We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee

3.0 of 5 17250 Midland Drive, Shawnee, KS 66217
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
6
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Andover, Kansas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My wife and I met in KC and stayed at this hotel. We got a great deal through Priceline and had a wonderful time. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was and how comfortable it was while we stayed. For the price we paid it was well worth it. It's a little far from downtown, but about a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The rooms are what you'd expect, and one staffer helped me find a fork, but as the host hotel for a marathon they couldn't find it in their hearts to welcome runners to check out a bit late so that they could shower after the race. Not nice. I wouldn't stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take great pride in serving our guests and do regret the times that we cannot accommodate every guests request. I know we had a lot of requests for a late checkout that morning and being sold out for the weekend we could not take all of them. I do understand how frustrating that can... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

wanted to stay a little out of kc but in a nicer place with and within close distance of amenities went down the street just five minutes and had a good meal at applebees had a lite breakfast at the bistro the next morning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had only one night stay here but was very impressed with the hotel grounds, the lobby, reception area, cafe/cocktail bar and the rooms. Property looks new from the outside with a nice looking steak house type place that shares the parking lot. Check in was easy and our rooms request were granted with out question. Rooms were well lit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a groupo rate of $109 for our softball team, The hotel renigged on some in our group. When our coach tried to resove the issue with the General Manager Ryan Cipolla, He was rude and dismissive. His only solution was to move us to a less expensive Marriot Brand.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ryan C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to amend the rate issue. I'm sure if was equally as frustrating for everybody. All should be resolved now and we truly appreciate your business. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance. Ryan More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The room and hotel were great...Clean, comfortable and convenient. There was a for fee bar and food area which was clean and presentable. My morning fruit and coffee was good and fresh. The workout room was small but had two decent treadmills and free weights. I would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is my 3rd visit to this property as it is close to my business Client. I have found the property clean, the staff accommodating and resources adequate. This last visit, I asked for feather- free pillows and had not done so in advance. The desk clerk said housekeeping was gone, but would see what he could do. A little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ames, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Shawnee, KS over Memorial Day weekend. Upon our arrival our room had not been made up. The bed was unmade, towels on the floor in the bathroom, and garbage not taken out. We were moved to another room a few doors down, and an hour later discovered that unmade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ryan C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. I apologize for the housekeeping issues we had over the holiday weekend. I will address this immediately. Please feel free to contact me at 913-631-8810 if you would like to discuss this further. Ryan Cipolla General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The staff here was not friendly. Thankfully that was the only downside to this hotel. The room had a very nice layout and was very clean as was the bathroom. The room was quiet with very little hallway noise. Absolutely no complaints about quality of room. Both check-in and checkout were very fast. I would stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Courtyard has done a very good job of catering to business travelers, and this property in Shawnee, KS is no different. The hotel was comfortable and clean. I had no issues throughout the duration of my stay. I really like the spacious lobby and plenty of comfortable seats and tables. This makes the perfect location if you need an impromptu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee

Address: 17250 Midland Drive, Shawnee, KS 66217
Location: United States > Kansas > Shawnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee Hotel Shawnee
Courtyard Shawnee
Shawnee Courtyard
Shawnee Marriott

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay