We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
7949 Splitlog Ave., I-70 and 78th Street Exit 414, Kansas City, KS 66112
American Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Deeyve
Add Your Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
3
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice. A little hard getting into bathroom because of Unleveled floor when entering with wheelchair. Nice kitchen, stove to cook and eat. Large bathroom. Nice price. Easy access. Outdoor pool. Breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great staff that will try to help you with any of not all problems and very friendly, will always stay at the American inn they are like family the continental breakfast is awesome. It really helps when you get up early for work and are hungry

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect stay. simple check in and we stayed 4 days and it was very uneventful just the way a hotel should be. I would definitely recommend it if you are traveling to Kansas City and you would like easy access to the interstate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Carol the sale lady. and the owner helped me out rooms are little outdated but clean sheets smells like bleach a little tells you they are clean. Over all it was great stay been too alot of motels travel for work i would recommend for a good rate and breakfast hot toast biscuits and gravy and waffles not bad didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The room is average and yes could use updates but I've stayed 4 days so far and the front staff was very helpful and i have too say the sales lady carol was wonderful she helped me and wife out might be outdated but carol in sales made it very pleasant and she went out of her way too make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colby, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!! This is a nasty, terrible hotel! When we arrived at the room, there was a bunch of people overhauling a car in the parking lot with junk everywhere! They were smoking pot!! Once locked in our room, it didn't get better! Room was dirty, you could still smell pot, the lampshades were broke, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

This motel is Ok. The first thing i noticed was the terrible musty smell then i saw a bottle opener attached to the sink. Hmmm. It looks like it was a nice motel in the 80s but they need to update things. We didn't have a fitted sheet on our beds but they were comfy. The water pressure on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is absolutely disgusting. Room was very dirty, the sink faucet was so rusted we used bottled water to brush our teeth, the bathroom light didn't work so had to take a shower in the dark, which I hesitately did. The description on the Internet said microwave and fridge in every room, LIE. Small 20 inch tv. As we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Staceycl, I would like to offer my apology to you for an obvious horrible stay! I wish you would have contacted the front desk to report the numerous issues you have talked about! We would have moved you immediately. It sounds like the room you were given was a mistake and had been pulled for service but yet was... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Made multiple complaints about bugs, they couldn't care less and refused to move my employees to a non infested room. When making complaints the front desk was not even the least bit helpful. Haven't had a vacuum run through my room in the 2 months we've stayed here. If you have trash, and it doesn't fit into the very small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear HamStar83, Please accept my apology for this late response to your review. I saw today that I missed a couple in 2013 and wanted to make sure to reply to your comments. I am so sorry you had such a horrible stay with us. I do know that we have trouble with some extended stay guests that have been... More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great price - clean & front service was really good. A bit noisy from the Highway though but beds were comfy & the pillows were SUPER comfy!!! Better than the ones I have at home! WiFi - coffee in the lobby. Great location if you are traveling through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Candy, Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to write this review! We appreciate our guests and want to know your thoughts and concerns! We are working on the weather stripping around the doors which will give better insulation from the highway noise. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question