We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 West Des Moines hotels

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Rebecca M
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    57
    14
    16
See reviews for
53
30
15
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had not been to this hotel in more than 5 years. I was a little nervous looking at the reviews online but my training was here so I booked here out of convenience. The staff at check in was very nice. The hotel has been updated since the last time I was here. My room was on the 7th... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redwood City, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I wasn't expecting the Ritz, and didn't find the Ritz in West Des Moines, but what I did find was a very comfortable room, with very friendly staff and a great nights sleep. I do wish that they elected to provide free wifi in the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and team members and the famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! We hope to see you again soon. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not impressed with this hotel at all. The room has a peculiar odor and the desk staff was rude to us whenever we asked a question. There is a tournament in town and little girls are running everywhere with nothing being done by staff. They are unsupervised in fitness room and pool without any staff intervention. Our son... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize your stay was not as you had expected. We did have a large youth sports tournament in the hotel. We do have security and staff overseeing those areas to ensure the safety and security of all guests, but they can become very busy. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here one night. Upon check in the guy at the desk acted like I was a poor homeless person because I had enough money in my spare bank account for the room, no extra money for the $80 hold they put on my acct, which is more than we paid for the room! He saw I had another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in was quick and easy, food in the restaurant was good slightly pricy and parking was plentiful. There was a wedding the weekend of our stay, but pretty non eventful for our party. The rooms were very good and clean and room rate was great. In town for a family gathering and most of the family stayed at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! I am glad you found the area and the hotel to fit your travel needs and we will look forward to seeing you next year! Thank you for choosing Sheraton! More

Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed here because of business reasons. When I checked in I asked about laundry and she said it was $2 to wash and $2 to dry plus the $1.50 for laundry soap. When I asked about Wifi she said that anything over the third floor that you have to pay $9.99 to use their Wifi. Plus if you wanted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that the stay was not as you expected. We do offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby, but there is a charge inside the guest rooms, although it does allow you to connect up to 3 devices for one fee. Even if a room is pre-paid, hotels will pre-authorize a credit card for possible... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Check-in clerk was new but apathetic and pretty low-energy. What I couldn't tolerate is the grimy, stained, worn out carpet throughout. I was on the sixth floor, and the hallway carpets were filthy. My room was clean, with newer carpet, but there was an unpleasant air-freshener odor. Bed was average, shower drain extremely slow. Is this really a Sheraton? I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I apologize that your stay was less than anticipated. We will most surely utilize your comments to try and improve upon the service offering. I hope you might be able to visit us again in the future to experience a stay more indicative of our offerings. More

Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel last week and while clean, there were some issues regarding this hotel. The most serious problem was when we came back to our rooms after being gone all day, my room and my mothers room doors were open. When called the front desk and told them about this, they said they would call us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JeffK, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More

Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stay in West Des Moines every year on a trip to the North Woods. This is one of the few hotels that takes pets and thus our selection is limited. The Sheraton is a good location near the highway and good restaurants. The hotel itself is definitely starting to show its age and needs to be updated. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to work out well. We are, indeed, a pet friendly hotel and are glad you enjoyed having your four legged family members stay with you. More

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Good Points: Nice design for a business hotel with a large courtyard with a waterfall, restaurant and bar. Rooms are of good size and have a separate seating area with a sofa and desk. Rooms had nice, quiet AC. Nice location if you are doing business in West DesMoines. Right off of 235. Breakfast is very good and they get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed the location and amenities. We hope to see you again when you return to Des Moines. More

Do you own or manage Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Valley Junction
Valley Junction
Historic Sites