son had plenty of space. Pool was great at the end of a busy day at the caves and attractions. Breakfast was ample till lunch time. El Patron across the street was a good American-Mexican meal as well as pizza hut, a & w,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jay P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we are so glad that you had a wonderful stay here with us. Being this close to Mammoth Cave is a great advantage to our customers. We hope to see you again real soon. Thanks More

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cave City
Cave City Econo Lodge
Address: 807 Mammoth Cave Street, Cave City, KY 42127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Cave City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.