We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Chanute hotels

Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute

12 East Main Street, Chanute, KS 66720
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute to your Saves list
Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Chanute
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Teesha M Raytown, Missouri
  • Overview
  • Reviews (63)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
14
5
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raytown, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The website indicated the hotel had recently undergone renovation. When you walk in the hotel there is an odd odor that is difficult to describe. The room we reserved was supposed to be the "top of the line" costing over $100 per night. As a seasoned traveler my expectations were moderately high and were not met. The room is merely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay and I am quite surprised about your complaints. Your suite #301 was completely renovated just one month ago. At that time we replaced the flooring, light fixtures, painted everything and installed 2 - 32" LCD TVs. You were sleeping on two queen 13.5" "Heavenly Bed" mattresses that are the same... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Me and my kids were visiting family last week and got a wonderful newly remodeled 2 queen rooms we stayed in many hotels on our vacation and 8 have to say the pillow top mattresses were amazing it was the best nights sleep iv had in a long time my girls loved the fact that there was popcorn in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed the free popcorn and bottled in your room during your recent stay. We just expanded our breakfast to also include scrambled eggs and sausage in addition to waffles, cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, biscuits with sausage gravy, juice, and milk. I look forward to having you stay with us again soon! More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beautifully remodelled room and i think it's a lovely old hotel. The service was great and a large breakfast variety. Hardwood floors and a flat screen tv, my room was very nice. I'll be coming back in July and that'll be the place i'm staying. Thank u Tioga for a relaxing stay. See u soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit us again! More

Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I wanted to stay at this hotel because of it's historic signifcance. I was very disappointed because the ceilings were all water stained, the water pipes all leaked & there was a hole in the wall all of the way through to the outside the size of a silver dollar! The room was very high-priced & I am STILL trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

I apologize that you were placed in a room that had a stain on the ceiling from a previous water pipe leak (definitely wasn't currently leaking) and there was a small hole by the air conditioner that a previous guest had apparently cutout - possibly to attempt to smoke undetected. These repairs have been made as a result of seeing... More

Chanute, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hotel , the staff was very friendly and professional. There's so much historical beauty about the hotel. It's located in the middle of downtown Chanute so it's a very good location. The beds were so comfortable, I didn't want to leave. They also have breakfast in the mornings and free wifi. I would definitely recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at my hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to having you again soon. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

In spite of bad reviews we stayed at this hotel anyway because we had business in downtown Chanute. We were pleasantly suprised at the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the hotel. The room was great nice bed, hard wood flooring and new television. The only thing we found odd was the window air unit but it proved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. We enjoyed the historic aspect of the hotel. Check-in and check-out were smooth. We were disappointed about the breakfast though. On-line it stated a made-to-order breakfast. What was offered was a carbohydrate heavy breakfast. There were only 3 pieces of fruit available. Our second morning, we opted to go down the street to "The Grain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Manager at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

Thank you for your generally positive review. All but 7 of our units have tubs with showers. I am sorry you were placed in one of the units with a shower. Certainly we would have moved you without any additional charge. We thought we had eliminated everyplace online that referred to the "made-to-order" breakfast but unfortunately there was one place... More

Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

First, the customer service at check-in was great. I wish the hotel could live up to the same standards. The bed was very comfortable! We were in a room that faced the main street and it was noisy but it should be expected with an air unit in the window. The carpet in our room was coming apart in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I apologize that your stay was less than perfect. We are now doing our laundry in-house because we might as well do it ourselves if we are going to have to unfold and inspect every towel. I had found towels like this myself which is ridiculous. Our air conditioners are fairly quiet... More

Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It took me almost 40 minutes check in. The rooms that face Main Street are paper thin and you can hear every piece of crap Harley Davidson, truck and car that drives by all night long. The breakfast was not completely set up, the waffle iron was not on the gravy for the B&G was cold, no coffee cups, .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

I tracked down this guest to figure out what exactly happened. I am providing him a 50% discount on his next stay in Chanute and he has agreed to give us another try. The check-in was delayed because my staff member accidentally had checked another guest into this guests room because they had similar names, which took some time to... More

Chanute, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had some family members stay here over the weekend. Best place to stay in town. Staff was super friendly, and from what we were told, and experienced, explains why this hotel has received some bad rep in the past. Rooms are great compared to what I've seen in the past, and the improvements are obvious if you've been in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ToddJohnson, Owner at Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, responded to this review

I'm glad your family had a great stay. There are 300 parking spots within a block of the hotel so I am surprised your family had trouble finding a parking spot. There is a parking lot behind the hotel in the alley that they might not have noticed. I look forward to having them stay with us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute

Address: 12 East Main Street, Chanute, KS 66720
Location: United States > Kansas > Chanute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tioga Hotel Chanute

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tioga Suites Hotel Chanute offers some of the finest accommodations in Southeast Kansas. It is on the National Register of Historic Places and was completely updated and remodeled in 2010. The hotel has traditional rooms, suites, and kitchenettes available. There is a restaurant located on-site. The Tioga has 24 hour staff and provides a FREE made-to-order breakfast, bottled water, microwave popcorn, and in-room coffee for each guest. The Tioga Suites Hotel is located in the heart of bustling downtown Chanute, Kansas among dozens of local shops, boutiques, restaurants, and drinking establishments. It is located 2 blocks from Chanute's new movie theater and 5 blocks from the new Water Park. The Tioga is the ONLY lodging facility in Chanute with a restaurant on-site and the only within walking distance to any dining, shopping or entertainment. It is located across the street from the only sports bar in town, Benchwarmers. There are over 300 parking spots within a block of the hotel so parking is never an issue. The Tioga offers competitive nightly and weekly rates. Business travelers, families and construction crews are also welcome. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer