We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Spencer

Certificate of Excellence
1005 13th Street SW, Spencer, IA 51301
Hotel amenities
AmericInn Spencer
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Spencer
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
donettas2015 Kansas City
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
10
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

in NW Iowa for family reunion, Americinn was the perfect choice for us, close to everywhere we needed, pool was great for the kids, everyone staying very friendly will be making this an annual stay-thanks to the staff

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I love when guests that stay with us can relax in a world that is otherwise so busy. We look forward to your return next year. Please feel free to reach out to us and book your dates for next year. This will help to ensure you get the dates that... More 

Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is more run down than it should be for its age. Bathroom floor looked dirty, toilet seat looked dirty, carpet looked dirty. They weren't but all kinds of stains, at least in the room we had. Air conditioning seemed to be either on and freezing or off and the room quickly got muggy in an Iowa summer. Top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Dear Insanefrog, I am reaching out to you in hopes that you will contact me and let me know what room you stayed in so that we can address the issues that you had. I checked both boilers as soon as you posted your comment and they are both working fine. We did not and have not had any complaints... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Having planned a 1-year observance of the death of a family member, we reserved 2 rooms at this property over a weekend about a month ago. The rooms provided to us were of the double queen variety, a little cramped for the beds, but overall fairly comfortable and clean. The pool was rather cool and therefore was not used, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Just wanted to let you know we now serve sausage patties and fresh scrambled eggs everyday. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Windsor Heights
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We are frequent visitors to the Spencer AmericInn. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast is outstanding, the staff is exceptionally friendly, the atmosphere is welcoming. There are comfortable chairs in the lobby where you can meet family and friends and read or enjoy games that are provided. There is a computer with internet service in the lobby and in your... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The lobby was extremely welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was not as varied as the website indicated but still enough to start your day with. Will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Mike, We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on having the cleanliest rooms around. I would love to know what was misleading about our website so that I can get it corrected ASAP. Hope to see you again. Thanks for choosing AmericInn Spencer! Jeff G. More 

Edgar, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I cant say enought about the cleanliness and personal service. I hate giving all 5's on a survey, because often statics take them out - but this hotel earned them. I hope to spend weeks at a time in this location. Looking forward to it. Home away from home. Business and 29th Anniversary. great location, quiet, and excellent value. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work very hard everyday to leave a positive lasting impression on our guests. We are glad you are so very loyal. We will continue to try and improve anywhere that we see fit, and in doing so we will hopefully add to our list of loyal returning guests. We hope to... More 

Boulder Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I stayed with my wife for V-day and the front desk girl Lydia helped me pull off a surprise in the room! I learned from a friend who stays here on business that she was let go! Big mistake you guys, she was a great help and very friendly. R Wilson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ankeny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The location, staff, cleanliness, and facilities were great! We were welcomed at check in and each morning for breakfast. The staff were lovely. Couldn't ask for a better stay for the price. Highly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience at the Spencer Americinn. It is our pleasure to be your hotel of choice during your recent visit to the area. We are working hard every day to give our guests the cleanliest rooms possible and to provide... More 

Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Stayed here for business in November. The room was clean, and the service was friendly. The pool room looked nice, but I forgot my trunks. No more pool table though. "Free" hot breakfast that was pretty good. I'd stay again if ever in the area. Internet was slow, but that seems to be the case everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marshalltown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

My family spent Christmas Eve in this hotel-it was very busy, but, the services continued to be excellent. We have stayed here several times when in the area, and have grown to expect a great breakfast, clean room and friendly staff- and have never been disappointed !

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We strive to not disappoint any of our guests! Thanks for spending your holidays with us. Come and see us again real soon. Kind Regards, Jeff Gross General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay