We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

3.0 of 5 8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    67
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
41
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent staff, great food, terrific exercise room--I always stay here! AND the most comfortable beds ever. Breakfast is not included in the room price, but it reasonable and delicious with omelets made to order. A+++++++++++++

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback & recommendation for others to be our guest as well. We hope your trip was a success & we will look forward to serving you again soon. Enjoy your weekend! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Omaha, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Additional charges to one of 6 rooms was an unwelcome surprise and I will not stay at this hotel again because of it. As if paying 109 per room, and having 6 total isn't enough the 25 dollar charge for a room that was left in the same condition as the other 5 will keep me from going back.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for reviewing your stay here. I hope that we have been able to resolve your issue to your satisfaction. If not, please feel free to contact me. We value every guest & their experience with us. Have a great weekend! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Clear Lake
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been thoroughly impressed by this hotel and a variety of their staff members. The people they have working at the front desk have been awesome. They seem to take care of every detail and apply some logic and common sense that seems to be lacking for many other hotel front desks.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are so glad you had a great stay here. Your kind words & positive feedback are priceless for us & we truly value your voice! We look forward to serving you again soon. Have a wonderful day! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Dubuque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is fantastic!! Staff are so helpful and the rooms are comfortable and refreshing!!! The breakfast buffet is spectacular. The pool was a little cold for my liking--but the entire rest of my staff was excellent!!!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your reviews of your stay with us! Your feedback is vital to our mission to make sure every guest has a great stay every time. I appreciate your kind words & look forward to serving you again soon. Have a great week! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Bennington, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleased with both a beautiful hotel and great staff. All of which were top notch for a hotel of this type. This is the most attractive Hilton Garden I have stayed at. Food is pricey and not included with rooms, but menu is faurly diverse with good quality.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We are so thankful for guests like you to take the time to share your experience here with others. Your feedback is so valuable to us. We will look forward to serving you again soon & hope you enjoy a wonderful day & safe travels. Thank you, Jennifer More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The beds in these hotels are the best ever! When you check in you get bottles of water, there are such friendly staff, always willing to help no matter what you need. The rooms are clean and well maintained. They have a small bar and offer food and drinks. Very close to the highway, and there are places to eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay & hope your trip to the area was a success for you. We are so grateful for guests like you & your recommendation of our hotel to others! Priceless! We will look forward to serving you in the future. Have... More 

Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every time I stay at a HGI, the front desk staff is very professional and polite. They always seem to be more excited to help me than staff members at other hotels. I also really appreciate the free water bottles and little oatmeal snack bars they make at HGI hotels. I ate at the cafe here and had salmon. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your kind review of your hotel stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests. Your sentiments speak volumes to our potential guests. I am glad you had a great stay here. We hope to serve you again soon. Have a great week! Thank you, Jennifer More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The lady that was working at the front desk last night was very rude.. She'd call up to our room when we were trying to eat dinner. The rooms we're clean but the beds were very uncomfortable. Also the pool closing at 10 was kinda lame too. Although the location was great. I personally was very disappointed with how rude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I hope your trip to the area was a success for you. I am very sorry for the guest experience you had with my staff. Please contact me directly at the hotel so that I may make this right for you. I will look forward to hearing... More 

Algona, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I chose the Hilton Garden Inn because the beds at Hiltons are always so comfortable. (We even buy our bedding from hiltontohome.com). The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly, but for some reason the bed was not comfortable. If you like a firmer mattress it may be fine, but my back is very sore today. Overall a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review! I am so sorry you did not enjoy a great night of sleep. Please contact me directly at our hotel so that I may make this right for you. Our king beds are the GSS (garden sleep system) beds by Hilton that are adjustable & I apologize we did not inform you of this... More 

Cedar rapids
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We enjoyed the pool. There were plenty of SOFT towels to dry off with so no need to bring room towels or try to find someone to give you more. The rooms were clean. This includes the bathroom that had 3! SOFT bath towels, hand towels, and wash clothes. They didn't smell like sanitizer or bleach! BE SURE to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review! All of your kind feedback is greatly appreciated & will be shared. We are glad you enjoyed your time here & hope your trip was a success for you as well. It was our pleasure to serve you & will look forward to having you back again one day! Have a great holiday season!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Address: 8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Hilton Garden Inn Urbandale
Hilton Urbandale

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay