We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Coach Inn & Restaurant

1200 Senate Ave., Red Oak, IA 51566
Red Coach Inn & Restaurant
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    16
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
4
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great night at the red coach inn. Very nice king room. Spacious bathroom, cold AC, clean room, nice staff. The pool and hot tub were very nice. Good morning breakfast of microwave omelets, toast, bagels, cereal, coffee, hot cocoa, boiled eggs, juice, milk. nice place, will use again

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Red Coach Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and letting other travelers know about the Red Coach Inn. We take pride in our facility and try our best to provide a clean, comfortable and enjoyable environment for our guests. Be sure to give us a call when you are... More 

Mount Sterling, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We chose to stay at this hotel while we were attending the Berkshire Hathaway Annual Meeting in Omaha. It was my husband's second stay and my first. I have to say it was absolutely lovely! THE cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in hands down and we have stayed in quite a few places. The service was excellent and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Unfortunately, management has decided on over strict State Rate Policy. They require an ID that specifically states "State of Iowa". Despite being University of Iowa employees, which when I last looked made me and my team traveling with me state employees, and being on official University business contracted through the Iowa Department of Public Health, the hotel refused to honor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that you are disappointed in how we offer the state rate. There was one person in your party that understood what ID badge was required and said that your supervisor has been made aware of the importance of having this ID and you have yet to be issued this ID. It was also made clear when the... More 

Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We've stayed at the Red Coach Inn a couple of times when we've travelled to the Red Oak area to visit family. The Inn is very well run, clean and quiet. I guess that since we went back, that's a very good sign! :) And, they serve a reasonable breakfast that's included with your rate, so that's another convenience. I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in our establishment and want to offer the best place to stay when traveling through the area. We enjoy providing a service that will want you to return to the Red Coach Inn. Look forward to seeing you again. Thank you! More 

Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Small town with limited options but this hotel was nice. Nothing too fancy but clean and very friendly. The bar attached to it has pretty decent food and great beer prices. I'll stay here again when in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I stayed her for business and this is a very nice hotel. The lobby was very clean and the staff very friendly. There is an attached restaurant and the food there was good. If you did not want to eat there, just down the road are other options. The room was spacious. There was a comfortable bed, a chair to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are looking at adding refrigerators to the rooms. A microwave is available 24 hours for use in our breakfast area and you are more than welcome to use it at any time. I am passing along your comment about the slow WI-FI. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Red... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
864 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stayed here when visiting Red Oak since it was one of only 2 places to stay in town. But it was a good choice as it was clean, comfortable and the staff was helpful. Breakfast was simple, but fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Red Oak and will come back and see us again. More 

Jewell,Iowa,Usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We reserved a room at the Red Coach Inn, Red Oak, Iowa for one night following a football playoff game facing a long night drive back home. We are certainly glad we stayed. The Red Coach is beautiful, sparkling clean Inn staffed by courteous desk clerks. The King Bed room we had was huge. Soft but firm pillows, wonderful mattress,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and your review. I will agree with you that the breakfast area does get a little cramped at times. Hope that you will make it back to southwest Iowa and will be able to stay longer. More 

Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Had a very welcome surprise in this nice, clean, safe place to stay in this part of Iowa. This will be my choice as I travel the area for my job in the future. Rooms are big and spacious. Bed is comfortable and everything is clean. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. If there is anything that we can do to make your future stays more enjoyable please let us know. Looking forward to seeing you in the future! More 

Fort Calhoun NE
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I was on a golf weekend with 3 others and we stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The lobby is clean and up to date with nice furnishings. Our rooms were large and clean and were also up to date. We did not eat breakfast here as we had an early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the confustion with you room. I am not making excuses but we were full to capacity that weekend and there were having several guests that had changed rooms several times so they could all be close together and we did make an error in that process. It should not have happened but it was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Oak
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Red Oak
Super 8 Red Oak
#2 of 2 in Red Oak
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
22.9 mi away
Super 8 Clarinda
Super 8 Clarinda
#1 of 1 in Clarinda
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
20.0 mi away
Tall Corn Inn
Tall Corn Inn
#2 of 2 in Shenandoah
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Express Inn & Suites
Express Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Shenandoah
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
22.9 mi away
Celebrity Inn
Celebrity Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarinda
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities