We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Waverly hotels

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
32%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Waverly
  • Overview
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    9
    14
See reviews for
12
5
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is horribly out-of-date and is in desperate need of a renovation. Bed mattress is thin; bedding lost its softness decades ago; and the floral bedspreads should just be burned. Tube TV, no internet connection, blue tile in the bathroom, unstable chair at the unstable desk. There's still an old-fashioned beer bottle remover on the wall! Dark dingy hallway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

To address your complaints: 1) I completely agree that our property is dated, but we make every effort to keep it CLEAN, MAINTAINED and our service FRIENDLY. If there are any problems brought to our attention, we make every effort to correct them. 2) As you remarked, the room was clean. The bedspreads, while not of contemporary design, are clean... More

winona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a DIRTY rundown hotel. Carpet was stained and filthy. Needs MAJOR upgrades. Tv was analog and kept pausing - streaming. No fan in bathroom. Halls and woodwork in sad shape. Had dusty fake plant in front of broken ice machine. Feel as if I was taken to cleaners. For $110.00 dollars I expected much better. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

As I state in other responses, I fully agree with you that our hotel needs updating, but we make every effort to offer the best value in town with the lowest prices without compromising cleanliness or service. I think we accomplish that on a regular basis. If your room did not meet your standards, I do hope you contacted the... More

Eisenach, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was surprized at some of the negative entries here because I had a great stay at the Red Fox last August. After traveling down Route 66 from Chicago to Oklahoma City it was time to head back and I decided to take a northern route due to the weather forcast. So I went through Kansas, Nebraska and crossed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. While I respect the views of guests who had negative experiences, it is unfortunate that typically those are the ones that guests are motivated to write, and positive reviews aren't always as prominent -- because the guest had an enjoyable stay and went on their way. For... More

Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wallpaper hanging off the wall, stained yellow walls, mold growing on the ceiling, dingy, depressing, dated and overall just horrible. So expensive too, nearly $90 a night for this dump. The bed was cheap, old and uncomfortable. Plus the comforter was not fresh. The ugly thing had hair and old food stuck to it. So gross. The whole room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am curious if you notified the front desk and asked to be shown other rooms that may have met your standards. If we don't know your dissatisfaction during your stay, we are unable to do everything we can to make things right. With regards to your complaints: We make improvements to the hotel regularly and as often as we... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Fist of all I do not agree with the previous negative comments. Although the hotel is a bit dated the staffs friendless makes up for it. I had a great experience from calling in and being helped from booking my room, to actual check in. Jake who was working both when I called and showed up knew what he was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. I pass every comment on to our staff; comments such as yours are a pleasure to relay. I'm thrilled to know we are the great pick we strive to be. Thank you for taking time to write a review! More

Centennial, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

America’s Best Value Inn & Suites/Red Fox Inn is not only outdated to the point of being aesthetically appalling, it is positively dilapidated. That which was not out rightly broken was in such a state of disrepair that it was a hair’s breadth away from falling apart before our very eyes. Our stay at this establishment can only be described... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I think you know how hard this response must be. I think I best sum up with a heartfelt 'I'm sorry.' I truly am sorry you had a bad exoerience. I did the only thing I could which was to refund your money with our apologies. I would be insincere if I said there was no merit to items in... More

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I am away from home in hotels more than I am at home. I am apalled by the hotel and its staff. I was greeted very late by a young man who reeked of marijuana and tried putting me in a room with people that were not in my party, to finally get him to understand who I was with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Well, this is certainly a very disappointing review, to say the least. This review definitely has my fullest attention, and I assure you I am looking into each item -- starting with the desk clerk. I checked to see who checked you in, and the young man has been in my employ for years now. I have never encountered any... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I was stuck in a snow storm and stayed here. My room was dirty. There were cobwebs with bugs hanging in them, hair all over my bathroom, and toenail clippings on the floor. I barely slept the whole night since the bed was dsoo uncomfortable. I told the front desk about these issues when I checked out and they didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm extremely sorry to hear about the issues you had with your room. That is extremely unusual, and I am at a loss. Had you let us know when you got to your room that it was not in proper order, we would have been more than happy to move you to a different room and helped you move your... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Over the holidays, my family all gathered for two-nights at the Red Fox Inn. We were able to book several rooms all next to each other. The hotel is out-dated cosmetically, but we found everything in our room to be in good working order. There was a mini-fridge, microwave, hair dryer, cable TV. Our room was located near the pool-area,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

These types of responses make my day! Thank you so much. Please allow us to serve you the next time you're in the Waverly area! More

Northfield, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is incredibly dated and not very clean. However, the price was very affordable and the staff at the hotel were nice. The price and the staff would not be enough to make me stay there again though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While I strive to make every guest a satisfied one, some things are unfortunately beyond my control. We are an older property, but we maintain every room and ensure that you get a great rate. I'm glad the staff treated you well! I do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Address: 1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Location: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel and Conference Center, with 118 interior corridor rooms. Indoor pool, elevator, game room, restaurant, meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
118

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer