We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waverly
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    7
    11
    16
See reviews for
12
7
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Overland Park
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the property on a recent evening. The check in was fine, the front desk woman was cordial and the process was smooth and quick. The room was adequate for our needs. It was clean but worn. Not sure it justifies the almost $90 rate, especially in a town the size of Waverly. Our big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yes it was dated and needed some cosmetic repairs but the room was clean, the staff was amazing, the rates were low, and it has a pool. My only complaint is that the restaurant is no longer in the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This was my second time staying with this inn. In 2013 all was wonderful is past stay however now under new ownership had mixed experience. The girl at front desk could not of been more helpful great service. I had called to double check on my reservation to be certain all was in order. Turns out who ever took my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's not an important point, but we have not changed ownership or management in many years. However, I'm glad to hear you have had a pleasant experience here in the past. Regarding your recent stay, I will work with my maintenance staff to do inspections of the few rooms that are constructed with both inside... More 

White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The room was clean and very basic. The front desk staff was hard to understand as English is not his first language. The building is very outdated and past its prime. The beds were uncomfortable, using flat sheets (not fitted) that were not big enough to cover the the whole bed. Went to the bar - The Happy Hour Pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I fully realize our hotel has aged and would benefit from an update. We do our very best to maintain the hotel and keep the rooms clean, the service friendly ... and do so with the very best rates in town offering the most amenities. As far as the Happy Hour Pub goes... Unfortunately we don't own or manage the... More 

Holdrege, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The room was old with chips in the sink. It appeared to be reasonably clean. The person making the reservations worked for a reservation company and did not represent the motel honestly & talked me into this motel over the Super 8 that I was calling to make my reservation to stay at. The Super 8 motel should be upset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our property. As you said, the room was clean, and for the price you paid, I have no doubt you got the best value in town. We pride ourselves in providing the best rates with the most amenities... cleanliness and service. The breakfast is modest as it is designed to simply... More 

Mesa, AZ
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I have stayed at other America's Best Value Inns and they were fine. For that reason I booked here. Mistake. Has anyone from the corporate office stayed here lately? They should! I could go on and on, but I simply must say that their decision to rent out rooms long term, and allow cooking in those rooms, was a mistake.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I should start out by saying that we were recently inspected by America's Best Value Inn and passed with flying colors. When we have extended stay guests, we bow to their respect for privacy ... yet we must dispose of trash and replenish towels on a daily basis. If any trash is left outside guest rooms (again, which we cannot... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This place has never, ever been updated. Nor does it feel like it's ever actually been cleaned. Wallpaper pealing off the walls, mold (and I mean a LOT) on the walls around the windows, what appear to be urine stains on the floors, chairs, and mattresses!! They use flat sheets, not fitted sheets, the comforters are clearly never ever washed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

To say you did not enjoy your stay at our property would be an understatement, it would seem. I respectfully disagree with things said on your review, but you are of course entitled to your opinions/perspectives. We offer the most competitive rates in town and truly have the best value. All guests are invited to tour a guest room before... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stopped in Waverley after a long drive and found the Best Value. The guy on the front desk was really friendly and offered a good price for the room. We had a tv, fridge, microwave, aircon and two queen beds. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a pool and a hot tub -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

THANK YOU SO MUCH for taking time to write such a wonderful review. It's so nice to know what we are doing that makes our guests satisfied. We are delighted you had an excellent stay, and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you visit the Waverly area. Thank you again! More 

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is horribly out-of-date and is in desperate need of a renovation. Bed mattress is thin; bedding lost its softness decades ago; and the floral bedspreads should just be burned. Tube TV, no internet connection, blue tile in the bathroom, unstable chair at the unstable desk. There's still an old-fashioned beer bottle remover on the wall! Dark dingy hallway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

To address your complaints: 1) I completely agree that our property is dated, but we make every effort to keep it CLEAN, MAINTAINED and our service FRIENDLY. If there are any problems brought to our attention, we make every effort to correct them. 2) As you remarked, the room was clean. The bedspreads, while not of contemporary design, are clean... More 

winona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a DIRTY rundown hotel. Carpet was stained and filthy. Needs MAJOR upgrades. Tv was analog and kept pausing - streaming. No fan in bathroom. Halls and woodwork in sad shape. Had dusty fake plant in front of broken ice machine. Feel as if I was taken to cleaners. For $110.00 dollars I expected much better. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

As I state in other responses, I fully agree with you that our hotel needs updating, but we make every effort to offer the best value in town with the lowest prices without compromising cleanliness or service. I think we accomplish that on a regular basis. If your room did not meet your standards, I do hope you contacted the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay