We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Waterloo hotels

Holiday Inn Express Waterloo

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2127 La Porte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Waterloo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
12
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really a nice, very clean place to stay. Was greeted well, nice variety of hot foods. reservations were a snap and complimentary extras are great. Cosy upgraded room. Looking forward to yet another great night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments- much appreciated General Manager More

Ellsworth, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed February 3rd for the night. Check in was ok but was told they were having computer issues but I was using my points for this stay so didn't really care. Room was clean since is a newer hotel and after driving in ice and snow all day were happy that there was a pizza place that delivered next to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gschaudhri, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations.Necessary action has been taken to resolve such occurrence again Thank you Guest Relations - Holiday Inn Express More

Tagalong48
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Upon our check-in, we were informed that they did not have a reservation in my name. The front desk clerk was very rude about this and was ready to turn me away until I was able to provide my confirmation number. At that time, she told me I called earlier that morning and changed my reservation to another date, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest: This has reference to your recent comments regarding the check in process that has been brought to my attention, for action and response. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests have a most comfortable stay at our hotel and I regret that your stay with us was not as enjoyable, as we would have wished... More

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at this hotel. The front desk clerk was incredibly kind and helpful. The POOL was very warm, like a bath! It was perfect! The hot tub was also very hot. I highly recommend this pool for a family getaway or stop on a trip. The pool room is fairly small, I wouldn't recommend trying to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest The associates are thrilled that you had an Excellent stay with us. Thank you Gurmit - GM More

Clinton, Iowa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I booked this hotel based on reviews on here and hotels.com and the hotel and staff exceeded all my expections. We were a little wary since there was a busload of younger hockey players there when we checked in, but the group was great and the hotel staff was adequately prepared to take care of their needs, including having enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for comments and glad we made a difference during you stay. Best Gurmit More

Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
87 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed three nights at this location. Primary reason for closing the hotel is that they accepted Government per diem rate, even on the weekends. An issue in this area it seems after I researched for my stay. It is near plenty of eateries and the Crossroads Mall. This used to be my primary chain (IHG) before Marriott / Hilton, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our apology for the inconvenience and we have taken necessary action to prevent reoccurrence of such an incident. Happy Holidays Best Gurmit More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservations online for this stay. The evening desk clerk was very friendly and made sure every one in our party got the priority club snack bags. Some relatives that live in town met us and the staff was very accommodating as we visited and played games in the lobby. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Unfortunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear C4M2, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. While we... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the positive reviews but had a very different experience. I had points to use and only needed to stay for one night. Check in was easy and quick and parking is easily available with a well lit parking lot. The hotel looks very nice at first glance but once in the room, I noticed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Hi Michelle Appreciate you taking the time to take my call, I regret that your stay with us was not as enjoyable, as we would have wished it to be. Your feedback has been most valuable to us and we are grateful for your bringing these matters to our attention. The concerned personnel have been updated on the your suggestions... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here one Saturday night in September when in town for a UNI football game. Arrived at check in at 2pm and despite hotel being full Shelley at the front desk was able to get us a room. As a priority club member were given 2 free bottles of water, and bags of pretzels at check in. Stayed in room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us Best Gurmit - GM More

Moultrie, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic hotel. All of the amenities you expect from a $100 per night spot. The only complaint I have (uncontrollable for them) was that there is a really crappy Motel 6 next door and every night there were people outside being loud and little beater cars with broke down mufflers driving in and out. If you require... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gschaudhri, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, my associates are delighted to hear all you had to say . Best Gurmit - GM More

Been to Holiday Inn Express Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Waterloo

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Address: 2127 La Porte Road, Waterloo, IA 50702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Waterloo
#4 Business Hotel in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Waterloo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waterloo-Cedar Falls, Iowa provides comfortable, completely non-smoking accommodations near Waterloo Regional Airport (ALO). Located in the heart of Iowa, Waterloo offers attractions for both the business and leisure traveler. Our hotel is close to several corporate offices. The John Deere research facility, Tyson Foods, Omega Cabinets and Berch Cabinets are within easy driving distance. You will be able to get to your meeting or convention on time as we are near the Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center and the National Cattle Congress. The University of Northern Iowa and Allen Hospital are also close. Waterloo offers a variety of attractions for the entire family. Crossroads Mall offers premium shopping located just across from the hotel. The Lost Island Water & Park is only minutes away. We are just two miles from the Isle of Capri Casino. Other nearby attractions include the Grout Museum of History & Science and George Wythe Park. A complimentary hot breakfast is provided each morning while free high-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel. We also have a fitness center, meeting space and a continuous current, indoor pool. Stay Smart, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Waterloo-Cedar Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.