We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Waterloo

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2127 La Porte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
14
2
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here while in town for a cancer benefit. Very nice hotel. Conveniently right off the freeway and close to plenty of restaurants. Check in was quick and easy. Room was well furnished and bed was comfortable. There is a small hot tub with room for about 5 people. Screaming kids were extra loud because the whole pool area is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in late at night very tired after traveling many hours. Was not given enough towels for number of guests. This was the noisiest room I have ever stayed in. Air conditioning units were SO loud. Very hard to get a good night's sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Fam-reviews, My name is Troy Gaviola and I am the General Manager at the Holiday Inn Express in Waterloo Iowa. Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. I hope your time in Waterloo was both productive and enjoyable. I am sorry you did not receive a restful experience at our hotel. Everything we do is designed to... More 

Le Sueur, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

when we first arrived (President's weekend/valentine's day) it felt and appeared via facial expressions and voice tones that there was tension between some staff members at the front desk; one immediately welcomed us thanking us for being reward members while the other seemed to be checking over our reservation for what we had requested two queens and a rollaway which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear missgg219, My name is Troy Gaviola and I am the General Manager at the Holiday Inn Express Waterloo Iowa. Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. Our goal is to create a 5 Star experience. Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests an outstanding guest experience while at our hotel.... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I stayed four nights at this hotel while on business in Waterloo and had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was very helpful . . . Troy and his staff helped me out tremendously, as I had to switch hotels due to weather and flight changes to Cedar Rapids. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean, and the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
555 reviews 555 reviews
69 hotel reviews
977 helpful votes 977 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The Holiday Inn Express in Waterloo is a nice hotel with friendly staff and decent accomodations. Check in was smooth and the two ladies at the desk were very nice. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfy (firm). The pillows are way soft but I brought my own on this trip. Plenty of hot water in the shower.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear AlexanderDelarge, Thank you for writing a review about our property. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests. It makes us happy to read we have met your expectations that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, that our location, amenities and facilities were suitable to your needs. We hope that other travelers will find your... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

Upon check in I was notified of an upgrade which was a nice suprise. This location has a snack hour with free drinks and snacks etc.. Continental breakfast starts at 5 am but reg breakfast starts at 630 which is more my style. The staff was great with help in all my needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

we werre in business in the Waterloo area and we had very bad internet services, we had to go over Panera and do reports there. We were not able to conduct business as their WIFI signal was fair to poor, .

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear german c, Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with internet service. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard... More 

Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Clean, quiet motel. Across from a mall, near a casino and water park. Monday thru Wednesday they have a snack time for their guests. Chips, salsa, Nacho cheese, and all the beer, wine or sodas you can drink (if there aren't too many guests). The breakfast is typical holiday inn, but the room is large and can accommodate quite a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackson, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Waterloo Iowa twice now and have had a great experience both times, the rooms are well maintained, very clean and well appointed. The rooms are well insulated to reduce overflow noise from the rooms next door which is great. All your soaps and shampoos etc are provided and replaced each day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Glad we were able to make a difference during both your stays at our hotel. Best General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I never even saw this hotel. I did, however, have a reservation, which I cancelled a week before my reservation date. Two weeks later, I got charged a night's stay at the hotel. An hour into trying to resolve this (nonanswered phones, brokens links in emailed messages, a national reservation center who will take your information but cannot issue the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please fax us your statement showing the charges at 319-274-7009 or you may call the hotel at 319-274-7000 and leave us the details for us to review and respond accordingly. The inconvenience is regretted. Best General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question