We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Avalon

3.5 of 5 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Avalon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau Avalon
Chateau Avalon
Chateau Avalon
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    44
    41
    25
    32
See reviews for
5
193
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is nearly impossible to compare the Chateau Avalon to a traditional hotel. If you want a regular room, go somewhere else. The Chateau Avalon is too much fun for you. Another perk: the hotel offers a shuttle bus that will take you to the nearby NASCAR track, the Hollywood Casino, Sporting KC arena, and any number of restaurants or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I had limited time for our anniversary this year so we did a stay-cation at Chateau Avalon. The grounds are really interesting, it's near a huge casino and racetrack but it reminded me of a old manor out in the country. We chose the Tahiti Theme. My husband and I arrived arrived approximately 6pm, the hotel looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I reserved the Colorado Frontier room for my first anniversary to do something special for my wife and I. Worst mistake I have made. We arrived about 8PM on an evening that was 15 degrees outside. When I went to check in, I was given a different room number than I had reserved and told it was the same theme,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on a rainy, cold Sunday night. Their website touted shuttle service to nearby casino and restaurant area so you could relax without driving worries. No shuttle available and wine bar was closed before 7. The casino did have a shuttle but ended at 9, too early to go back to a hotel with no beverage or food available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the Tuscany Suite. Was a nice change. Winding staircase to the bed. Beautiful tub area. Very romantic. But really there was no seating area. You either sat on two uncomfortable metal chairs or on the bed upstairs. Despite there being a fireplace, there was only a very small fainting couch to sit on to enjoy it. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casey P, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

The Tuscany Suite is one of our most luxurious rooms. It is designed to have the feel of a Tuscan Villa. The oversized jetted tub is downstairs near the bathroom and living area with the fireplace. There is a chaise lounge located near the fireplace, which is also a few feet away from an old world italian dining set. The... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We got the Colorado room It was so small So the young man let us look at three others and we went with the Jesse James room A lot better Go down to the bar and it was closed (it was 1700 hrs on the USMC Bday) They said it was opened every day night So went to the casino... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Casey P, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. I am glad to hear our staff listened to your needs and found a room that suited you better than your original reservation. Our winter D'Nile Wine Bar hours differ from our summer hours. The bar is closed on Monday and Tuesday nights during the winter season. I apologize for this not being... More 

kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Our employees gave us a night at Chateau Avalon! We loved it! At check-in, our gift certificate wasn't there as they told our employees it would be. The mix up was handled very professionally. We stayed in the Presidential Suite complete with a separate tiled restroom, a library, an awesome massage bed and the large tub & shower with pillars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us~ We hope you have another chance to come check out all of the services and room themes the Chateau Avalon has to offer. This has been such a great time of year to enjoy the best of Kansas City This baseball... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

I sent my daughter there for her honeymoon expecting it to be the experience of a lifetime. She returned with many complaints about quality of room and the service all around. I called and left a message for the manager. It was ignored. Gave them a week or so to respond and called again, this happened for 6 1/2 weeks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the service your daughter received during her recent stay. We have many room concepts, with varied themes, that range in size and price. I apologize if you booked one of our Classic rooms expected a Luxury room, which vary in price. We have 23 types of themed suites to suit... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I love the hotel and decided we were going to stay there regularly; never again. The staff is very rude! They promised us a shuttle for our dinner reservations, had to drive ourselves and we're late. The receptionist made it feel like our fault. Apparently when they charge you for a room it can take up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

I apologize for the issues you experienced. We are always striving to improve in every way- especially customer service. I am new to the property and would love to discuss your experience with you. Please contact me if you wish. I hope to have the chance to show you the true level of service we offer. Sincerely, Casey Price Guest... More 

Wailea, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The concept of this themed room hotel is great - but I don't think they have performed much needed cosmetic repairs to the rooms and there is a stale odor to the place. I have stayed at the hotel on three occasions - the first stay was nearly 8 years ago and was terrific. I don't think they have lifted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are always striving to improve our property and customer service. Please never hesitate to contact the staff with any issue during your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the service in D'Nile. I will pass your kind remarks along to Beau. I hope you give us another chance to show you the true... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chateau Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay