We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Sioux City

707 Historic 4th Street, Sioux City, IA 51101 (Formerly The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Sioux City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Sioux City
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    15
    20
    13
    28
See reviews for
21
21
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our room was fine, however the whole place is being renovated, so it was sort of shabby. It will most likely be very nice when the renovations are completed.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayla M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very excited to see the outcome of our contractors hard work, especially in guest rooms. Come stay with us again and see our progress! More 

Fountain Hills, Arizona
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This facility is in transition so there's lots wrong with it. The wrongs do not include the staff, who are helpful, patient and very professional while dealing with a very uncomfortable situation.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayla M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you found our staff helpful and courteous. Renovations are stressful for everyone, but we are very excited for the final outcome. More 

Blue Springs, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow! The internet picture is deceiving. The parking is horrible getting in. It was under construction? Place is very very noisy. I walked into my room and the clock was unplugged, the lamp was unplugged. Went into the bathroom and the drain stopper in the sink was missing. You could not watch TV and work at the desk at the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kayla M, Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thank you for you honesty, and we apologize we did not meet your expectations while you were visiting. We are extremely excited to be under brand new ownership, whom is taking on a full hotel remodel, including lobby, lounge, guest rooms, and exterior. We hope that you will come back when were are completed and see the new... More 

Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, old property in need of serious repair. Only 1 elevator working on 9 story building. Bed was good and clean. Could see some construction going on but it has a long way to go.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayla M, Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We agree the hotel has a long way to go with remodeling and construction. That is why we are extremely excited to have new owners who are willing to do the necessary updates the hotel needs. We recently purchased new beds and we are glad you like them. Along with new beds we are working... More 

Shawnee, Kansas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is no joke. We booked several rooms here a couple months ago. Showed up today and they didn't have our reservations on file. Our group of 22 waited for an hour to get into rooms. The place is under construction. Only one, small elevator is working, and it is slow. There is fresh paint and drywall dust all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayla M, Manager at Howard Johnson Sioux City, responded to this review

Dear Mat, I am well aware of the group you are talking about and there is no excuse as to why your reservations were not in the system and for that we sincerely apologize. We know with our new reservation system we can alleviate the issues that you experienced. We have spoken to the construction crew that has been doing... More 

Oak Creek, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Due to my own error we booked in the wrong city for a wedding. Good thing we were only an hour away. The manager was pleasant to speak to and understanding. We did get a full refund. Even only being in the location for 2 hours, the rooms were nice. A little older but worth the price. They have free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 via mobile

Poor condition. Old and dirty. Expensive for what you get. Staff was not professional. Down town was dead. I would not stay here again. This was once a nice place but it has been neglected for some time now. Pool area was closed off. Elevator was scary. Youmust park in a unsecured parking garage connected by a sky way. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This place gives me the creeps. Real ghost town atmosphere. Use to be a nice facility back when? But now owned by foreign investors. Needs so much work. The lobby smells like a boiler room, musky natural gas odor and the elevators are pretty darn spooky. I really don't feel real safe in this place, not because of the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

This is a terrible facility. Although, one might say you get what you pay for. Paper thin walls, closed bar, no ice machine. Terrible customer service. I had to pay cash first night as they would not honor my wife,s credit card. So, paying cash, I also paid a $50 damage deposit. The next five nights I was able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay