We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2203 Circle Dr West, Hwy 71 & 9, Spirit Lake, IA 51360
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Spirit Lake
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Z9198KXtomc Dunnellon, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    22
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
16
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Dunnellon, Florida
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is wonderful even thought it is not lavish. It is more like a family and homey atmosphere.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review. That is exactly what we are going for here. We want our customer service to stand out. We want to be known as the most friendly hotel in the area, not to mention one of the cleanest also. Thank you very much for your comments, and we look forward to having you come... More 

Austin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This location was centrally located for what I needed to accomplish and was a typical Super 8 property with the usual continental breakfast with waffles. The room was good but the internet was very poor (at least in my area of the hotel). The area of Iowa where I stayed is very touristy this time of year and I felt... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you found us centrally located with easy access to all of the Okoboji area. I am sorry to hear about our internet. We have an upgraded system that was put in last year and we haven't had any problems with it since we had it installed. I am sorry you... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visit the Iowa Great Lakes frequently and usually stay right on West Okoboji. This trip was a very quick one, however--we'd planned just a day trip but decided it would be nice to have a place to shower and change clothes, and so we decided to just stay the night. We wanted to bring our dog... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. These are the comments we strive for. We want to meet and where possible exceed expectations, both with our accommodations and service. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we can't wait to have to come back to the Okoboji area. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not the friendliest desk staff, but, not rude either. Looks like a newer super 8, paint looks good. super soft beds. No amenities, besides breakfast, but, only two miles from several of the Iowa Great lakes. I'm on business, so, being away from all the hub hub, was nice. BBQ down the street, and wal mart across the street. Rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry you find us the most friendly staff you've ever met. When going through the hiring process, it is a goal of ours to get a staff with smiles on their faces and friendly talkative personality. Thank you for your great comments about the condition and cleanliness of our hotel. We... More 

Grafton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Stayed in a non-smoking room, however, the place was so permeated by the stench of smoke that the non-smoking designation made little difference. If you are sensitive to smoke, stay away. Also recommend other accommodations if you want a breakfast that has fresh options like fresh fruit or slight variation in the daily choices. Breakfast consists of cereal, yogurt, fruit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear you didn't have an outstanding experience with us. We do have 10 smoking rooms on the hotel. We do our best to make sure the halls and non-smoking rooms are as smoke free as possible. We have two air purifiers running at all time up in that section,... More 

El Paso
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Motel was nicely presented, clean, quite and rooms in good shape. Big disappointment was there was no milk available for breakfast and night clerk had not interest in helping how to resolve. Excuse was everyone before my group of 12 used it all. Breakfast started at 0600 and we were there at 0630 on a Friday morning. Had to go... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear you had a good stay with us. But, I am sorry to hear that our breakfast room was not attended properly for your needs. We do pride ourselves on being very customer oriented, and we will do a better job the next time you are in town with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spirit Lake
0.3 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 4 in Spirit Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#4 of 5 in Okoboji
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites near Okoboji Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Estherville
Sleep Inn Estherville
#2 of 3 in Estherville
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay