We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Williamsburg

2228 U Avenue, Williamsburg, IA 52361
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Williamsburg
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
232 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

arrived late after a long drive. room was clean and serviceable; in fact better than front desk indicated as I had wifi in room -- the FD clerk said it was only available in lobby area?!?! check out if self serve, so if you need receipt, ask for it upon check IN!!

Helpful?
Thank AngelaAlaska
Freedom, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

First and last stay at a Motel 6...dirty and smelly, bugs smashed on wall!! Left early without even showering as we couldn't get out fast enough. Unfortunately, late night decision to stop while traveling through.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Williamsburg, responded to this review

Kathy, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Placed smelled like cigarettes. Front desk clerk was creepy. Carpets in room were gross and old. Bathroom door did not shut all the way, could access hotel from any door, back of hotel was dark and digesting. They accepted pets but only thing positive about the place.

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Williamsburg, responded to this review

Pamela, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern and bed comfort issues you describe. We apologize for the noise inconveniences you experienced and for the unsatisfactory response you received to your complaint. Motel 6 standards for quality... More 

Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Stayed one night on my way home from Wyoming to Ohio. I was exhausted and had my dog with me so I was looking for a Motel 6 because I know they allow pets for free and the rooms are usually cheap. When you walk into the lobby area, the place smells a little old and musty. The desk person... More 

Helpful?
Thank LJHynd
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 via mobile

This place was so gross! Pubic hair on and around tub. Smelled like old cigarettes. Carpeting coming up from the sides. Very sketchy surrounding building. Tolite did not flush. The t.v was old and decrepit. Cable was in and out. We stayed about 5-10 min and left. On a postive note, the front desk man was not shocked in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank epicsode
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Williamsburg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the... More 

Saint Anthony, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Upon arrival the staff was not friendly, we heard crickets in the hallway of the hotel, and it smelt bad. The room smelt bad as well. The pillows were only about 1 inch thick. Everything in the room looked drab and old. The towels were stained. The bathtub didn't look clean, and the stopper was missing. We didn't even have... More 

Helpful?
Thank soost2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Williamsburg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future. More 

Victor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

When we checked in I was going to go to the bath room to take a shower and the shower was dirtier then dirt then when we tried to complain to the manager she didn't give us to him and when we complained to her she said you no like than leave

Helpful?
Thank Tigerclaws08779
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

First off, the bathtub was filthy. The towel was used. Second, when we called to complain the lady said " if you no like leave don't complain. Third, there are toenails under the bed. Fourth and final, the wall paint is chaffing. I was in room 107,

Helpful?
Thank Julia M
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This Motel 6 is at the "Little Amana" exit on I-80 between Iowa City and Des Moines. I am a traveling salesman driving from Davenport IA to Des Moines on I-80. I was getting tired so I decided to stop for the night. The Motel 6 website listed this property with Wi-Fi and the price was good, so I booked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank decollins
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

When we checked into the hotel, we went straight to the room without unloading the bag. My kids needed to use the bathroom. I immediately noticed some black spots around the wall lamp and on closer inspection, found more in the space between the air conditioning unit and the window sill. I'm not 100% sure, but I think it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Williamsburg-Amana Colonies Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
15.7 mi away
Residence Inn Coralville
Residence Inn Coralville
#3 of 18 in Coralville
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
15.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#7 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay