We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

3.0 of 5 1021 Wilkinson Trace, Bowling Green, KY 42103
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
23
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (172)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Morgantown, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel reserves its pool out to people. You are NOT allowed to enter the pool area without a reservation. I've never stayed at a hotel that does this to their customers. Very disappointed parents and sad kids!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

bball_mom_2014 - Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent experience. We do reserve our hotel pool primarily for our guests of the hotel and on occasion we will have guests interested in having a pool party. One clarification; we don't close the pool to our other hotel guests if there is a... More 

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have always enjoyed this beautiful hotel and convention center. The food in the hotel is excellent; especially the made-to-order omelet so for breakfast! The service is wonderful and the rooms are always clean. Our only complaint is that they have cemented in their hot tub, for some reason?? We miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

MamaBearBG - Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We are pleased you liked the service, our food, especially the made to order omelettes. I apologize that we no longer have the hot tub. Unfortunately, It became necessary to remove it. We are almost complete with our major renovation touching... More 

Worthington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed an overnight stay on a long drive back from the Sugar Bowl. I hotwired the hotel for a very reasonable rate. Check in was very friendly and efficient. The hotel appears to be an old Embassy Suites. Our room was a large recently renovated two queen with a nice tv. Beds are very comfortable. Bath is a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

Atstpier - Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and your stay. The location is approximately 2 miles off of Interstate 65 but placed centrally in Bowling Green with easy access to Downtown, Western Kentucky University, GM Plant and many other attractions, not to mention... More 

Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice stay. Hotel is currently having some renovations done so there is a noticeable smell of paint when entering the building. Didn't notice it once in my room. The pool was closed down for upgrades too. The water features in the atrium were not working due to the construction as well. During the day there was the noise of hammering,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

slocam - Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We appreciate your comments. We have, since your stay, replaced all of our beds in the entire hotel with brand new mattresses. The old full size mattresses are now Queen's! This has been a significant upgrade and I know many of our guests are very pleased with the change.... More 

Benton, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for week long conference. Very nice hotel with staff that really cater to conferences. Only problem was that pool and work out area closed for renovation. Beautiful interior of hotel. Conference center very nice as well. During a large conference can be a little noisy but was not a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

David M - Thank you for sharing your experience and writing a review. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the property and the staff and apologize that we had the pool and fitness area still under renovation during your stay. We are almost finished with our multi-million dollar renovation and are very excited for the finished results. We are confident... More 

Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is being renovated, but minimal impact to my stay. Very friendly front desk staff. Room was newly renovated and large. The room contained a desk, couch, coffee table, nice t.v./drawers and comfortable king size bed. The bed was very comfortable with more than enough pillows. There was no fridge or microwave. There was an in room coffee maker.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

MF72 - Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your stay while you were in Bowling Green for the WKU vs Louisville game. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn as your lodging of choice and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Bowling Green!!... More 

Griffith, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, though it is going through a remodel. The staff was very courteous. Breakfast is not included in the price of the room. We ordered breakfast from room service and it was delicious. The pool was not open, much to little guy's dismay. They offered the opportunity to go to a hotel across the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

ShansMan - Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience. We are very close to the completion of our multi-million dollar renovation. We are very excited for all the new changes and I apologize that we didn't have the pool completed during your stay and for the little guy's disappointment. We are pleased that... More 

Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I walked in and felt the casual elegant ambience. True, there was some renovation, but what was most important was the care and service. My husband and I arrived at night after a 10 hour drive from the Shenandoah Valley of VA through sun, mostly rain and windy conditions crossing WVA mts. I was more than road weary. My husband,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

Jane M, Thank you for taking time to share your experience! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the team responded quickly and efficiently to your needs. We deeply appreciate your kind feedback as it validates the efforts that our team makes on a daily basis to take care of our guests. I will be sure to share... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice place, but it is under renovation, so be prepared to see open doors with construction stuff inside. While we were there it was quiet. Basically, It's what you would expect from a Holiday in. The Staff were friendly and in service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

edward c - Thank you for taking time to share your experience and write a review. We appreciate the feedback on the staff and services. Our renovation is almost complete and we are extremely proud of the new look. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn as your lodging of choice and we look forward to serving you the next time... More 

Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We were coming home from Ohio on our way to Tennessee and needed to stop for the night. Most hotels were booked and felt lucky to get a room here. They were renovating, which was not a problem, but the hotel was way overpriced in comparison to where we had stayed the night before. The room smelled clean and beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BOWLGHIGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green, responded to this review

B.C. - Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you taking time to write your review. We just recently, as part of our renovation, refinished the bathtub bottoms and no longer use those mats. We are glad you found your guest room clean and comfortable. I apologize for any inconvenience the additional approval may have caused you. The extra... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green

Address: 1021 Wilkinson Trace, Bowling Green, KY 42103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn University Plaza - Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Holiday Inn Bowling Green
Bowling Green Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bowling Green

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay