We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Waverly hotels

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
32%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Waverly
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    9
    16
See reviews for
12
6
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Mesa, AZ
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at other America's Best Value Inns and they were fine. For that reason I booked here. Mistake. Has anyone from the corporate office stayed here lately? They should! I could go on and on, but I simply must say that their decision to rent out rooms long term, and allow cooking in those rooms, was a mistake.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has never, ever been updated. Nor does it feel like it's ever actually been cleaned. Wallpaper pealing off the walls, mold (and I mean a LOT) on the walls around the windows, what appear to be urine stains on the floors, chairs, and mattresses!! They use flat sheets, not fitted sheets, the comforters are clearly never ever washed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped in Waverley after a long drive and found the Best Value. The guy on the front desk was really friendly and offered a good price for the room. We had a tv, fridge, microwave, aircon and two queen beds. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a pool and a hot tub -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is horribly out-of-date and is in desperate need of a renovation. Bed mattress is thin; bedding lost its softness decades ago; and the floral bedspreads should just be burned. Tube TV, no internet connection, blue tile in the bathroom, unstable chair at the unstable desk. There's still an old-fashioned beer bottle remover on the wall! Dark dingy hallway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

To address your complaints: 1) I completely agree that our property is dated, but we make every effort to keep it CLEAN, MAINTAINED and our service FRIENDLY. If there are any problems brought to our attention, we make every effort to correct them. 2) As you remarked, the room was clean. The bedspreads, while not of contemporary design, are clean... More

winona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a DIRTY rundown hotel. Carpet was stained and filthy. Needs MAJOR upgrades. Tv was analog and kept pausing - streaming. No fan in bathroom. Halls and woodwork in sad shape. Had dusty fake plant in front of broken ice machine. Feel as if I was taken to cleaners. For $110.00 dollars I expected much better. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

As I state in other responses, I fully agree with you that our hotel needs updating, but we make every effort to offer the best value in town with the lowest prices without compromising cleanliness or service. I think we accomplish that on a regular basis. If your room did not meet your standards, I do hope you contacted the... More

Eisenach, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was surprized at some of the negative entries here because I had a great stay at the Red Fox last August. After traveling down Route 66 from Chicago to Oklahoma City it was time to head back and I decided to take a northern route due to the weather forcast. So I went through Kansas, Nebraska and crossed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. While I respect the views of guests who had negative experiences, it is unfortunate that typically those are the ones that guests are motivated to write, and positive reviews aren't always as prominent -- because the guest had an enjoyable stay and went on their way. For... More

Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wallpaper hanging off the wall, stained yellow walls, mold growing on the ceiling, dingy, depressing, dated and overall just horrible. So expensive too, nearly $90 a night for this dump. The bed was cheap, old and uncomfortable. Plus the comforter was not fresh. The ugly thing had hair and old food stuck to it. So gross. The whole room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am curious if you notified the front desk and asked to be shown other rooms that may have met your standards. If we don't know your dissatisfaction during your stay, we are unable to do everything we can to make things right. With regards to your complaints: We make improvements to the hotel regularly and as often as we... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Fist of all I do not agree with the previous negative comments. Although the hotel is a bit dated the staffs friendless makes up for it. I had a great experience from calling in and being helped from booking my room, to actual check in. Jake who was working both when I called and showed up knew what he was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. I pass every comment on to our staff; comments such as yours are a pleasure to relay. I'm thrilled to know we are the great pick we strive to be. Thank you for taking time to write a review! More

Centennial, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

America’s Best Value Inn & Suites/Red Fox Inn is not only outdated to the point of being aesthetically appalling, it is positively dilapidated. That which was not out rightly broken was in such a state of disrepair that it was a hair’s breadth away from falling apart before our very eyes. Our stay at this establishment can only be described... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I think you know how hard this response must be. I think I best sum up with a heartfelt 'I'm sorry.' I truly am sorry you had a bad exoerience. I did the only thing I could which was to refund your money with our apologies. I would be insincere if I said there was no merit to items in... More

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I am away from home in hotels more than I am at home. I am apalled by the hotel and its staff. I was greeted very late by a young man who reeked of marijuana and tried putting me in a room with people that were not in my party, to finally get him to understand who I was with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Well, this is certainly a very disappointing review, to say the least. This review definitely has my fullest attention, and I assure you I am looking into each item -- starting with the desk clerk. I checked to see who checked you in, and the young man has been in my employ for years now. I have never encountered any... More

Do you own or manage Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Address: 1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Location: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay