We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Jean B
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    9
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
6
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed here several times. It's nothing fancy and could maybe use a little updating but I love the location, large rooms and kitchen area. The staff is always very friendly. I did hear a lot of traffic noise from the interstate this time. But that's my only issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chisago City, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I booked a stay for 2 nights as i was in a racquetball tourney in the area. I pulled up to the hotel and was treated to fire alarms going off....a fire truck just pulling up and a guy at the front desk who asked me"What do you want?" I told him kindly.....my room??? I was assured there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that your check-in experience was unacceptable. Please accept my apology. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken to all of our front desk associates to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for sharing... More 

Mesa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

They have it together with there new manager. What ever you need they have it. The full size frig and stove top is great. I stayed two months and always felt safe. I am a woman staying by myself, so that is important. The price is right for short or long term stays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen and that you felt safe staying at our hotel. We are glad to know you found us to be a great... More 

Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I did not have the same experience as the other people. This is a very basic and older motel but I gave it five stars because it was good value - $58 a night for a queen non-smoking room on the ground floor and very affordable for a Senior citizen with limited funds. There was no odor in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I truly appreciate your comments regarding your room and the amenities at our hotel. It is great to read that we met your needs and that our staff was helpful and informative. Thank you again for your review. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to... More 

Palmyra
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

Was not impressed with this hotel. Our room had a foul odor for the moment we opened the door that even a candle couldn't hide. Very dated interior, poor lighting in the bathroom. The grab and go breakfast was a few pieces of fruit and granola bars. I'd rather go to a gas station. For $70 a night, I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not pleased with the odor, cleanliness and overall condition of our hotel. As well, I am sorry to hear that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your needs. Your comments will be very helpful as we continue to improve our hotel and... More 

Buellton, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Now this chain of hotel properties is of course for those in a city for a while. I think it caters mostly to workers more so than the suit and tie crowd. We check in at the rather crappy front desk and get on the elevator. Good grief it has more cig. smoke than anywhere else. Of course they only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. The situation you described regarding the odor in you room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I discussed your comments with the team, and we will be working to better deodorize our smoking rooms moving forward. As well, I do apologize that your in-room... More 

California Desert, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I had made a reservation via Priceline for a studio. When I checked in at 5pm I was offered a non smoking room. The receptionist MEGHAN was not at all professional and rude in talking. We realized that the toilet was a jammed toilet at 7 pm local time and immediately reported this to Meghan. She didn't seem I retested... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your toilet and the overall cleanliness of your hotel. As well, I apologize that our staff did not attend to your needs in a professional manner. I will be reviewing your comments with our staff... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We booked a non-smoker room through Hotels.com at this hotel. We got there around 1AM and to our surprise got a smoker room. We were so tired of our long road trip that we decided to stay and tolerate: The room was so stinky that we could only sleep a couple of hours. The receptionist's answer to our complaint: "It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The situation you described regarding you being given a smoking room despite your reservation is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. To uphold our company's high standards, I will be working with my staff to review our reservation procedures. As well, I am sorry to read that our... More 

Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The girl at the front desk with long blonde hair was friendly and helpful but that is as far as it goes for the pros for this hotel and we are glad we only had to stay one night, Where to begin on the cons,,,,1. The elevator smelled like cigarette smoke and was dirty. 2. We usually stay in hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that towels were rough and bed was uncomfortable. We do not keep all dishes in the room for sanitary reasons; we want to be sure each dish... More 

Phenix City, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The room was clean upon arrival, but during the two week stay my coworker and I had to beg for clean sheets and towels. We only received towels and sheets twice in 12 nights from the front desk. We had to steal them from unattended maid carts. Our room was not cleaned once during our stay. Our company had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the lack of housekeeping services during your stay. We can assure you that we have reviewed our housekeeping schedules with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are grateful for the feedback you provided so we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question