We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Urbandale hotels

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
60%
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Urbandale
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Papazed Columbus, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (12)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
4
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed one night at this ESA while on a road trip on I-80. Very convenient to the road; but ask for a room facing away from the highway if you want more quiet. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. I got a good AAA rate that made it worthwhile to stay here.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sometimes the quality of paid internet service is very bad: the speed is slow and the connection breaks every few minutes. For example, while I was writing this short review I lost connections twice for a few minutes. It makes it really difficult to use this hotel internet for work or streaming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that our wireless internet connection was not working properly during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working with our wireless internet provider to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for bringing... More

Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Clean room with a full kitchen, Free Wi-Fi available, and all in a room that didn't feel cramped. We skipped the breakfast so I can't comment on that except that it was available. Staff was friendly. I arrived 15 minutes early for check in and was looking for a public restroom in the lobby after my long drive. They didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Carrie - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and our friendly staff. We are also glad you appreciated our free Wi-Fi and fully equipped kitchens. We would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look... More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Staff is super friendly, especially Kari; rooms are very clean and spacious. It's very quiet here unlike other hotels. The beds are so comfortable and the internet is fast too. I stayed in a Value Place for a little while and it was HORRIBLE, so I'm thankful I changed to Extended Stay. MUCH better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfortable, and spacious. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look forward... More

Canon City, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was awful. Headaches, nausea, rancid smoke smell, bad, bad, bad. I would not stay here again as you get a hotel room to get a good night's rest, not to lay awake hating every minute of your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Dean - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are very disappointed to hear that we were not able to accommodate your non-smoking room request. Please accept our apologies. We will be working with our staff to make sure we are accommodating our guests to the best of our abilities. Thank... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I called to request a non-smoking room because I am allergic and the desk clerk was very rude and told me she could not do anything more than notate my "preference" because I booked through a 3rd party site. Who I booked the room through shouldn't matter. I AM ALLERGIC, which means if I can't get a non-smoking room when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that our staff did not provide you with quality service. We will review your feedback with our staff to make sure we are always accommodating our guests to the best of our abilities. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for... More

Julian, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Things got off to a bad start when the desk clerk could not check us in properly due to a computer issue, and we had to leave my credit card at the front desk, which made me very uncomfortable. When we got to our room, it was far less than clean. Sticky counters, stains, a ton of dog hair on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that it was difficult to check-in to our hotel and that your room was unclean upon arrival. To uphold our company's high standards, I am working with our staff to better our check-in process and improve our cleaning services moving forward. The... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Somewhat outdated for supposed to be new! TV channels are 32 analog channels of what I would say is basic cable. Served its purpose but the West DesMoines property is by far a better value. Toliet clogged up however luckily I was checking out. Was noisier than I expected. The room below me (I was on the third floor) left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. I sincerely apologize for your experience including the maintenance issues in your room. I will meet with the staff to review our maintenance policies to ensure your experience is... More

Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My non-smoking king suite had an ash tray in it, smelled like smoke and had several cigarette burns in the carpet. Doesn't have a drive- up covered area to unload/load luggage. Tiny lobby area and no lounge area to hang out with large groups of friends. Continental breakfast very limited items to chose from. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry that your room smelled of smoke. Your comments were reviewed by our staff, and we are taking steps to ensure your experience is not repeated. I apologize that we do not have a covered drive-up or lounge at our hotel. Lastly,... More

Alliance, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had no major issues, but we did have to ask for a hairdryer and shampoo, they had no conditioner. Grab and Go breakfast leaves a bit to be desired. There are no frills but all the staff were courteous and friendly and we would stay there again. It was reasonably priced and our room was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Ginger - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy that we were able to provide you with a clean room at a great rate. As well, I am glad that you found our staff to be courteous and friendly during your stay with us. Still, I apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast and in-room amenities... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Address: 3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Urbandale
Urbandale Extended Stay

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Urbandale with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer