We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    12
    18
See reviews for
15
7
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had to book a room in this town due to short-notice travel for a family urgency. The hotel was adequate. It is a very worn property, but things were relatively clean, just really worn. It needs some updating. Staff seemed friendly, though, and the price was right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

When we walked in, the humidity in the hotel was dreadful. We attributed it to the pool that was visible to the lobby. I went to my room and tried to lock all doors. I never heard the latch when I turned the lock so I put the chain on and prayed for the best. The telephone had a red... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will address the items you note individually: Of all my years I have never had a complaint about humidity outside of the pool area; it is correct to assume the swimming pool caused the discomfort, but the guest rooms are individually temperature controlled. We take guest safety and security VERY seriously. If you went... More 

Travelers are raving about these Waverly hotels

Overgaard, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

From the exterior this hotel looks like an abandoned run-down building. The lobby and halls were unkempt and about 90 degrees. The a/c did not work in our first room. Moved to new room. Towels dingy, bed linens stained. Why a franchisor would allow their name to be associated with such a poor excuse for a hotel is unbelievable. Now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad we were able to move you to a room with a functioning air conditioner. I apologize for that first impression. We are an older property but we do our very best to be clean and friendly with the the best rates in town offering the most value. An area I spend more money on regularly than is typical... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

The hotel was good overall. had issues in the first room. it had rained for several days and the gutter outside our room was clogged causing the water to run back in and cause a leak in the ceiling. was awkon in the morning to water dripping on me from the ceiling. they got us another room. this room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

These are good items that you brought up, and I take your comments seriously. Thank you for taking time to review the property and thank you for being our guests. More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

I made a reservation and wasn't coming in until later at night. I was pleased with the receptionist that covered the night shift because she was assured me that I will still get my room for the price I paid for. Getting to the motel it was very run down, but it was still acceptable. I had an issue with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I believe the girl you referenced is Crystal. That is wonderful to hear that she treated you well; I have grown to expect nothing less from Crystal. I will pass on my gratitude for a job well done personally. And frankly I couldn't agree with you more on the issues. I will use feedback such as yours to prioritize spending... More 

Overland Park
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

My wife and I stayed at the property on a recent evening. The check in was fine, the front desk woman was cordial and the process was smooth and quick. The room was adequate for our needs. It was clean but worn. Not sure it justifies the almost $90 rate, especially in a town the size of Waverly. Our big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

All guest rooms are equipped with a land line telephone, deadbolts and chain locks for security. Unfortunately even registered guests can misbehave, but we keep our eyes and ears open and aim to respond professionally, effectively and swiftly to any safety/security concerns. If the clerk asked you to contact the police it is likely because you were the person who... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

Yes it was dated and needed some cosmetic repairs but the room was clean, the staff was amazing, the rates were low, and it has a pool. My only complaint is that the restaurant is no longer in the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

THANK YOU SO MUCH! We very much appreciate the positive feedback as well as critical. I will pat the staff on the back, and I want to ask you to please come visit us again. Thank you for your business! More 

Waterloo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This was my second time staying with this inn. In 2013 all was wonderful is past stay however now under new ownership had mixed experience. The girl at front desk could not of been more helpful great service. I had called to double check on my reservation to be certain all was in order. Turns out who ever took my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's not an important point, but we have not changed ownership or management in many years. However, I'm glad to hear you have had a pleasant experience here in the past. Regarding your recent stay, I will work with my maintenance staff to do inspections of the few rooms that are constructed with both inside... More 

White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The room was clean and very basic. The front desk staff was hard to understand as English is not his first language. The building is very outdated and past its prime. The beds were uncomfortable, using flat sheets (not fitted) that were not big enough to cover the the whole bed. Went to the bar - The Happy Hour Pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I fully realize our hotel has aged and would benefit from an update. We do our very best to maintain the hotel and keep the rooms clean, the service friendly ... and do so with the very best rates in town offering the most amenities. As far as the Happy Hour Pub goes... Unfortunately we don't own or manage the... More 

Holdrege, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The room was old with chips in the sink. It appeared to be reasonably clean. The person making the reservations worked for a reservation company and did not represent the motel honestly & talked me into this motel over the Super 8 that I was calling to make my reservation to stay at. The Super 8 motel should be upset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our property. As you said, the room was clean, and for the price you paid, I have no doubt you got the best value in town. We pride ourselves in providing the best rates with the most amenities... cleanliness and service. The breakfast is modest as it is designed to simply... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waverly
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Waverly
Comfort Inn Waverly
#1 of 5 in Waverly
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
14.5 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#8 of 13 in Cedar Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
16.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#6 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 16 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay