We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Waterloo hotels

Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2056 La Porte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
57%
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Waterloo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014
FLYTOANYWHERE Austin, Minnesota
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
4
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel quite often for business and have stayed at every hotel brand under the sun. I know that typically the Candlewood Suites are a lower tier IHG property so my expectations we set appropriately. I choose this property because I wanted to earn points. Also, I chose to stay at this property because I have stayed at several others... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review

Dear PhillyDice, I'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't to your highest satisfaction. We do pride ourselves here at Candlewood Suites on our customer service offering, and thank you for the review of our property. I'd like to apologize about the cleanliness concerns, as well as the HVAC malfunction. I understand that it doesn't do you much good to... More

Austin, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A nice Valentine's night spent at a decent hotel suite. It had been a long time since my last visit to Waterloo. We went down with another couple and went to the casino and spent the night at the Candlewood. Very close to the casino and very close to a big nice shopping mall. The first room we got we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Meh.... it is quite expensive for what you get. The studio suite did not come with an oven, but rather a dishwasher... I'd rather have an oven than an automatic dishwasher... I was here on business and if you need reliable access to the internet when you are here for business, I would advise that you stay elsewhere... the internet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Candlewood S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review

We regret your stay with us was not to your entire satisfaction as you had internet connection problem. We have taken corrective actions to fix the issue. Each our suites is equipped with electric stove top we can not have ovens due to fire safety ,dishwashers, silverware, Tupperware, pots and pan, plates and glasses, coffee maker, iron and stand plus... More

Findlay, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. The location is great, walking distance to the mall with many restaurants in the immediate area. I felt safe at this hotel as a single female traveler. The rooms have a full kitchen. The hotel does not offer a free breakfast. I lost internet connection several times while working from my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review

Dear writenamehere, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked our hotel location and room amenities. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued... More

Salem, Oregon, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Candlewood. Since I was there 7 nights, I got a discounted rate which even made it better. I don't drive and the location was absolutely perfect. I could get to everyplace by walking - grocery store, book store, restaurants, and bus stops. It was clean and had every amenity you could want. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your review and your business you brought to us. We take seriously all the feedback our guest leave for us which greatly expands our ability to address any space for improvements. Next time you visit our property you will find a recycle bin at the property. More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Quick check-in and a comforatble and clean room.....what more can you ask for?? Nice crisp clean linens and a strong internet connection so we were pleased. Overall a very good quick one night stay which is more than we can say for some we've recently stopped at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe-FOM, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review

Dear TNGal08, Thanks very much for your review of our hotel! I am glad to hear your stay with us was satisfactory, and wanted to thank you for your feedback. Convenience, cleanliness, and comfort, are among our top priority here at the Candlewood Suites Waterloo, IA. We take great pride in guest satisfaction, so thanks again, and we'll see you... More

West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights for a tennis tournament. The location was great. It's right off the interstate and close to the mall/shopping/restaurants. Parking wasn't a problem for us and we were able to check in early. The front staff was very friendly and helpful. I called for extra pillows and received them without a problem. Bed was your typical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review

We are extended stay property and we do not have breakfast served in the morning, but we have plenty healthy breakfast items available for your purchase. If you prefer served breakfast I highly recommend our sister property IHG Holiday Inn Express. More

Blairsville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent (2) months here for business. Clean comfortable rooms, that are well maintained. The location places you next to the mall (an older one, but still handy) and near grocery stores, restaurants and Walmart/Target. As a business traveler, whose stays are generally a month or longer, I found the monthly rate ($75/night) rather high in comparison to other locales, especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perry, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had stayed one night for a wedding we were attending. We were able to check in an hour early, welcomed and informed of all the details. After the wedding, we wanted popcorn and only had one bag in our microwave. I asked the lady at the desk for another bag and she gave us two and offered us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Poor Service I travel a lot for my job. I’ve come to really enjoy IHG hotels, so when booking my first of many upcoming trips to Waterloo Iowa, I booked the Candlewood Suites. Today, the day I’m set to drive 5 hours and check in I get a call telling me they over booked the hotel and they have no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, responded to this review

Dear Karl J, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of... More

Been to Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls

Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls Hotel Waterloo
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls Hotel
Address: 2056 La Porte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Waterloo - Cedar Falls. Our hotel is located within walking distance of area attractions and is just seven miles from the Waterloo Regional Airport (ALO). If you're without a car during your stay in Waterloo, you can enjoy the convenience of having several attractions within walking distance of our Waterloo hotel, including the Crossroads Mall, the Isle of Capri Casino and the Lost Island Water & Theme Park. Other attractions less than 10 miles from our Waterloo, Iowa hotel include the Grout Museum District, the National Cattle Congress, the Phelps Youth Pavilion and the stadiums for the Waterloo Blackhawks and the Waterloo Bucks. In addition to our close proximity to area attractions, business guests also appreciate our hotel's proximity to local businesses. Businesses within a few miles of our accommodations include John Deere, Tyson, Allen Hospital and Sartori Hospital. With a variety of comfortable rooms and amenities, you'll feel like you never left home during your extended stay in Waterloo, Iowa. Our hotel offers amenities to help you keep up your daily routine, including a 24-hour business center, fitness center and an indoor pool. Other amenities include free guest laundry facilities, a convenience store and free, high-speed Internet access. You can get comfortable, when you stay at our extended stay hotel in Waterloo, IA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.