We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1315 A Avenue East, Oskaloosa, IA 52577
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Oskaloosa ,Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older property. The room we had was small with big furniture that made it seem even smaller. The TV was newer as was the A/C unit. They need new bedding and mattresses. The room was clean as was the bath. We were just there for one short night and it was ok for us. If you were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

First of all, we stayed in the back building because rooms at the front were supposed to be sold out. Did not see too many cars in the 3 days we were there. This was the dirtiest room we have ever been in. The bathroom floors had bugs, the shower leaked at both ends so the floor was always wet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Oskaloosa hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This is a great place to stay. The prices are very reasonable, the room was clean and neat, the continental breakfast was great. We had two dogs with us and did have a bit of an issue there. TripAdvisor states this motel as pet friendly, but doesn't state that the motel has a limit of 20lbs on the dogs (as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed out hotel. I am sorry about the size limit on the pets, and we normally do not have anyone stay with bigger dogs then 10 to 15 pounds. I do not mind so much the size of the dog, but just the breed. We DO NOT... More 

Montrose, Co Usa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

At the desk they told me that races were on at Knoxville and it was hard to find rooms within 50 miles. I think they were right as the room was $79.99 at the higher end of my expectations here. The bathroom was small and had no tub, just a shower. Room interior was not the newest but at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. We are making this hotel better each and every day. Someday I would wish that you may try us again. But thank you for your honest opinion. And have a great day! More 

Lawrence, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice place to stay. Management met us at midnight and allowed us to check in. Very quiet and clean. Location was great, price was right. We will be staying here the next time we come to Oskaloosa. Would recommend to anybody travelling in the Oskaloosa area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We strive every day to make this a better hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My business has brought me to Oskaloosa quite a bit in the past few months so I've had a chance to check out most of the hotels. As inexpensive hotels go this one is better than the Super 8 a few blocks away but still leaves much to be desired. My room was reasonably clean and the furnishings were nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try. We are working to get this hotel back from where it was when we first got here. Thank you very much for your honest opinions. The opinions help me in my job and then in turn I can make things better for the next customer. Please give us a try again sometime in... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Americas best Value Inn is a great place to stay, enjoyed time spent. Great location and easy to find as my directions are not the best. Rooms were clean and I was impressed. Front desk check-in was great. Called my room after I arrived in my room for courtesy call. Breakfast Bar was great Love the Waffles. Great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that we could make you feel comfortable, just like you were at home. Please come back and stay with us again, and see how it is changing around here! Thank you More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We pulled up at this hotel after searching the internet 20 minutes before arriving. The internet stated they still had over 6 queen and king rooms left. We asked for two of those and were told they were all gone but that we could have two doubles In a room which is more expensive. Rather than challenge the lady at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us was not very good. Our rooms up front here are our single rooms, they have been closed down for maintenence. We have a system that does not log in and subtract rooms when people walk in and rent them. I thought I should clarify that to you. I was not dishonest with... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I suppose when there's not a lot of competition, you don't need to aim to please. Such is the case with this inn. Non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes, dust covered phone and lamps (which did not work); broken alarm clock, window unit and TV. Bathroom was filthy with what looked to be dried blood on wallpaper and brown film on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not like your stay with us. We are working to get better in all that we do here. Things are changing here at the hotel, slowly, but it is happening! Thank you for your honest opinion. I would hope that you would give us another try if you are in the area. Thank... More 

Oskaloosa, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I would never stay there again the place needs to be closed down I got my room and the beds had dog or cat hair all over the bed was broke our door handle would stick so anyone could be able to get in our room uhh they are to lazy to even clean off the steps so anyone could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here. We do close off our outside stairways during snows and after mainly because they get very slippery and we ask all guests in rooms on the balcony to use the inside stairway. That is the reason for the chains at the stairs entrances. All of your concerns and recommendations will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oskaloosa
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Oskaloosa
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#1 of 5 in Oskaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
18.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Royal Amsterdam Hotel
19.8 mi away
Super 8 Ottumwa
Super 8 Ottumwa
#6 of 6 in Ottumwa
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
16.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay