We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Waverly hotels

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn to your Saves list
31%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Waverly
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    11
    16
See reviews for
12
6
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was clean and very basic. The front desk staff was hard to understand as English is not his first language. The building is very outdated and past its prime. The beds were uncomfortable, using flat sheets (not fitted) that were not big enough to cover the the whole bed. Went to the bar - The Happy Hour Pub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holdrege, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was old with chips in the sink. It appeared to be reasonably clean. The person making the reservations worked for a reservation company and did not represent the motel honestly & talked me into this motel over the Super 8 that I was calling to make my reservation to stay at. The Super 8 motel should be upset... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mesa, AZ
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I have stayed at other America's Best Value Inns and they were fine. For that reason I booked here. Mistake. Has anyone from the corporate office stayed here lately? They should! I could go on and on, but I simply must say that their decision to rent out rooms long term, and allow cooking in those rooms, was a mistake.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I should start out by saying that we were recently inspected by America's Best Value Inn and passed with flying colors. When we have extended stay guests, we bow to their respect for privacy ... yet we must dispose of trash and replenish towels on a daily basis. If any trash is left outside guest rooms (again, which we cannot... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This place has never, ever been updated. Nor does it feel like it's ever actually been cleaned. Wallpaper pealing off the walls, mold (and I mean a LOT) on the walls around the windows, what appear to be urine stains on the floors, chairs, and mattresses!! They use flat sheets, not fitted sheets, the comforters are clearly never ever washed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

To say you did not enjoy your stay at our property would be an understatement, it would seem. I respectfully disagree with things said on your review, but you are of course entitled to your opinions/perspectives. We offer the most competitive rates in town and truly have the best value. All guests are invited to tour a guest room before... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stopped in Waverley after a long drive and found the Best Value. The guy on the front desk was really friendly and offered a good price for the room. We had a tv, fridge, microwave, aircon and two queen beds. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a pool and a hot tub -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

THANK YOU SO MUCH for taking time to write such a wonderful review. It's so nice to know what we are doing that makes our guests satisfied. We are delighted you had an excellent stay, and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you visit the Waverly area. Thank you again! More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is horribly out-of-date and is in desperate need of a renovation. Bed mattress is thin; bedding lost its softness decades ago; and the floral bedspreads should just be burned. Tube TV, no internet connection, blue tile in the bathroom, unstable chair at the unstable desk. There's still an old-fashioned beer bottle remover on the wall! Dark dingy hallway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

To address your complaints: 1) I completely agree that our property is dated, but we make every effort to keep it CLEAN, MAINTAINED and our service FRIENDLY. If there are any problems brought to our attention, we make every effort to correct them. 2) As you remarked, the room was clean. The bedspreads, while not of contemporary design, are clean... More

winona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a DIRTY rundown hotel. Carpet was stained and filthy. Needs MAJOR upgrades. Tv was analog and kept pausing - streaming. No fan in bathroom. Halls and woodwork in sad shape. Had dusty fake plant in front of broken ice machine. Feel as if I was taken to cleaners. For $110.00 dollars I expected much better. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

As I state in other responses, I fully agree with you that our hotel needs updating, but we make every effort to offer the best value in town with the lowest prices without compromising cleanliness or service. I think we accomplish that on a regular basis. If your room did not meet your standards, I do hope you contacted the... More

Eisenach, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was surprized at some of the negative entries here because I had a great stay at the Red Fox last August. After traveling down Route 66 from Chicago to Oklahoma City it was time to head back and I decided to take a northern route due to the weather forcast. So I went through Kansas, Nebraska and crossed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. While I respect the views of guests who had negative experiences, it is unfortunate that typically those are the ones that guests are motivated to write, and positive reviews aren't always as prominent -- because the guest had an enjoyable stay and went on their way. For... More

Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wallpaper hanging off the wall, stained yellow walls, mold growing on the ceiling, dingy, depressing, dated and overall just horrible. So expensive too, nearly $90 a night for this dump. The bed was cheap, old and uncomfortable. Plus the comforter was not fresh. The ugly thing had hair and old food stuck to it. So gross. The whole room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am curious if you notified the front desk and asked to be shown other rooms that may have met your standards. If we don't know your dissatisfaction during your stay, we are unable to do everything we can to make things right. With regards to your complaints: We make improvements to the hotel regularly and as often as we... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Fist of all I do not agree with the previous negative comments. Although the hotel is a bit dated the staffs friendless makes up for it. I had a great experience from calling in and being helped from booking my room, to actual check in. Jake who was working both when I called and showed up knew what he was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. I pass every comment on to our staff; comments such as yours are a pleasure to relay. I'm thrilled to know we are the great pick we strive to be. Thank you for taking time to write a review! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Address: 1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Location: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay