We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 West Des Moines hotels

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Save Saved
You added Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
John L Dubuque, Iowa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    54
    11
    13
See reviews for
48
30
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am always excited to stay at a Starwood property , but this was not the case at the West Des Moines Sheraton . I like Sheratons because you can count on a "Sweet Sleeper Bed" . I really don't thinkthis was the case at this hotel . You know they say you can judge a book by it's cover... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnL, Thank you for your review. It appears that we could have done much better during your stay. I apologize that the stay did not exceed your expectations. We are nearing a full renovation of the facility and we would invite for you to come back and experience the hotel once completed. Thank you again for the feedback and... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family has stayed here a few times while traveling. We feel it's worth paying ten to twenty more than the average hotel because the beds/bedding are so comfy after ten hours on the road. The kids think the lobby/glass elevator is so cool and they get so excited to stay here because it's "fancy" to them. Drawbacks: Sheraton still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jreid8420, Thank you for your review of your recent stay! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and yes, those Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are pretty great! It was nice to hear you were able to visit some of the local restaurants as well, the Mexican restaurant by the hotel is definitely one of the most popular in the... More

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This 10-story atrium-style hotel was built a while ago (70's - 80's?), and that fact brought with it a lot of baggage. On the plus side, the walls were more soundproof than most modern 4-story hotels. The atrium construction means that there really aren't any hallways, so the sounds of people in the hallway and slamming doors were absent. Also,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. We appreciate all the comments and hope to see you again soon! More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
128 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The guy at check-in was fairly nice, thought he was night auditor but based on it being a different guy the next morning very early, he must have been 2nd shift. Hotel is isolated and unattractive. Rooms are unusual, what they call a suite is not a suite, just an oversized room. Next morning was trying to get assistance from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I can assure you the interaction you experienced... More

Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights as part of a group. Booked two rooms myself and none of the groups rooms were even close or on the same floor. Pool small and loud, breakfast buffet not very good. Not a lot of space to hang out in lobby and had security telling us we could only sit there if we bought drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cbanker17, Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback. More

North Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Check in was swift and smooth, had no problem getting to the room, front desk staff was helpful when the computers in the lobby area were not working correctly and helped my wife get information on two places we wanted to go on Sunday. Great job by the evening staff! Breakfast in the hotel was special omelets to order and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear suemel604, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the interactions with our staff members. We hope to see you again soon! More

Bridgeport, WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a great choice! The free airport shuttle was very helpful, however it only runs until 10pm so if you have a late or very early flight this might not be ideal. All of the staff was very helpful and for being a Sheraton rewards member you can receive free internet access to avoid paying for it. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pinkprincess03, Thank you for the great review and comments regarding our shuttle service, hotel cleanliness and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! More

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night and had a great experience. The hotel was clean and our room was newly updated. Comfy bed and very quiet. Hotel staff was friendly and the parking was convenient. The surrounding area was a major plus--very nice and safe! We've been on a road trip and it was nice to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AllieT7, Thank you for the review on your recent hotel visit. We appreciate the feedback are are glad you enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area. We hope to see you again if you travel to Des Moines! More

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Booking directly from Sheraton, found a STEAL on a 2 room suite... Website crashes, (maintenance they say...) and customer service couldn't find the deal. Cost me $60 more, no free wifi and no cont. breakfast. Hugely disappointed, but decided to stay there anyway. The hotel is pretty. It really is. Nice view, beautiful waterfall, great bonuses, nice staff, amazing pillows....But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
68 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I found this property on Priceline and got a great deal. Its location is not far off freeway. Outside appearance is just like inside.....slightly aged. Has a nice waterfall accenting the 10 or so floors. My room was nicely decorated with a 42" flat panel and a comfortable bed. Found it to be very quiet, but I was tucked away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Siouxfanforever, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the amenities inside the hotel as well as your interaction with our team members. Thank you for choosing Sheraton and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Des Moines! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
285

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer