We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Waverly hotels

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
33%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Waverly
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    8
    14
See reviews for
11
5
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winona
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a DIRTY rundown hotel. Carpet was stained and filthy. Needs MAJOR upgrades. Tv was analog and kept pausing - streaming. No fan in bathroom. Halls and woodwork in sad shape. Had dusty fake plant in front of broken ice machine. Feel as if I was taken to cleaners. For $110.00 dollars I expected much better. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eisenach, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was surprized at some of the negative entries here because I had a great stay at the Red Fox last August. After traveling down Route 66 from Chicago to Oklahoma City it was time to head back and I decided to take a northern route due to the weather forcast. So I went through Kansas, Nebraska and crossed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wallpaper hanging off the wall, stained yellow walls, mold growing on the ceiling, dingy, depressing, dated and overall just horrible. So expensive too, nearly $90 a night for this dump. The bed was cheap, old and uncomfortable. Plus the comforter was not fresh. The ugly thing had hair and old food stuck to it. So gross. The whole room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Fist of all I do not agree with the previous negative comments. Although the hotel is a bit dated the staffs friendless makes up for it. I had a great experience from calling in and being helped from booking my room, to actual check in. Jake who was working both when I called and showed up knew what he was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. I pass every comment on to our staff; comments such as yours are a pleasure to relay. I'm thrilled to know we are the great pick we strive to be. Thank you for taking time to write a review! More

Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

America’s Best Value Inn & Suites/Red Fox Inn is not only outdated to the point of being aesthetically appalling, it is positively dilapidated. That which was not out rightly broken was in such a state of disrepair that it was a hair’s breadth away from falling apart before our very eyes. Our stay at this establishment can only be described... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I think you know how hard this response must be. I think I best sum up with a heartfelt 'I'm sorry.' I truly am sorry you had a bad exoerience. I did the only thing I could which was to refund your money with our apologies. I would be insincere if I said there was no merit to items in... More

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I am away from home in hotels more than I am at home. I am apalled by the hotel and its staff. I was greeted very late by a young man who reeked of marijuana and tried putting me in a room with people that were not in my party, to finally get him to understand who I was with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Well, this is certainly a very disappointing review, to say the least. This review definitely has my fullest attention, and I assure you I am looking into each item -- starting with the desk clerk. I checked to see who checked you in, and the young man has been in my employ for years now. I have never encountered any... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I was stuck in a snow storm and stayed here. My room was dirty. There were cobwebs with bugs hanging in them, hair all over my bathroom, and toenail clippings on the floor. I barely slept the whole night since the bed was dsoo uncomfortable. I told the front desk about these issues when I checked out and they didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm extremely sorry to hear about the issues you had with your room. That is extremely unusual, and I am at a loss. Had you let us know when you got to your room that it was not in proper order, we would have been more than happy to move you to a different room and helped you move your... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Over the holidays, my family all gathered for two-nights at the Red Fox Inn. We were able to book several rooms all next to each other. The hotel is out-dated cosmetically, but we found everything in our room to be in good working order. There was a mini-fridge, microwave, hair dryer, cable TV. Our room was located near the pool-area,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

These types of responses make my day! Thank you so much. Please allow us to serve you the next time you're in the Waverly area! More

Northfield, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is incredibly dated and not very clean. However, the price was very affordable and the staff at the hotel were nice. The price and the staff would not be enough to make me stay there again though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While I strive to make every guest a satisfied one, some things are unfortunately beyond my control. We are an older property, but we maintain every room and ensure that you get a great rate. I'm glad the staff treated you well! I do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. More

Appleton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for four nights while in town for a college reunion. We were surprised to find a mini fridge in the room, which came in handy for keeping drinks cold and for storing fresh fruit and other snacks so that we could eat a light lunch without having to go to a restaurant. Yes, the continental breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

This is the second favorable response I've written related to my Guest Service Representative, Scott Bruns. It's so nice to hear the positives along with the constructive criticisms. I will let Scott know how his professionalism and service skills are making an impact on our clientele. Service is everything. We recently added fruit to our continental breakfast. We do everything... More

Been to Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly
Address: 1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Location: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Waverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Conference Center, with 118 interior corridor rooms. Indoor pool, elevator, game room, restaurant, meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Vantage Hospitality, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.