We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Urbandale hotels

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014
Papazed Columbus, Ohio
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    7
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
6
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Palmyra
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was not impressed with this hotel. Our room had a foul odor for the moment we opened the door that even a candle couldn't hide. Very dated interior, poor lighting in the bathroom. The grab and go breakfast was a few pieces of fruit and granola bars. I'd rather go to a gas station. For $70 a night, I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buellton, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Now this chain of hotel properties is of course for those in a city for a while. I think it caters mostly to workers more so than the suit and tie crowd. We check in at the rather crappy front desk and get on the elevator. Good grief it has more cig. smoke than anywhere else. Of course they only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. The situation you described regarding the odor in you room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I discussed your comments with the team, and we will be working to better deodorize our smoking rooms moving forward. As well, I do apologize that your in-room... More

California Desert, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I had made a reservation via Priceline for a studio. When I checked in at 5pm I was offered a non smoking room. The receptionist MEGHAN was not at all professional and rude in talking. We realized that the toilet was a jammed toilet at 7 pm local time and immediately reported this to Meghan. She didn't seem I retested... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your toilet and the overall cleanliness of your hotel. As well, I apologize that our staff did not attend to your needs in a professional manner. I will be reviewing your comments with our staff... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We booked a non-smoker room through Hotels.com at this hotel. We got there around 1AM and to our surprise got a smoker room. We were so tired of our long road trip that we decided to stay and tolerate: The room was so stinky that we could only sleep a couple of hours. The receptionist's answer to our complaint: "It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The situation you described regarding you being given a smoking room despite your reservation is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. To uphold our company's high standards, I will be working with my staff to review our reservation procedures. As well, I am sorry to read that our... More

Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The girl at the front desk with long blonde hair was friendly and helpful but that is as far as it goes for the pros for this hotel and we are glad we only had to stay one night, Where to begin on the cons,,,,1. The elevator smelled like cigarette smoke and was dirty. 2. We usually stay in hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that towels were rough and bed was uncomfortable. We do not keep all dishes in the room for sanitary reasons; we want to be sure each dish... More

Phenix City, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The room was clean upon arrival, but during the two week stay my coworker and I had to beg for clean sheets and towels. We only received towels and sheets twice in 12 nights from the front desk. We had to steal them from unattended maid carts. Our room was not cleaned once during our stay. Our company had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the lack of housekeeping services during your stay. We can assure you that we have reviewed our housekeeping schedules with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are grateful for the feedback you provided so we are... More

Kirkland, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We just returned from staying at the Extended Stay America in Des Moines/Urbandale, IA. This was one of the worst hotel stays I have had in a while. The woman at the counter took her own time waiting on us. There was a guest in line ahead of us who asked for change and she gave him an attitude first.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Shelly - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation you described is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, we are working on retraining our staff on the importance of guest relations and cleanliness. We really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed one night at this ESA while on a road trip on I-80. Very convenient to the road; but ask for a room facing away from the highway if you want more quiet. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. I got a good AAA rate that made it worthwhile to stay here.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with cleanliness of our hotel and that you found your bed to be so comfortable. The staff and I are pleased to read that our hotel met your needs for an overnight stay. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We... More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Sometimes the quality of paid internet service is very bad: the speed is slow and the connection breaks every few minutes. For example, while I was writing this short review I lost connections twice for a few minutes. It makes it really difficult to use this hotel internet for work or streaming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that our wireless internet connection was not working properly during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working with our wireless internet provider to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for bringing... More

Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Clean room with a full kitchen, Free Wi-Fi available, and all in a room that didn't feel cramped. We skipped the breakfast so I can't comment on that except that it was available. Staff was friendly. I arrived 15 minutes early for check in and was looking for a public restroom in the lobby after my long drive. They didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Carrie - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and our friendly staff. We are also glad you appreciated our free Wi-Fi and fully equipped kitchens. We would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Address: 3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Urbandale
Urbandale Extended Stay

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay