We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Merriam hotels

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6451 E. Frontage Rd, Merriam, KS 66202 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission to your Saves list
39%
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    4
    9
    19
See reviews for
10
6
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission
See the most recent reviews
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked our reservation online through the Extended Stay America website. Upon arrival, we were told that they didn't have a reservation. At that time I pulled up the confirmation email on my phone. The front desk lady was very very rude and continued to tell us they didn't have room and we would have to go to the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Dear Mariah, Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I would like to apologize for the difficulty you had with your reservation. The treatment you described receiving from our Guest Service representative is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your check-in experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have addressed the staff... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The thermostat for the room was broken and the heater would not turn off. We were told we were stupid and this was just because the weather was cold. They did FINALLY agree to look at it and the thermostat WAS broken. No apology nor offer of a discount. Bathroom was moldy and the "fully equipped" kitchen was a joke.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so sorry that our staff did not attend to your needs properly or in a professional manner. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with the entire team about your situation and am coaching them on how to... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My fiancé arranged for me and our children to come and visit Kansas for a few days and start looking for our new home. After arriving at approximately 8:30 am on 12/26 I asked the front desk clerk if my room was ready for occupancy, (knowing that my fiancé had previously spoken with them and had them place it in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Theresa - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am extremely sorry that the first you were given had a slight odor and the door would not lock properly, but glad we were able to provide you with another room. Still, I am disheartened that a personal item which was left behind in the move took so... More

Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

There were so many problems with my room this box is not long enough to list. If using Priceline gets this kind of quality? I will stop using it. If nearly the ENTIRE place is vacant, WHY put me at the far back end, furthest from the laundry facilities and WHY put the ONLY other guests in the unit on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our staff was unable to meet your needs during your stay with us. I have met with our staff regarding your feedback to ensure that we can offer better customer service moving forward. As well, I apologize that the speed of the Wi-Fi and the... More

Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We came to the hotel due to a business trip. We arrived and had prepared for bed and to our surprise no sheets were on the bed. We called the front desk and advised them of the problem. We were advised that they would bring some up to us. When the lady arrived she tossed them at my husband and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Lisa - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described regarding the sheets and the coffee maker is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I met with the staff, and we will always inspect rooms to ensure that rooms are in proper working order so... More

Fairfield, Idaho
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We checked in at almost closing time and the clerk was still very pleasant, took time to answer our tourist questions and made sure everything was set, never once looking at a clock or mentioning the time. Follow up the next day for a hair dryer (not supplied in the room) the next clerk was just as nice and offered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

John - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am pleased to read your remarks about our staff, especially Lauren. As well, I am glad that you liked your clean room. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future. More

Evansville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this property for one evening on our way to Denver CO. The front desk associate was very friendly and answered any questions we had. Our room was updated with fresh paint, and linens and made for a very comfortable nights stay. Both the bathroom and kitchen were very clean. My only minimal complaint would be that their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

It is so rewarding to read that you had a wonderful stay with us on your way to Denver, CO. Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you letting us know that you were not able to find any tumblers in your room. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that you found the room to... More

Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My real rating would be 1 1/2 stars. Here's how it racks up on the DivaDelish scale. Security: 1 1/2 stars. Ground floor room with external door--which I don't like, period, in any location. But why does this configuration seem to happen most often in "iffy" areas? The exterior locks didn't seem very sturdy. Window opened too easily. When we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am happy to read your remark about the staff being friendly. However, I am very sorry that our room did not meet your expectations. We are often able to reserve certain rooms for guests that are located further away from the noise of the highway. Also... More

Pineville, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

First time ever staying at an Extended Stay. Would definately stay here again. They were helpful in getting me some local maps..I marked terrible by mistake for pool..I dont think they have one...Staff was very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Chad - The team and I appreciate your kind remarks. I am so glad that you enjoyed your first stay at our hotel and that you would definitely return. As well, it is great to know that our staff provided you with excellent customer service. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon. More

Northern Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The price is fantastic for what you get, which is a comfortable bed, bare bone amenities such as soap & shampoo, but it's very clean, rooms are nicely set up, and the bed is comfortable. Although the hotel was packed when I stayed, there was parking available for everyone. Never made it to the free breakfast, but got a cup... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such wonderful things about our clean and comfortable rooms. We were glad that you found the price to be a "fantastic" value. Once again, thank you for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission

Address: 6451 E. Frontage Rd, Merriam, KS 66202 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Extended Stay, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Merriam

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay