We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Spencer

Certificate of Excellence
1005 13th Street SW, Spencer, IA 51301
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
AmericInn Spencer
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Spencer
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Amanda J Minnesota
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    17
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
35
10
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Minnesota
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had mistakenly not paid for a room I thought that I had paid for. I was very upset as I had just traveled in a car for 4 hours with a crabby 3-year-old and it was late at night. I did not have money in my account to pay for the room, and the night staff member very apologetically... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Amanda, It was our pleasure to make sure you were taken care of. We understand how hectic life can be and how easily mistakes can happen. We hope you will come back again if you are ever in the area. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. This is a valuable tool for many people who... More 

Chaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for three days in July 2015 when all of Spencer, IA was booked and everything was fine during our stay! Comfortable, clean rooms. The hotel is quiet, you don't hear commotion from other rooms or floors. Nice pool and hottub. Friendly and helpful service from the staff. And a hot breakfast every day. Reasonably priced... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Patrick, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is guests like you that keep us motivated to come to work each day and constantly try to improve. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jeff Gross General Manager More 

Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

in NW Iowa for family reunion, Americinn was the perfect choice for us, close to everywhere we needed, pool was great for the kids, everyone staying very friendly will be making this an annual stay-thanks to the staff

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I love when guests that stay with us can relax in a world that is otherwise so busy. We look forward to your return next year. Please feel free to reach out to us and book your dates for next year. This will help to ensure you get the dates that... More 

Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

This place is more run down than it should be for its age. Bathroom floor looked dirty, toilet seat looked dirty, carpet looked dirty. They weren't but all kinds of stains, at least in the room we had. Air conditioning seemed to be either on and freezing or off and the room quickly got muggy in an Iowa summer. Top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Dear Insanefrog, I am reaching out to you in hopes that you will contact me and let me know what room you stayed in so that we can address the issues that you had. I checked both boilers as soon as you posted your comment and they are both working fine. We did not and have not had any complaints... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Having planned a 1-year observance of the death of a family member, we reserved 2 rooms at this property over a weekend about a month ago. The rooms provided to us were of the double queen variety, a little cramped for the beds, but overall fairly comfortable and clean. The pool was rather cool and therefore was not used, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Just wanted to let you know we now serve sausage patties and fresh scrambled eggs everyday. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Windsor Heights
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We are frequent visitors to the Spencer AmericInn. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast is outstanding, the staff is exceptionally friendly, the atmosphere is welcoming. There are comfortable chairs in the lobby where you can meet family and friends and read or enjoy games that are provided. There is a computer with internet service in the lobby and in your... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The lobby was extremely welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was not as varied as the website indicated but still enough to start your day with. Will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Mike, We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on having the cleanliest rooms around. I would love to know what was misleading about our website so that I can get it corrected ASAP. Hope to see you again. Thanks for choosing AmericInn Spencer! Jeff G. More 

Edgar, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I cant say enought about the cleanliness and personal service. I hate giving all 5's on a survey, because often statics take them out - but this hotel earned them. I hope to spend weeks at a time in this location. Looking forward to it. Home away from home. Business and 29th Anniversary. great location, quiet, and excellent value. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work very hard everyday to leave a positive lasting impression on our guests. We are glad you are so very loyal. We will continue to try and improve anywhere that we see fit, and in doing so we will hopefully add to our list of loyal returning guests. We hope to... More 

Boulder Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I stayed with my wife for V-day and the front desk girl Lydia helped me pull off a surprise in the room! I learned from a friend who stays here on business that she was let go! Big mistake you guys, she was a great help and very friendly. R Wilson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ankeny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The location, staff, cleanliness, and facilities were great! We were welcomed at check in and each morning for breakfast. The staff were lovely. Couldn't ask for a better stay for the price. Highly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience at the Spencer Americinn. It is our pleasure to be your hotel of choice during your recent visit to the area. We are working hard every day to give our guests the cleanliest rooms possible and to provide... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hotel Spencer
Days Inn Hotel Spencer
#2 of 8 in Spencer
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 8 in Spencer
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#4 of 5 in Okoboji
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
20.7 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 4 in Spirit Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
15.6 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay