We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 West Des Moines hotels

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sandra A Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    60
    17
    16
See reviews for
56
30
16
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Sheraton for 2 consecutive weekends. After my first trip I noticed once I was back at home on Monday, that I had 3 itchy bug bites. Didn't really think anything of it, maybe a mosquito was in my room. after some thinking about the mosquito explanation for a while it seemed kind of unlikely seeing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosemount, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was disappointed with the Sheraton in our October overnight stay. First the disappointments. We booked this hotel last minute on a roadtrip down to Kansas City. We arrived at the front disk around 10:30PM and asked for a their best rate. They told me the walk-up rate was $179. I informed them they had a rate on the SPG... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We do appreciate the feedback. I was glad to see you enjoyed the room and found the hotel to be very clean and appreciate you noting that. I do apologize about the frustrations about making your reservations- specifically when using reward stays. Those reservations are required to be made via SPG specifically and cannot... More

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed there in late August when I brought my daughter to college. Friendly staff and decent facility, but hard to see beyond the filthy carpet. My recent priceline offer was accepted and I will be staying there in early November and am crossing my fingers the carpets will have been replaced by then. My husband is much fussier than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback! We are hoping for new carpet soon as well. It is in the plans. More

Omaha
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights for a conference. Several issues occurred during my stay. When I checked into my room there was a empty can of dog food inside my room that housekeeping had neglected to pick up. I put the can outside my door and ordered room service, in which the food was very good. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate both the good comments and those in which we can do better. All have been shared with the team in order to try and improve upon the guest experience. Thank you again for the feedback. More

Chappaqua, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed in 2 Sheratons on a midwest swing. The other, in Sioux Falls, SD was infinitely superior. This hotel is sorely in need of a renovation both to the lobby area, dining area, etc. The SF version was built similarly, center location with hotels in a square facing the outside. Somehow, the feel at the Des Moines version is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. We actually operate the Sioux Falls Sheraton as well, they just finished with their renovation and ours is coming very soon. We hope you can visit us again soon to see the changes. More

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Received an excellent Priceline "Name your Price" deal for $66/night plus tax. Priceline said it was a 3 1/2 star hotel - it probably was and could be again, but needs some upgrades. Previous reviewer was correct about hall carpeting in BAD shape!! Needs to be replaced NOW!!! Needed to be replaced 10 years ago! I called ahead to check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review of your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the room and Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed! We are hopeful that we will be replacing the hallway carpets very soon. Talks are in the works as I type. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had not been to this hotel in more than 5 years. I was a little nervous looking at the reviews online but my training was here so I booked here out of convenience. The staff at check in was very nice. The hotel has been updated since the last time I was here. My room was on the 7th... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and interactions with our team members. We appreciate the feedback and will ensure it is shared with the entire team. We hope to see you again during your travels to Des Moines! More

Redwood City, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I wasn't expecting the Ritz, and didn't find the Ritz in West Des Moines, but what I did find was a very comfortable room, with very friendly staff and a great nights sleep. I do wish that they elected to provide free wifi in the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and team members and the famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! We hope to see you again soon. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I am not impressed with this hotel at all. The room has a peculiar odor and the desk staff was rude to us whenever we asked a question. There is a tournament in town and little girls are running everywhere with nothing being done by staff. They are unsupervised in fitness room and pool without any staff intervention. Our son... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize your stay was not as you had expected. We did have a large youth sports tournament in the hotel. We do have security and staff overseeing those areas to ensure the safety and security of all guests, but they can become very busy. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. Upon check in the guy at the desk acted like I was a poor homeless person because I had enough money in my spare bank account for the room, no extra money for the $80 hold they put on my acct, which is more than we paid for the room! He saw I had another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay