We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    158
    78
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
72
48
13
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (280)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for three nights in September and everything was very okay. The first night they put me into a smoking suite and my wife had to request a room change to get away from the horrible smell. Basically you get what you pay for. We upgraded to the suite, and it was pretty darn small, but it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel for business trips. It is my preferred place to stay in Johnston. Very clean and staff is great. The Texas Roadhouse is next which is an easy place for dinner on your own. The gym is up to date with basic equipment. Overall, an easy stop while travelling.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your wonderful review! Your feedback is so valuable to us & for others considering our hotel; thank you for recommending! We are glad you had a great trip & we look forward to serving you again soon. Have a great week! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel 3-4 times since Des Moines is a great overnight stop on our trips west. However, one of the problems with this hotel is that it has a conference/event center attached to it which seems to have a wedding going on every time we stay. Which means you might end up with loud intoxicated people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review! We appreciate your continued returns to our property. My apologies for the noise that you have encountered. Please always feel free to let our front desk know and we will address for you, we can also make sure you are the furthest from the banquet area with your room as well. I am happy... More 

Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at this hotel for maybe 10 hours (got in late, early departure), so don't have a lot to say other than this particular Garden Inn felt a little "older" than others I have stayed at recently . . . maybe we've been lucky and just ended up in ones that have been more recently renovated, but I usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking your time to review your stay here. I hope you enjoyed safe travels. I appreciate your feedback on the hotel & will address the areas you mentioned. We are getting ready for the process of updating our hotel & hope that in the future you will enjoy. Have a great day! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. It was a little cheaper than the other Hilton closer to town. The bed was great and staff was courteous. Hotel was clean and quiet. Close to some restaurants and right off the highway. Breakfast was OK but was about $10.00

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed a restful night with us. We hope your trip to the area was a success! Please consider us for your future travels! Have a great day! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Omaha
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night to attend a wedding at the hotel. Very friendly staff from front desk to breakfast crew, Used online check-in and had our room keys within 30 seconds of arriving at the desk. Room was clean, everything worked properly. Had breakfast the next morning, An excellent buffet with made-to-order options for $8.95 per person. There is also a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you had a great stay here & enjoyed your wedding celebration! Your recommendation of our hotel is very much appreciated. Thank you for sharing. Have a great day! Thank you, Jennifer More 

St. Charles, IL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent experience other than Keurig not cooperating the morning of check-out. Personalities at check-in were exceptional which convinced me to dine-in rather than going out. After the negative experience the evening before, I will become loyal to your brand first.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! It is always wonderful to read reviews as yours! We are so glad you had a great stay here & enjoyed your trip to the area. We will look forward to serving you again soon. If we may ever be of any assistance to you on a future stay here, please feel free to contact me. Have a wonderful... More 

Jamestown, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The price was very high and no discount for seniors or military. We received a continental breakfast at every hotel we have stayed in over the last 20 years. We were surprised that the breakfast would be $9.00 each.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review! I contacted you thru our Hilton review as well. I apologize we didn't better communicate the rates to you & that in addition to the AAA discount rate you used we do offer military & Senior rates, but can only offer one discount per reservation. As a brand Hilton Garden Inn hotels do not... More 

Wilmington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice stay, I am a frequent visitor to the Des Moines area and I consider the Hilton Garden Inn a "home-away-from-home". I am particular about the quality of my hotel experience and the HGI always delivers a consistently good experience. This place is convenient to restaurants, downtown, and the airport.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hilton Garden Inn. I am happy to hear you had a great stay & hope your trip was a success to. We will look forward to serving you again. Safe travels! Thank you, Jennifer More 

Blue Springs, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotels needs an upgrade. Hampton Inn & Suites that are nicer than this hotel. Shop around-before reserving. No continental breakfast. $9.00 for breakfast way too high. Rooms are outdated, beds need help.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenTroll, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review! I hope your trip to the area was wonderful. I appreciate your feedback. We are currently in the approval process of upgrading our hotel & hope that you will visit our location again, we hope to have changes in place over the next year. If there is anything I may do for you in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay