We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at Tallgrass

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2280 N. Tara, Wichita, KS 67226
Special Rate
$85 Special Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Tallgrass
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Inn at Tallgrass
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
8
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Romeoville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for the college bowling national championship tournament. We drove 10 1/2 hours to get to Wichita. Couldn't have dealt with a more accommodating staff! We had reserved a particular room because of the price and amenities. They saw how many of us there were and upgraded us to a bigger suite for similar price. Because of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had to stay here for two weeks for work, the facilities are good, free breakfast is a great bonus, free wi fi, and comfortable quite rooms, which are clean and super friendly service. Beds are nice and comfortable, and for some one that travels this planet a lot, that means heaps! Most hotels have hard beds, not so here!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, I want to say this will always be one of our favorite destinations however, it's time to update! We stayed here 17 years ago (and many times since), and it's never been updated. I don't mind that the appliances haven't been updated, they are clean work great! The carpets (although very clean, no stains) need updating and the balcony... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randers, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I stayed their for a week. I the receptions and restaurant is small and nice. not a fancy place, but only some 600 feet in distance to Twin Peaks Restaurant :-) Rooms are all separated from the main building. The pool was open.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiram, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed 2 nights..Fri & Sat. Was given a room in building 4, upstairs. Not thrilled it was a queen size bed, didn't think to ask if they had any kings. Decent size room, table with 2 chairs, and a club chair with ottoman, full size closet with hangers, an iron & ironing board. Big pet peeve...the only mirror is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Bend, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stay at the Inn at Tallgrass about every 5 weeks and we have been very happy with the location and room. We try to stay in the same room every time and they have always been good about making sure we do. The only downsides are they give no points for stays and some rooms are in need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorhead
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This place was unique and clean and interesting. Unfortunately the internet was very poor, and unreliable. The first day I told them it was not working at all after an hour and the gal argued with me telling me that it was working on her phone (but it was definitely not working for me on my phone nor on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelier64, General Manager at The Inn at Tallgrass, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our internet. We take great pride in our WIFI Technology because we understand how important it is to our customers. Sorry we somehow dropped the ball on this visit. Please come back and give us another try and I am confident that you will have a positive... More 

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I was at the Inn at Tallgrass for one night. I had a presentation at Wichita State University and I selected this hotel because it is in close proximity to the university. The room was very large with a sitting area, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker and a comfortable bed. However, the décor was a bit dated and the carpet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for a recent basketball tournament in Wichita area and could not have been more pleased with the place. We arrived on a Thursday, which coincided with their weekly BBQ night - hamburgers, brats and hot dogs with all the home made side dishes you can imagine plus an open bar - for FREE! The staff there is super... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were treated to a complimentary stay at the Inn at Tallgrass for a family funeral recently. It reminded me in appearance like a rental apartment you'd find in Breckenridge, CO, set on a large campus that includes a golf course. Our suite included a living room with fireplace, TV and sofa bed, furninshed kitchen, bedroom with vanity and another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelier64, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Tallgrass, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice words. Come back and visit us again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question