We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Avalon

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chateau Avalon
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my first visit to Chateau Avalon. All I can say is WOW. My room is huge. I feel like a princess in a castle. Luxury accommodations and excellence staff exceeded my expectations. Such a wonderful place to pamper yourself or have a romantic get a way.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in at 4:00, our room wasn't ready until 5:30. The lighting was so dim that we had to use the bathroom light or light from our cell phones to read about hotel amenities and breakfast menu. No lamps. I imagine the dim lighting was an attempt to hide the room's true condition ~ run down and dirty. If you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveller4KC
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Traveller4KC, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I apologize you were not pleased with your stay. Perhaps a different room style would have been better for your liking. We have 22 other concepts to choose from! I am sorry your room was not ready at check in, as this is not a normal occurrence. We have... More 

Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

The landscaping isn't maintained so looks run down. That tells you right away they dont care. Well it's the same for the inside. For the money you pay I expect more. You can get a nicer room for less at a motel down the street. No coffee machine, refrigerator or microwave. The draining in the shower/ tub is poor. They... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank cwl653
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear cwl653, Thank you for sharing your review with us! I apologize you were disappointed in your stay with us. I have shared your comments with our staff, and we are in the works of doing some updates around the hotel as well. We have many different room styles with many different price points, and run specials monthly on our... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

The Chateau Avalon is an overpriced motel 6!!! The online pics are nothing more than false advertisement!!! The rooms are trash and in desperate need of being remodeled. For the price of these rooms I assure u.. They're a let down!!!! The paint is chipping everywhere and the ceiling was leaking in our room. Not to mention the very rude... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Neones C
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Neones C., Thanks for taking the time to post a review with us. We take all of our reviews seriously, and are always looking for ways to improve and give back to our guests. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not what you had expected. I am happy to inform you that we are doing some updates around... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

My husband and I stayed one night October 24, 2015 in the Presidential Suite to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. I had ordered the extras, such as we were suppose to have 14 tea light candles and only had 4, we were to have rose pedals from the door leading to the bed, there were only pedals on the bed,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 597ruthp
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear 597ruthp, Thanks for your review! We appreciate the constructive criticism and feedback as we are always looking for areas to improve on. I would like to apologize that your package you ordered was not fully set up, and we would like to make it up to you in a future stay. I am glad you got to enjoy the... More 

Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

We had friends stay here a few years ago and we've looked forward to coming for a long time. We stayed in the Serengeti room. The decor is fun. My wife enjoyed the jacuzzi tub. Everything else was disappointing. There is not a comfortable place in the room to relax. The bed is just ok; the pillows are horrendous. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank david d
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

David D., We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. The Serengeti is one of our most adventurous rooms! I am glad you got to enjoy relaxing in the tub, and apologize that the rest of your stay wasn't as relaxing as you had hoped it to be. We do make our breakfast fresh in the morning, I... More 

Maize, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We were so disappointed with our stay here. The website is totally misleading. Our room was the Myan Ruins room; it was dirty and needed repairs, carpet was stained :( We stayed 2 nights and our breakfast was pitiful. Could've had a better breakfast from fast food! It was as if the breakfast was a frozen entree that was heated... More 

Helpful?
Thank mandyspexarth
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear mandyspexarth, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not what you had expected. I have spoken to our kitchen supervisor and our management team about the comments you have shared, and we would like to invite you back again in hopes of making your next stay more... More 

Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel. My husband and I had one of their theme rooms. It was very lovely, however...very small. We were there overnight so not a big deal, but it might be to tight for more than that. The spa tubs in each room are a bonus and the furnishings, ect... are great quality.

Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Samantha L, Thanks for being our guest! Come back again soon and try out another one of our 23 room styles to choose from! Thank you, Kelsey Bennett Chateau Avalon Hotel and Spa More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

We spent our first night married here 11 years ago. Decided to revisit for the weekend and we were deeply disappointed. For the amount of money spent the experience was just blah. The front desk seemed very annoyed we were there. We received a much more warm greeting from the maintenance engineer. While we don't expect to be treated like... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chad G
Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

My husband surprised me with 2 nights here for our 5th wedding anniversary. I will agree with the other reviewers that this is an expensive stay and I wish they could do a little extra so we could feel more value in the stay. It was a neat room - we stayed in the Colorado Frontier room, however it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett & Laura H
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Brett & Laura H, Thank you for being our guests and sharing your stay with us! I am glad you had the chance to get away and enjoy your anniversary. We appreciate the constructive criticism on where we can make improvements, and I have shared your comments with our management team. Check our Facebook page and website for monthly and/or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
12.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay