We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Avalon

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Chateau Avalon
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Kansas City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Carla K Essex
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    115
    50
    49
    31
    39
See reviews for
7
223
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First of all my husband and I had a very relaxing night. Our kids gave us a gift certificate here for Christmas. We chose the Colorado Frontier room.we used to stay in a cabin in the mountains so thought it would be fun. The room was very small but cute. We enjoyed the D Nile lounge. Dave was a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Carla, We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are always open to constructive criticism on where we can improve. We have passed on your comments to our management team. With 23 different unique themes, we offer plenty of different styles and price points to choose from. We... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For as pricy as this stay is it wasn't worth it. The room however nifty, that's all you get. First, They sent us to the wrong room. Their elevator was broken and didn't give very good directions on how to get to your room. They stated that they would upgrade us and we took the that room. The upgraded room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Melinda H., I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us. I am not sure why you were sent to the wrong room initially, or given a room with a smaller bed as an upgrade. We will get to the bottom of that, I apologize. I can understand your frustration with the breakfast and spa,... More 

Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at Chateau Avalon several times over the last 15 years. My most recent stay was a disappointment in the condition of the place. The theme seemed to be that everything is going downhill and no maintenance is being put into the lovely hotel. My boyfriend joined me for his first time to the hotel. I so wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear 1stjayhawk, Thank you for taking the time so share with us and for being a loyal guest of our hotel. I apologize that you were disappointed in your last stay. Many of the items that you have mentioned are already back in full service, as it happened to be an off day for us. That is not our normal,... More 

Kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property is WAY overpriced and average at best. I would compare it to a slightly better Comfort inn. We stayed for our 41st Anniversary and I was highly disappointed. I would have rather stayed at the Phillips Hotel or the Raphael as they are way better than this property. We stayed in the Venetian Room, No. 202, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear rlewis3133, I apologize for the trouble you ran into during your stay. We are always open to constructive criticism, and we appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Each one of our suites are set up differently, with their own unique themes. I have passed on your message to our management staff, and we will make sure... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Extremely overpriced... Room was small and the romantic package was not everything they promised. Only a few rose petals and a couple of candles. The room was clean but that was the only good thing about the whole place. Disappointed and will not be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Fatima F. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I apologize you were not satisfied with your stay with us at Chateau Avalon. We have a variety of 23 room styles and sizes to choose from, and I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the room style you stayed in. I... More 

Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was able to get a 100 gift certificate for 50 so we stayed here for my husband's birthday. We have been here a few times before and usually pretty happy but I think the service has gone down a bit recently and they changed their breakfast menu which is definitely not good. When I reserved the room over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Sarah T, Thank you for taking the time to share with us. I am glad you got to come stay at Chateau Avalon for your husband's birthday! I apologize we did not set up the ice bucket with ice in your room ahead of time. I have mentioned it to our staff so we will make better notes next... More 

Kansas city
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I think most everyone wants their kids wedding night to be great. Can you imagine after a long day of great activities that when you open the door. There is champagne and chocolate to meet you. Followed with an unmade bed and stained sheets. The room had clearly not been cleaned from the last guests. Making a call to management... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear mbrooks231, I sincerely apologize for the happenings during your daughters wedding night. We love to have newly weds, and I do not know why this would have happened, as this is not our usual. I would love to speak with you regarding this matter. If you could, please contact me at the hotel directly. 913-596-6000. I look forward to... More 

Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here after a concert at sporting KC. I got the hotel on a Hotwire secret deals , much less expensive then other area hotels. Our room was the Serengeti, very unique considering we only stayed for one night. Cute idea. Bed uncomfortable and room too hot (ac didn't work). Jacuzzi tub was nice but only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Bellenelle2918, Thanks for sharing with us! The Serengeti is one of our most adventurous rooms! I have shared your comments with our staff about your stay, and we are working on some of the minor issues you have shared and apologize for any inconveniences. I am not sure why someone at the front desk would be "hiding" from you? I... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

My husband and I were so excited to have a night away from our three kids at this, what we thought was going to be an amazing hotel and spa. I called at 1:41pm the day of our reservation to schedule a couples massage. I spoke with a female, I now know I should have asked for her name, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Our room was small but quaint,(can't really complain as it was free to us) I live in town so it is a nice get away close to home. There is a beautiful fountain on the property however it was not working. Sad, because it is beautiful. There is a shuttle that takes you to and from the legends as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Lori, Thanks for taking the time to share your stay with us. I apologize our fountain has been down due to some maintenance work being done on it. I am happy to say it is up and running now and you are more than welcome to come check it out! Looking forward to you being our guest again soon. Thanks,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway, Kansas City
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites at Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay