We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Bear Resort

Hotel website
30 Big Bear Resort Rd., Benton, KY 42025
Big Bear Resort
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    7
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Smyrna, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

54 members of my family stayed at Big Bear for a family reunion. On arrival, we were very pleased. The grounds were well maintained and our unit was clean and met our expectations. They were very accommodating. They brought extra picnic tables to our unit on Saturday for our family dinner. Because our group was large, they had been kind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The road conditions are horrible in places, directions not clearly marked, cabin smelled bad Busted our boat trailer light in a huge rut. The grass was not maintained. Boat launch ramp almost unusable

Was this review helpful? Yes
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments but you forgot a few facts. Your wife informed the office staff that you backed into one of the direction signs (that we don't have) and busted your trailer light. The torrential downpours from Hurrican Bill prevented our staff from our weekly mowing routine. As anyone who has been to Big Bear will tell you,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a townhouse. It was not clean. The floors were disgusting and it smelt bad. The WiFi didn't work even when calling and getting the password the connection was horrible. I do not recommend staying here if you like staying in clean places. However, most of the employees were super nice and helpful. I don't think we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

We do apologize for the internet. We have had all the hardware and software on our side double checked and triple checked. We called in Mediacom who replaced a splitter that was rusted. Last week, we noticed Mediacom was at one of the condo complexes repairing their connections. Apparently, their issues have interfered with Big Bear Resort's WiFi internet, which,... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

This is our second year staying at the resort. We stay in the townhouses and it is a nice place to stay. Only complaint about the townhouse is that they might as well not give you the wifi password because you aren't going to get any signal in them. That kind of stinks. Other than that they are great. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Our WiFi has always worked perfectly. HOWEVER, Mediacom doesn't have as great a record. We contacted them and they replaced the rusted splitter so all's good! Glad you had a great time at Big Bear! More 

Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

My husband and I keep our boat docked at this resort. It's always a nice family atmosphere. The staff is friendly and almost everyone you see will smile and wave. Southern hospitality at its best! If you've never experienced Kentucky Lake, here is the perfect place to do so!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We stayed with three families of relatives at the Log Cabin and one of the cottages. Both were clean and had ample amenities. The log cabin can easily accommodate the capacity with a large, updated kitchen and 2 baths. Two air conditioners which kept the cabin cool without effort when we stayed there in July. The resort is spacious so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stay at the campgrounds so I can't speak for the other amenities but as far as the campgrounds go they are clean, well taken care of, and kid friendly. The marina is nice and handy. The employees are friendly and very helpful. My suggestion to anyone that has never stayed there is to take a drive over and check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Homer Glen, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

First of all, the previous reviewer is definitely not referring to the same resort. My family and I have been coming to Big Bear Resort for about 20 years now. We have always had a great time and never have had a problem. The owners & staff have been superb and very friendly. We have stayed in everything from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

So many times we forget to say the nice things and dwell on the negative. We so appreciate your comments refuting the previous posting. We work very hard, and have for over 40 years, to make your stay enjoyable. In addition, many people come year after year to our property and that speaks volumes! When we visit other businesses, we... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Very disappointed in this resort from the start. After paying for the cottage the resort attempted to take this out of our account twice. Once we arrived was told over the phone our room was ready, when we got there it hadn't been cleaned. The lady at the front desk was very rude and never apologized once just blamed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

Your reservation was for one night only and could not have been cancelled by you as we only had the one night available. In addition, maintenance went into the unit after you left and the temperature in the unit was 68 degrees. Our resort is kept in impeccable shape and your statement does not reflect our property. Your credit card... More 

Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the town houses at Big Bear Resort. Overall, the townhouse was clean, the kitchen had all major appliances, and the deck was great! All of the staff that we interacted with were friendly and helpful. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
caldemeyer, Owner at Big Bear Resort, responded to this review

We are so happy that you had a great time!!!! Our staff is trained to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Repeat customers are the basis of this 66 year old business so we please to add you to our list of repeats. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities