We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    86
    68
    21
    19
See reviews for
66
37
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (252)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a Starwood hotel, this Sheraton wasn't at its best condition. The lobby area was fine; however, my room was in poor condition. The bathroom needs a lot of love - from old and stained toilet seat, rusty shower head, slow drain that made your feet got covered by your dirty bath water. Yuck. Also, carpet had stains. Yeah, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. As you most likely, saw we are in the very beginning stages of all full renovation. We do pride ourselves in our cleanliness even if some of the product might be nearing the end of its lifetime. I apologize that your experience was not as expected. More 

Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight while traveling from Minnesota to Missouri. One of the quietest rooms of the 11 day trip. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who values the benefit of a good night's sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of your recent trip through Iowa. I am glad we could accommodate your needs for the evening. I was happy to read you enjoyed the beds and pillows- we actually just replaced all the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds in July as part of our renovation project. Thanks for staying with us! More 

Solon, Iowa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read alot of reviews of this hotel prior to arriving. We have to have specific sleeping arrangements for our kids and this hotel had those arrangements which is why we picked them. Yes the carpet needs replaced and yes there were issues with scratches, dings and dents. But I didn't experience anything dirty, bed was clean, shower was nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We do appreciate the feedback and comments! I was glad to read you found the hotel to be clean and were able to gain an upgrade for your stay. I wish your Sheraton Club experience would have been as you expected and we will definitely check on the pool... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an awesome experience here for one night driving through Des Moines. The place was clean, smelled nice, and they were very cool to our dog. The room had what we needed - bathroom, showed, comfy bed, towels etc. If there was a free breakfast, we didn't take advantage of it. No fridge in the room but there's ice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay with us! We appreciate the feedback on your experience with the hotel, team members and surrounding area. Thanks for choosing Sheraton and staying with us! More 

Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on the first night of a multi-day road trip from Ohio to California. I had a weird feeling of deja vu as I entered the hotel because I often stay at a Marriott near Hobby Airport in Houston that has an identical floorplan, down to the same central atrium, glass elevators, and room layouts. The room was excellent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to announce we are do a full internet upgrade in August of this year and the carpet will be replaced starting in January as part of our total room renovations. I was glad to read you enjoyed your room and bed (we... More 

Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Another SPG property that upgrades you to the room you booked. I would ask other SPG Plats to stay away from this hotel as you will get nothing but a bottle of water for your loyalty. This property is on the far West side of Des Moines and it is very inconvenient for travelers with business in Des Moines. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. As all Starwood Hotels, we have many, many SPG Platinum members stay with us each week. We do, when available, upgrade them to a higher value room type. In this particular case, a suite was already booked, so there was not a higher value room type to move into.... More 

Travelers are raving about these West Des Moines hotels

Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Very nice Hotel for a convention- Meeting rooms were spacious, They offered us coupons for free breakfast. Nice hotel rooms. Changeover of new mattresses seemed to go smoothly. On the downside, the free internet was really flakey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your patience as your group was here at the same time that we were putting in all our new Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. We really enjoyed hosting your group and are glad to read you enjoyed your stay. More 

Ashwaubenon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We had about 250 at our son's wedding and the majority of them stayed here Saturday night. The banquet room worked out well. There were 2 bars to allow timely serving of the guests. We had the pre dinner reception in the large, open lobby area. The servers did a great job, the pork tenderloin and chicken breast entrees were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review regarding your recent event with us! We appreciate the feedback and I am glad to announce that our new dance floor is here- it has been updated. Thank you for commenting on the food and service as received during your weekend stay! More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Worst experience ever! We are Sheraton preferred guests and stayed in another Sheraton just last week in Omaha and had a fabulous experience. This week we are staying at the Sheraton West Des Moines for 5 nights. Unfortunately, everyone that we have encountered that works at this hotel has been outwardly rude to us based on their preconceived assumptions about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your review regarding your recent stay with us. While we always appreciate feedback, we do wish you would have had a more enjoyable experience with us. Like many hotels, we do have specific rules for times when we have a large volume of youth in the hotel to ensure that all guests have a comfortable and restful stay.... More 

Denver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

The hotel is very nice, with two shuttles that help you get anywhere you need to go! The open concept for the hotel was neat too. Staff was amazing and room service came super quickly, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Des Moines. I do like the free parking but it would be nice to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us! We were glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and team members. We will hope to see you again when your travels bring you through Des Moines! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#4 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#7 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#2 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#11 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay