We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Kansas City hotels

American Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7949 Splitlog Ave., I-70 and 78th Street Exit 414, Kansas City, KS 66112
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added American Inn to your Saves list
American Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
42%
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
3
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely disgusting. Room was very dirty, the sink faucet was so rusted we used bottled water to brush our teeth, the bathroom light didn't work so had to take a shower in the dark, which I hesitately did. The description on the Internet said microwave and fridge in every room, LIE. Small 20 inch tv. As we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Staceycl, I would like to offer my apology to you for an obvious horrible stay! I wish you would have contacted the front desk to report the numerous issues you have talked about! We would have moved you immediately. It sounds like the room you were given was a mistake and had been pulled for service but yet was... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Made multiple complaints about bugs, they couldn't care less and refused to move my employees to a non infested room. When making complaints the front desk was not even the least bit helpful. Haven't had a vacuum run through my room in the 2 months we've stayed here. If you have trash, and it doesn't fit into the very small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear HamStar83, Please accept my apology for this late response to your review. I saw today that I missed a couple in 2013 and wanted to make sure to reply to your comments. I am so sorry you had such a horrible stay with us. I do know that we have trouble with some extended stay guests that have been... More

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great price - clean & front service was really good. A bit noisy from the Highway though but beds were comfy & the pillows were SUPER comfy!!! Better than the ones I have at home! WiFi - coffee in the lobby. Great location if you are traveling through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Candy, Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to write this review! We appreciate our guests and want to know your thoughts and concerns! We are working on the weather stripping around the doors which will give better insulation from the highway noise. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

much nicer place to stay than most places i have stayed or will be staying in the future. very clean and friendly service. Very informed crew willing to help any way they can. easy access to places to eat and nice shopping center close by. Definately higher class place to stay than i am use to

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Endeavorman... Thank you so much for your review! I appreciate your wonderful comments and your compliment to Bianca! I know she appreciates your kindness! I hope you will come see us again when visiting this area! Sincerely, Carol M Director of Sales and Marketing More

Kansas City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The wi-fi doesn't always work. Some rooms have a refrigerator and microwave, however others don't have either. Have of the time the two plugin don't work and the heat is not reliable. Beds are different in every room so you never know how your stay is going to be. Very inconsistent. However, for the cheapest rooms around it is normally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jalissa, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I really do appreciate your comments and can tell that you have stayed with us several times. Thank you. As far as the WIFI you will see on your next visit to us that we have upgraded our internet and it is working at top speed! Anytime you... More

Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Checked in due to mechanical issues with truck. I was given a choice between Country Inn and Suites and this place. I went cheaper, but should not have. The night staff is awesome, but stay away from Hadley at the front desk (daytime staff), though. She throws your keys and receipt under the window. There were silver fish bugs under... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dale, I want to extend my most sincere apology for the experience you encountered while you were here with us. I promise we will talk to our Front Desk Clerk. I do appreciate your compliments about our evening shift! As a whole our entire Team with all six of our Family owned and operated Hotels are trained to treat each... More

Shawnee, KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went with a girlfriend to a KU basketball game. We didn't plan ahead and after our Designated Driver said it was time to go we went from hotel to hotel and finally ended up at this one. In the front of the building where we parked and got the room it seemed somewhat safe. But as we pulled around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

DeeAnn, I appreciate your review and your honesty about your feelings. The guests you saw were most likely our hard working fellows that have been staying with us due to their Companies contract work in town. I am sure they are harmless and were happy the weekend was finally here! Our location in Kansas City, Kansas is always at an... More

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for the past week while attending orientation for new job, room was clean and even smelled clean, maid came to clean everyday. Free hot breakfast everyday except weekend, free shuttle to work and to stores. My only complaint would be no wifi signal when i was on second floor (5206), but great signal on third floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Chad, Thank you for your review! I appreciate your time and effort to tell us your thoughts. We will be installing a new WIFI service this Thursday and I know this will make everything at all six properties run smooth! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will visit us again whenever you are in an... More

Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed for one night at first and it was great, then i decided to stay for a week and it was horrible. I was moved to another room that smelled, the lamps were lopsided, the towels were dirty and the phone did not work. Then they gave me another room which was just as bad, there were silver fish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Alexis, I want to extend my most sincere apology for your experience at our Kansas City, Kansas location. We have been in business for 30 years and have situations arise from time to time. We promise to take your situation to heart and handle your complaint as quickly as possible. I will speak to Management in regard to your... More

Albert Lea, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

my truck broke down, i need a place to stay while it was being repaired. the staff came and picked me up delivered me to the hotel. at the window i was promptly provided a clean quiet room with fridge and microwave. when we unsure as to when the truck would be finished they offered me a late checkout to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took to give this review! I personally thank you for the kind words and positive comments. Carol McCoy More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage American Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to American Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn

Address: 7949 Splitlog Ave., I-70 and 78th Street Exit 414, Kansas City, KS 66112
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kansas City with
any amenities