We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2701 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here two nights and chose due to location but won't stay again. It was serviceable and probably better long term, but for short term not. Little to no amenities; clean but basic at best. Rooms were small and of mixed quality. Grab and go breakfast basic at best.

Helpful?
Thank Alice D
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. To uphold our company’s high standards, we will continue to strive to provide each guest with a comfortable room and professional customer service. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very... More 

Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

Room was very nice. Good size flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, free grab and go breakfast, pool, work out room and laundry room. Staff was friendly and would smile and greet you every time you walked in the door. The parking lot was basically full but minimal noise in the rooms.

Helpful?
Thank johnnymack5150
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! I truly appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you... More 

Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

Arguably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Just don't understand other reviews that say different. We were on the 3rd floor and it must have previously been a smoking floor. Smelled like an ash tray with bad that they tried to cover up with some sort of cleaner. Spend another $30 and stay anywhere else, you'll be glad you... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJS_MKE
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. The odor issues you mentioned are unacceptable and we will be taking the necessary steps to ensure this is properly addressed. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should... More 

Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Stayed here one night while passing through on a family trip. Four people in 2 double beds was a bit cozy but the room was clean and quiet, until everybody staying in the hotel started waking up around 5am. No big deal, I think I was the only one who woke up. We stayed in part because it offered free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sojournwithme
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms. We are sorry you were disappointed in our breakfast offering and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We appreciate your feedback as we use this to continuously improve the... More 

Temecula, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We stayed here on business during a trip to West Des Moines. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a full kitchen and upon request you are provided with cooking pans , dishes and utensils. The stair way was dirty and smelly . The only reason we know this is because we had to use the stair way due... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. I am so sorry the elevator was out of service during your visit. While I tried to get it repaired quickly, I do realize the inconvenience it caused. I will also be monitoring the stairwell... More 

colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

having a kitchen after being on the road for 10 days is a plus hy vee grocery near by so easy to pick up supplies Breakfast was Spartan coffee (NO Decaf) apples, oranges, muffin, oatmeal and granola bar I will consider returning

Helpful?
1 Thank seniortvlr
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens and had a pleasant stay overall. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

My wife and I stayed here overnight as we were going to a concert in Clive IA. We had booked this hotel through a Hotwire deal and acknowledged that we would just have to turn up and take what we were given. When we arrived, there was building work going on in the hotel which made the initial impression somewhat... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank David_Cull
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues that occurred during check-in; however, I am glad to read that they were quickly resolved. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the great customer service they provided. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to... More 

Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I was concerned after reading previous reviews but hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Room had all hardwood floors which was different. Hotel located in quiet neighborhood but close to shopping and restaurants. As I understand hotel was recently renovated and no longer allows smoking.

Helpful?
3 Thank sleestaker
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. I’m also excited to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area. More 

Noida, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I stayed at this Hotel last year for a month and the best part I liked was its location. Its very well placed, Valley West Mall and Walgreens were at walking distance. Staff was overall fine. The only sad part which I felt was the breakfast. This should be taken care seriously and there should be some additions to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SumirSingh
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with our location and our staff during your visit. Still, I apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be useful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again... More 

Trego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

The check in staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a truck and large travel trailer and were able to find an adequate parking place. There was a large grassy area behind the motel to walk the dogs and let them run. The room was clean. No smells in room or hallways. Breakfast food was fresh. My only suggestion... More 

Helpful?
Thank kowgirl2007
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, that your room was clean and that you enjoyed our free grab-and-go breakfast. Your feedback regarding our breakfast selection will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. Thank you again for your review. We look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#9 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valley West Inn
Valley West Inn
#18 of 19 in West Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#4 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay