We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Sioux City

Hotel website
Hotel deals
707 Historic 4th Street, Sioux City, IA 51101 (Formerly The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Sioux City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was dirty, smoke detectors had no battery, towels were worn out and frayed, pool was closed, pillow cases were dingy white, 1970 decor. I did call whyndem and told them this hotel did not meet hj standards

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 660rustyc
Holstein, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was not worth $100 for a night. Carpet was coming up in the room, paint and stains on the carpet, window was filthy, and hair in the shower.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank W8230FF
Des Moines, IA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would reconsider your stay at the Howard Johnson in Sioux City until the renovations are complete. There wasn't excessive noise or filth related to the renovations but the staff - they were not professional; and the rooms - they were not very tidy, clean, or comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Kayla M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear our staff were not accommodating for you, I will address their professionalism promptly. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel anytime, I always appreciate feedback on areas we need improvement. Please visit us again, we hope to have far more renovations completed by the end of 2016, including fresh paint, new... More 

Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice hotel would recommend and will stay there again. Pool was not working at the time of our stay.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A5554VTdavidp
Kayla M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Sioux City, Happy New Year! More 

Destin, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Dirty rooms, hallways smell like smoke, free breakfast was uneatable.....don't know how it doesn't get closed down for health reasons......absolutely would not recommend. Too bad SC downtown area could be a fun place to go but this hotel is awful.

Helpful?
Thank X7668WAsue
Kayla M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the troubles you have experienced at our hotel during your recent stay. I can assure you this is not what we are about. I very much appreciate your review and will make sure we do everything we can to remedy these issues. We expect far more of our renovations to be completed within the next... More 

Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We had rented two rooms for the night one for us and one for our friends. Our friends came to their room and the electricity did not work so they were given another room that they did not find satisfactory. As a result they left without using the room. Our room was dark and dingy. There was dirty towels Laing... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank R5744WUtomg
Kayla M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Dear guest, Your concerns are very important to us, especially in this time of remodel. With our Howard Johnson Refresh package, that we hope to receive in the next few months, our rooms will be much brighter and better updated. We hope you will give us another try, as I know we can do better in providing you with a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sioux City
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#12 of 19 in Sioux City
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
#4 of 19 in Sioux City
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay