We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 West Des Moines hotels

Valley West Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3535 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Valley West Inn to your Saves list
Valley West Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
Ranked #16 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Rebecca K Gladstone, Illinois
  • Overview
  • Reviews (62)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    4
    16
    8
See reviews for
16
8
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room I had was nice. It was missing a glass in the bathroom. The mirror over the desk was laying on the bed when I entered the room. I had to lean it against the wall. The location was great, close to the mall and two nice restaurants in walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We liked the location - away from the usual trucker traffic. The lobby is beautiful. We stayed in the front and although the hallway, side entrance and rooms are dated, it is generally clean and comfortable. Certainly not luxury but we paid for comfort, cleanliness and a nice area of town and we for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ROSSVILLE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Let me start this off by saying I was very nervous about our stay here after we found this was our hotel from a Hotwire booking. The lobby is great, the hall ways do need improvement but we stayed in the room and not in the hall way. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Hotel staff was very nice.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I do travel a lot, staying in Hampton Inns, usually. This hotel was cheaper. But it should be WAAAY cheaper. The room was okay, but the hallways were downright gross and creepy. Especially the back door. And it's very weird with all the steps and hallways. We were told it was 90 seconds to our room from the lobby. Maybe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
West Burlington, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Me and my husband just got married and were on our honeymoon. The lobby was nice, and that's about all that was nice. The person behind the counter was rude, and chewing tobacco. The hotel reeked of the smell of pot. The carpets where nasty!!! The whole place needed updated. We got the whirlpool room, which didn't work. The ceiling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the issues you experienced with our property. We will continue to review our advertising on the internet to find that site that is still showing that we have a bar so that we can update that information as... More

West Des Moines
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

"Breakfast" is cheap cinnamon rolls and cheap coffee. First room smelled like vomit, so they moved us to another room that did not stink (not as badly anyway). Elevators smelled like stale beer, and the general feel of the place is that it needs to be renovated. Our room was supposed to have HBO. As there was no channel guide,... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We are currently working on a solution to take care of the odors you mentioned. I apologize for the confusion in regards to breakfast as we do not offer a complimentary breakfast, just the... More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The lobby is okay, not bad. Don't believe the looks, the rest of this "hotel" doesn't represent the same quality of the lobby. In the corner of one of the creepy stairwells were blood stains! There were little drops of blood on my bed, mirror, and bathroom sink. Disgusting! The hallways are dark and strange, like a zombie apocalypse was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I apologize for having to see the issues with the person across from your room. The hotel takes the issues very seriously and works with the police department to ensure that any issues that might come up are being addressed so that we keep the hotel safe for all of... More

West Des Moines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

At first for the price it seemed ok. However, shortly after arrival it went downhill. The clock was not plugged in which was strange as it was right by an outlet. Yeah, that was because the clock was broke. Really? Throw it away. They are $10-$15. Refrigerator in room sounded like a 747 during takeoff. Neighbors on other side of... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, without which we can not improve our operation. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We will address these concerns so that future guests do not have to deal with the disappointment that you experienced. Thank you again for taking the time to give your feedback. More

Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked at Valley West Inn, despite having read negative reviews, in hope that the hotel is better that what some negative people wrote. I was disappointed. Most of the negative reviews are accurate. The room itself was comfortable, clean, and fulfilled my expectations. As long as you don't leave the room you will be content. However, the hallways are... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to give your feedback. I am sorry to hear the we left you feeling disappointed with your stay. We strive to offer a clean, comfortable, friendly, and safe environment at an affordable price. We will take your feedback and to work on improving any areas that we are failing... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Valley West Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Valley West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley West Inn

Address: 3535 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Valley West Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Valley West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley West Hotel West Des Moines

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great mallside location! Next to the popular Valley West Inn of Iowa! Within walking distance to Target, Steinmart, and Hyvee (grocery store). Excellent location next to Interstate 235 in West Des Moines. Very close to downtown. Only a hop-skip-and-jump away from Des Moines entertainment venues! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;