We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Spencer

Certificate of Excellence
1005 13th Street SW, Spencer, IA 51301
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
AmericInn Spencer
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

I've been to this property before, years ago, and there's a brand new hotel from a different chain just across the street now. Still, I decided to go back, and I'm glad I did. We had the best front-desk staffer, originally from Tennessee, I think -- Kelly. She was all that "southern hospitality" is rumored to be; absolutely outstanding at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill W
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Bill, Thank you so much for taking your time to review our property. I am so glad that you made the right decision and stayed with us. We work hard everyday to deliver the best customer service that we can. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Kelly, I am sure it will make her day. We... More 

Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

great sleeping conditions,however,tv service is unique and without instructions,whoever laid out the bathroom and vanity area didn't realize you could injure someone by opening the door when someone was at the mirror and finally we found a bottle cap from a previous resident on the floor.

Helpful?
Thank cmoen1
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you felt you had great sleeping conditions. Many of our guests love our quiet rooms and comfy beds. I am not sure why you felt our t.v. was unique or needed special instruction but feel free to reach out to me anytime to discuss. I would also like to apologize for you finding... More 

Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We were a last minute call in for a room due to a death in the family, and it was at the time of the Clay County fair, which made it difficult to find a room. Jeff work with me and was able to help me get a decent price and the room was very nice. The bed was a... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank cynthiao387
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope your family is doing well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Hope to see you again sometime under different circumstances. Sincerely, Jeff Gross More 

Marion
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

Enjoyed our staff at the AmericInn, just wish the whirlpool would have been in working condition, would have been nice after the long drive. Everything else was very satisfactory and will stay at other AmericInn's when we travel

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank roxannemrsb
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Roxanne, I am very sorry you had an issue with your whirlpool. Please let us know if you ever have any issues while you are here so that we can fix the problem right away. Had you called down we would have told you to flip the switch on the wall as the sign instructs you to do and you... More 

Springfield
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Room was dated, and cleanliness was a problem in the room. Smelled of smoke. Dusty. Pubic hair on the toilet and on the tub. The "young" staff was nice enough, but no one asked how our stay was, if they had I would have told them. They probably would have apologized and I wouldn't be writing this review in such... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank hodge2015
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I cannot say enough how sorry I am . I wished you would have brought these issues to our attention sooner so that we could have addressed it right away and ensured that your room was cleaned correctly. This is not acceptable and I can assure you there will be actions take to prevent this in the future. I hope... More 

Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

I had mistakenly not paid for a room I thought that I had paid for. I was very upset as I had just traveled in a car for 4 hours with a crabby 3-year-old and it was late at night. I did not have money in my account to pay for the room, and the night staff member very apologetically... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Amanda, It was our pleasure to make sure you were taken care of. We understand how hectic life can be and how easily mistakes can happen. We hope you will come back again if you are ever in the area. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. This is a valuable tool for many people who... More 

Chaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for three days in July 2015 when all of Spencer, IA was booked and everything was fine during our stay! Comfortable, clean rooms. The hotel is quiet, you don't hear commotion from other rooms or floors. Nice pool and hottub. Friendly and helpful service from the staff. And a hot breakfast every day. Reasonably priced... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank patrickdP9306UR
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Patrick, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is guests like you that keep us motivated to come to work each day and constantly try to improve. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jeff Gross General Manager More 

Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

in NW Iowa for family reunion, Americinn was the perfect choice for us, close to everywhere we needed, pool was great for the kids, everyone staying very friendly will be making this an annual stay-thanks to the staff

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank donettas2015
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I love when guests that stay with us can relax in a world that is otherwise so busy. We look forward to your return next year. Please feel free to reach out to us and book your dates for next year. This will help to ensure you get the dates that... More 

Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

This place is more run down than it should be for its age. Bathroom floor looked dirty, toilet seat looked dirty, carpet looked dirty. They weren't but all kinds of stains, at least in the room we had. Air conditioning seemed to be either on and freezing or off and the room quickly got muggy in an Iowa summer. Top... More 

Helpful?
Thank Insanefrog
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Dear Insanefrog, I am reaching out to you in hopes that you will contact me and let me know what room you stayed in so that we can address the issues that you had. I checked both boilers as soon as you posted your comment and they are both working fine. We did not and have not had any complaints... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Having planned a 1-year observance of the death of a family member, we reserved 2 rooms at this property over a weekend about a month ago. The rooms provided to us were of the double queen variety, a little cramped for the beds, but overall fairly comfortable and clean. The pool was rather cool and therefore was not used, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heartlandchaz
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Just wanted to let you know we now serve sausage patties and fresh scrambled eggs everyday. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hotel Spencer
Days Inn Hotel Spencer
#3 of 8 in Spencer
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spencer
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 8 in Spencer
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn & Suites Spencer
Inn & Suites Spencer
#4 of 8 in Spencer
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
20.7 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 5 in Spirit Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay