We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Coach Inn & Restaurant

1200 Senate Ave., Red Oak, IA 51566
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Oak
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Red Coach Inn & Restaurant
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Good value hotel with nice services like hotel pool, exercise room, and business center. Friendly staff at check-in and check out. The double queen bed room had plenty of space and desk area. Free wifi worked well. Hallway strongly smelled like bleach or another disinfectant. Breakfast a little lacking compared to Hampton Inn, dried cereal was my best option. Restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachel s
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We take pride in our facility and want to provide the best services and staff as possible. Our hotel offers many things that are not found in other establishments in our area. Our breakfast is considered a continental breakfast with hot and cold cereals, eggs, danishes and more. I will forward your comments about the... More 

Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

It is a nice property, however we got to the hotel around 8pm, got checked in and got to our room. First thing is the beds were very uncomfortable. Secondly, we had a party of 20 year old girls booked above us. This party had the cops called on them twice which did nothing. The front dest wouldn't do anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidselken
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

David, I am sorry about your experience here at the Red Coach Inn. My front desk staff had been trying to do something about the situation for several hours and yes the last resort was to call the police. I am surprised about the comment about how uncomfortable the bed was in your room. We receive many comments about how... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

What a relaxing atmosphere to dine in! We had chicken fried steak and enjoyed every bite....we even brought some home for lunch the next day! Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable of the menu. The prices are comparable and the portions are plentiful.

Helpful?
Thank Hazel O
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your dining experience. There are many awesome things on the menu. The desserts are wonderful. Hope that you will be back and will be able to enjoy another meal. Have a great day! More 

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

Not much to choose from here in Red Oak or Stanton. This is probably the nicest and is OK for Business or a family. Good location right off highway next to the Hospital. Nice lobby areas and friendly staff. Large remodeled rooms with new furniture and fixtures. No fridge or microwave in room , but all other expected amenities. Complimentary... More 

Helpful?
Thank vgroten
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We try to offer the best amenities that we can. I am glad to hear that your daughter may have a different idea of what small rural town Iowa can be like. I hope that you will plan another trip to Iowa and that we can be on your list... More 

Kyle, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Not many choices in Red Oak. Appears that most of the money spent on this hotel was in their lobby. The rooms are pretty basic. The carpeting in the rooms have absolutely no padding. The room A/C units kick on and off and kept me awake most of the night. If you are a light sleeper, this place in not... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveinTX
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt our hotel was unsatisfactory. Many guests are amazed at what we have to offer for a community of only 5,700 residents. We try to do our best and again I am sorry that you felt it wasn't satisfactory. More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Had a great night at the red coach inn. Very nice king room. Spacious bathroom, cold AC, clean room, nice staff. The pool and hot tub were very nice. Good morning breakfast of microwave omelets, toast, bagels, cereal, coffee, hot cocoa, boiled eggs, juice, milk. nice place, will use again

Helpful?
1 Thank David_MD2713VH
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Red Coach Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and letting other travelers know about the Red Coach Inn. We take pride in our facility and try our best to provide a clean, comfortable and enjoyable environment for our guests. Be sure to give us a call when you are... More 

Mount Sterling, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We chose to stay at this hotel while we were attending the Berkshire Hathaway Annual Meeting in Omaha. It was my husband's second stay and my first. I have to say it was absolutely lovely! THE cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in hands down and we have stayed in quite a few places. The service was excellent and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrColburn
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Unfortunately, management has decided on over strict State Rate Policy. They require an ID that specifically states "State of Iowa". Despite being University of Iowa employees, which when I last looked made me and my team traveling with me state employees, and being on official University business contracted through the Iowa Department of Public Health, the hotel refused to honor... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeff s
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that you are disappointed in how we offer the state rate. There was one person in your party that understood what ID badge was required and said that your supervisor has been made aware of the importance of having this ID and you have yet to be issued this ID. It was also made clear when the... More 

Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We've stayed at the Red Coach Inn a couple of times when we've travelled to the Red Oak area to visit family. The Inn is very well run, clean and quiet. I guess that since we went back, that's a very good sign! :) And, they serve a reasonable breakfast that's included with your rate, so that's another convenience. I'd... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IlluminataPhoto
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in our establishment and want to offer the best place to stay when traveling through the area. We enjoy providing a service that will want you to return to the Red Coach Inn. Look forward to seeing you again. Thank you! More 

Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Small town with limited options but this hotel was nice. Nothing too fancy but clean and very friendly. The bar attached to it has pretty decent food and great beer prices. I'll stay here again when in town.

Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Oak
20.0 mi away
Express Inn & Suites
Express Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Shenandoah
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
19.8 mi away
Shenandoah Inn & Suites
Shenandoah Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Shenandoah
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Red Oak
Super 8 Red Oak
#2 of 2 in Red Oak
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities