We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Bowling Green hotels

Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Wilkinson Trace, Bowling Green, KY 42103
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green to your Saves list
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
63%
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in Bowling Green
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kate S Sanibel Island, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (155)
  • Photos (58)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    56
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
51
22
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It had been many years since I had stayed at a Holiday Inn (I usually stay at Marriotts) and I wasn't sure what to expect but I was very pleasantly surprised and we had a great stay. The staff was very polite and helpful, our room was recently renovated and was very clean. The beds were really comfortable and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I felt compelled to write a review, since there were some bad reviews. Yes, they are renovating, but my room was very clean with above average space. I did ask for a non-smoking room, as they apparently still have smoking rooms in Kentucky. There was no smell of smoke or pets, etc. Looks like the pool is being redone, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have stayed at this location many, many, times. This last experience was very disappointing! I booked our room through Orbitz, and I have never had a problem using this website for any type of travel. I check in and sign my credit slip and see that we had been given a king room. I had made the reservation for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

SouthernJewelryGirl - Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Whether positive or negative, we use the comments provided by our guests to help improve our services! Please let me apologize for the associate who provided the service noted in your review. I have addressed the issue with our Guest Services Manager and... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Found myself at the Holiday Inn University Plaza for a conference. The rooms are clean and spacious... they are doing a bit of remodeling in the inner space but if you are up and out to work early that won't be an issue! Next door to the convention center and well situated close to a mall, eateries and various shops.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcadia, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Everything other reviewers have written is true. Yes, the beds are somewhat lumpy. Yes, the bathrooms are terribly dated and tired-looking, and worst of all, housekeeping's lack of attention to detail (especially in the bathroom) is rather off-putting. However, the atrium featuring a waterfall in the lobby is lovely and unique. The room is larger than comparable rooms we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

SoCalOhanaOf5 - Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience. We appreciate both the positive and negative feedback. We will use your comments to assist us in improving our level of service, most notably, in the guest bathrooms. We are addressing the issues in your review regarding the bathrooms and the bedding. The current renovation is... More

Newark, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Hotel room was ok and they upgraded us to a m/w and refrigerator suite, looked a little worn and not up dated small TV. Had a charge of 6 dollars on credit card and thought it was a mistake, called and found out they charge 3 dollars a piece for bottled water. There was nothing in room that said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

Larry B - Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I apologize that you didn't have a good experience and you were unhappy about the bottled water. There are tags on the bottled water and are placed in the room for our guests convenience. If that wasn't the case, I am very sorry for any inconvenience. In regards... More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I will preface this review with a disclosure that we did not complain to the front desk as we arrived at 11p and were back on the road by 10a, but this hotel was outdated, filthy, and our room was a smoking room that literally took your breath away- one could not escape the smell of smoke and whiskey from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

middyj2005 - Thank you for your review. I apologize that your room cleanliness was poor and that you were put into a smoking room. I have addressed the cleanliness issues with the Executive Housekeeper and we will use your comments to improve our services. That is not the standard of cleanliness that we expect and we apologize that you didn't... More

Goshen, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Upon arriving we were greeted by the disaster formerly known as the front of the building. The side entrance we were directed to was not suited for check in, neither in size nor appearance. The room smelled of stale cigar smoke, the mattresses and pillows are terribly worn (lumps and bumps and springs abound), and the wall paper was peeling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

Dear Ivory Y, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in... More

Corbin, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn University Plaza in Bowling Green, KY. We were there for a large softball tournament and needless to say we needed to wash uniforms. This hotel of over 200 rooms has only 1 washer and 1 dryer for guest use. While there, the laundry room was "out of order" because the dryer wouldn't work.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is regrettable to read that our laundry facility was a let down during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused. Please know that this is not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. Your feedback is very... More

Greensburg, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I decided to take a short one night trip for our anniversary, so we chose to stay here, I had stayed here several times for business convention but hadn't been here in over ten years. I was a great hotel then but not so much now. I think the mattresses must have been the same one from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

Linda M - Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience. We appreciate the feedback and use both the positive and negative to validate and improve our service. First, let me apologize for the mattresses, we are planning on replacing them during the renovation that is currently ongoing. We strive for each of our guests to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Address: 1021 Wilkinson Trace, Bowling Green, KY 42103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Holiday Inn Bowling Green
Bowling Green Holiday Inn

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bowling Green with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The best of Bowling Green, Kentucky is awaiting for you at the Holiday Inn University Plaza. This unique atrium style high rise hotel is surrounded by the links of CrossWinds Golf and adjacent to the Sloan Convention Center. Fabulous restaurants and shops are within a few short blocks. Bowling Greens unique attractions such as the National Corvette Museum, Beech Bend Amusement Park and Raceway, Ag Expo and Western Kentucky University are all within eight miles. Our convenient location is midway between Interstate 65 exit 22 and historic downtown Bowling Green. Nashville International Airport is just over an hour's drive from the hotel's front door. The interior garden atrium of the Holiday Inn University Plaza offers security and comfort to guests who find their room entry visible from the lobby and the public areas of the hotel. All the guest rooms and suites are extra large, tastefully decorated, and equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, and 40 cable television channels. For your relaxation, we invite you to take a dip in our indoor pool and whirlpool or get a work-out in our health club which features cardio machines and free weights. The Hartland Café offers a quiet atmosphere to meet with friends and business associates as you enjoy an abundant country breakfast buffet. The Atrium Lounge is open seven days a week at 4:30 and specializes in Kentucky small batch bourbons ... more   less 
Number of rooms
218

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer