We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 West Des Moines hotels

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1441 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Judith H
  • Reviews (55)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
8
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two months and was my second visit. Staff are helpful especially Monica/ Kristi and a maintenance man who turned the mattress without hesitation! Close to nice mall...walking distance! Great places to eat including vegan lunch stop within two blocks. Some updates are planned but overall a safe and pleasant stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Judith - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our location and our great staff, especially Monica and Kristi. We are happy that we provided you with a "home away from home" experience. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is easy to find. I was checked in very quickly and got the exact room and location that I had asked about, very nice. The hotel is extremely well kept, pretty nice fitness center, Very nice pool area. Spacious rooms. Plenty of variety in shopping within a short drive. I was able to cook and enjoy a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with your quick check-in, our fitness center and our pool area. As well, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room, our location and your fully equipped kitchen. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with... More

Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time staying here for work. The rooms are clean, spacious, modern, and affordable. What more can you ask for! Oh, the free grab and go breakfast is convenient as well. I recommend this hotel for everyone, business traverals and families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at a great value. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your clean, spacious room and our grab-and-go breakfast. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for about a month over the summer and liked it very much. Nice location to restaurants, the mall and grocery store. We definitely liked the kitchen in our room. Lisa at the front desk was nice and always helpful. If we're in the area we will definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you and your Husband enjoyed our hotel's location, the amenities we had to offer and the service our staff provided. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area. More

Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If not for the very reasonable weekly/monthly rates compared to name-brand extended stay hotels, I would have rated lower. Condition of the room I received was lower than expected based on the sample room shown. TV and microwave were newer but most items in room (furniture, oven, carpet, cabinets, etc) and bath were tired and worn looking. Bathroom drains had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are sincerely sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. In response to your feedback, I am working with staff to improve our housekeeping and maintenance services. As well, please know, we have recently received some upgrades to our hotel and are anticipating more to come in the near... More

Waterloo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for 1 night. I have stayed here in the past when it was Studio Plus. I'm glad that Extended Stay America took over this. When you first walk in to the lobby, you have to walk into the office as there is no front desk, which is kind of unusual. Checking in was easy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to that you found there to be a slight odor in the hallways and for the level of cleanliness in your room. In response to your feedback, I am working with the housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures moving forward. Thank you very much for providing us... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was an ok stay. My biggest upset was the poor bed and the sink in the kitchen took forever to drain. Overall we liked our stay. If you are looking for a descent priced, well located place to stay in Des Moines I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear of the bed discomfort and the plumbing issue. In response to your feedback, I have requested maintenance to investigate the mattress condition and to address the slow drain. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further,... More

KATY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it met our expectation. The front desk was super friendly and even remembered my name when we checked out. Its location is closed to the Valley West Mall and many places to eat. There's coffee in the morning and some muffins and oatmeal packages in the lobby which was convenient when we needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guess?
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I just needed a place to sleep. Extended Stay was $50 via Hotwire, and excellent price for this particular weekend in Des Moines. The hotel is close to I-235 but far enough away to be quiet and restful. We've stayed in ESA properties before and have always been satisfied. Don't look for anything but the basics. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the in-room menu we provide from a restaurant nearby and our clean, spacious rooms. I sincerely apologize that your sleep was hindered by some outside lighting. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss... More

jax
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Def no frills.must have spent the whole budget on the brick exterior.Because the interior got robbed.the inside has def seen better days.only plus is they upgraded tv's.ok for me but i wouldn't bring my girl here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations; however, we are still in the process of bringing upgrades to the hotel. Starting with the exterior and then moving to the interior, we have bought brand new flat screen televisions and will be revamping the guest rooms next. To ensure we touch... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Address: 2701 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1441 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Plus Des Moines

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
86

See which rooms travelers prefer