We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1900 Heritage Way (Hwy 3 West), Waverly, IA 50677
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waverly
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    12
    18
See reviews for
15
7
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we walked in, the humidity in the hotel was dreadful. We attributed it to the pool that was visible to the lobby. I went to my room and tried to lock all doors. I never heard the latch when I turned the lock so I put the chain on and prayed for the best. The telephone had a red... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Overgaard, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the exterior this hotel looks like an abandoned run-down building. The lobby and halls were unkempt and about 90 degrees. The a/c did not work in our first room. Moved to new room. Towels dingy, bed linens stained. Why a franchisor would allow their name to be associated with such a poor excuse for a hotel is unbelievable. Now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was good overall. had issues in the first room. it had rained for several days and the gutter outside our room was clogged causing the water to run back in and cause a leak in the ceiling. was awkon in the morning to water dripping on me from the ceiling. they got us another room. this room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

I made a reservation and wasn't coming in until later at night. I was pleased with the receptionist that covered the night shift because she was assured me that I will still get my room for the price I paid for. Getting to the motel it was very run down, but it was still acceptable. I had an issue with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Overland Park
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

My wife and I stayed at the property on a recent evening. The check in was fine, the front desk woman was cordial and the process was smooth and quick. The room was adequate for our needs. It was clean but worn. Not sure it justifies the almost $90 rate, especially in a town the size of Waverly. Our big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

Yes it was dated and needed some cosmetic repairs but the room was clean, the staff was amazing, the rates were low, and it has a pool. My only complaint is that the restaurant is no longer in the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This was my second time staying with this inn. In 2013 all was wonderful is past stay however now under new ownership had mixed experience. The girl at front desk could not of been more helpful great service. I had called to double check on my reservation to be certain all was in order. Turns out who ever took my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's not an important point, but we have not changed ownership or management in many years. However, I'm glad to hear you have had a pleasant experience here in the past. Regarding your recent stay, I will work with my maintenance staff to do inspections of the few rooms that are constructed with both inside... More 

White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The room was clean and very basic. The front desk staff was hard to understand as English is not his first language. The building is very outdated and past its prime. The beds were uncomfortable, using flat sheets (not fitted) that were not big enough to cover the the whole bed. Went to the bar - The Happy Hour Pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I fully realize our hotel has aged and would benefit from an update. We do our very best to maintain the hotel and keep the rooms clean, the service friendly ... and do so with the very best rates in town offering the most amenities. As far as the Happy Hour Pub goes... Unfortunately we don't own or manage the... More 

Holdrege, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The room was old with chips in the sink. It appeared to be reasonably clean. The person making the reservations worked for a reservation company and did not represent the motel honestly & talked me into this motel over the Super 8 that I was calling to make my reservation to stay at. The Super 8 motel should be upset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our property. As you said, the room was clean, and for the price you paid, I have no doubt you got the best value in town. We pride ourselves in providing the best rates with the most amenities... cleanliness and service. The breakfast is modest as it is designed to simply... More 

Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I have stayed at other America's Best Value Inns and they were fine. For that reason I booked here. Mistake. Has anyone from the corporate office stayed here lately? They should! I could go on and on, but I simply must say that their decision to rent out rooms long term, and allow cooking in those rooms, was a mistake.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I should start out by saying that we were recently inspected by America's Best Value Inn and passed with flying colors. When we have extended stay guests, we bow to their respect for privacy ... yet we must dispose of trash and replenish towels on a daily basis. If any trash is left outside guest rooms (again, which we cannot... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waverly
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Waverly
Comfort Inn Waverly
#1 of 5 in Waverly
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
14.5 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#8 of 13 in Cedar Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
16.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls-University Plaza
17.3 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#6 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay