We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Merriam hotels

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6451 E. Frontage Rd, Merriam, KS 66202 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
41%
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Merriam
  • Overview
  • Reviews (48)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    4
    9
    16
See reviews for
10
5
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room had a lot of deferred maintenance, the most annoying was the shower valve. It screeched and didn't stop the water flow though the tub spout. I guess room service was not something they do. They seemed understaffed. The room didn't get cleaned and the desk person was in a room doing something half the time we needed something.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Bob - We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We are glad that you appreciated the value of our hotel; however, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room. We discussed your comments with our staff, and we are taking proper action to ensure all of our rooms are in proper working order. We... More

Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have previously stayed at other locations of extended stay America and prefer extended stays because of kitchenettes. However, here the carpet was dirty to a point that it was sticking to feet. Staff was not knowledgeable about the area or options. I left some glasses in the hotel and they told me on the phone that they can't find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

We received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The condition of the carpet you described is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. We will be working with our housekeeping staff to ensure every room is cleaned to our standards. We are glad that we were able to find the glasses;... More

La Grange, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

First of all we were moved to this hotel because the other extended stay that we were supposed to stay at "overbooked" there rooms. How does that happen? We stayed two days and noone cleaned our room the following day and noone brought us extra towels. Its the kind of hotel you wouldn't want to walk barefoot in. They did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Audrey - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept our most sincere apologies for moving you to another one of our ten Extended Stay Americas located in the Kansas City area. In addition, I apologize that our housekeeping services were not explained thoroughly at check-in. Please know, housekeeping services are provided once a week for guests... More

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed in room 176. Compared with other Extended Stay locations my room was relatively modern looking and spacious. It had a flat screen TV with the usual basic channels plus Showtime. Microwave, fridge, etc all clean and in working order. The iron worked VERY well which was a plus! Large closet to hang my suits including sturdy wooden hangers and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada... More

Edwardsville, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our second time here. Made the reservation online, checked in and the room was what we asked for. The room was clean, smelled fine and had everything advertised. We stayed three nights and it was a trip away from the kids. We enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

The team and I appreciate your kind remarks. We are pleased to know that the cleanliness of your room met your expectations during your visit with us. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Langley, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Second time staying here, and NOT by choice, staying here for a business trip. This time I got the "deluxe" room. First thing I noticed when I walked in was the smell, which was a mixture of vinegar, burnt sugar, urine, cigarette butts, and a musk that lingers. I took a peek around and noticed what I thought at first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize for the level of cleanliness and odors in your room and I am working with our entire staff to improve our cleaning procedures so that your experience is not repeated. Also, your feedback regarding our overall accommodations will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotels.... More

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The price was not bad for the value of the facility and service. The hotel is in a decent location. It has easy freeway access, close to all store types, and restaurant. The Hotel room were clean and plenty of pillows and towels were given.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and your clean room. As well, it’s wonderful to hear that our staff provided you with great service during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked our reservation online through the Extended Stay America website. Upon arrival, we were told that they didn't have a reservation. At that time I pulled up the confirmation email on my phone. The front desk lady was very very rude and continued to tell us they didn't have room and we would have to go to the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Dear Mariah, Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I would like to apologize for the difficulty you had with your reservation. The treatment you described receiving from our Guest Service representative is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your check-in experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have addressed the staff... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The thermostat for the room was broken and the heater would not turn off. We were told we were stupid and this was just because the weather was cold. They did FINALLY agree to look at it and the thermostat WAS broken. No apology nor offer of a discount. Bathroom was moldy and the "fully equipped" kitchen was a joke.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so sorry that our staff did not attend to your needs properly or in a professional manner. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with the entire team about your situation and am coaching them on how to... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My fiancé arranged for me and our children to come and visit Kansas for a few days and start looking for our new home. After arriving at approximately 8:30 am on 12/26 I asked the front desk clerk if my room was ready for occupancy, (knowing that my fiancé had previously spoken with them and had them place it in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Theresa - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am extremely sorry that the first you were given had a slight odor and the door would not lock properly, but glad we were able to provide you with another room. Still, I am disheartened that a personal item which was left behind in the move took so... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission

Address: 6451 E. Frontage Rd, Merriam, KS 66202 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Merriam

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
140

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer