We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Oskaloosa hotels

Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1315 A Avenue East, Oskaloosa, IA 52577
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Oskaloosa
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Samuel B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (21)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My business has brought me to Oskaloosa quite a bit in the past few months so I've had a chance to check out most of the hotels. As inexpensive hotels go this one is better than the Super 8 a few blocks away but still leaves much to be desired. My room was reasonably clean and the furnishings were nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Americas best Value Inn is a great place to stay, enjoyed time spent. Great location and easy to find as my directions are not the best. Rooms were clean and I was impressed. Front desk check-in was great. Called my room after I arrived in my room for courtesy call. Breakfast Bar was great Love the Waffles. Great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We pulled up at this hotel after searching the internet 20 minutes before arriving. The internet stated they still had over 6 queen and king rooms left. We asked for two of those and were told they were all gone but that we could have two doubles In a room which is more expensive. Rather than challenge the lady at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us was not very good. Our rooms up front here are our single rooms, they have been closed down for maintenence. We have a system that does not log in and subtract rooms when people walk in and rent them. I thought I should clarify that to you. I was not dishonest with... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I suppose when there's not a lot of competition, you don't need to aim to please. Such is the case with this inn. Non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes, dust covered phone and lamps (which did not work); broken alarm clock, window unit and TV. Bathroom was filthy with what looked to be dried blood on wallpaper and brown film on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oskaloosa, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I would never stay there again the place needs to be closed down I got my room and the beds had dog or cat hair all over the bed was broke our door handle would stick so anyone could be able to get in our room uhh they are to lazy to even clean off the steps so anyone could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here. We do close off our outside stairways during snows and after mainly because they get very slippery and we ask all guests in rooms on the balcony to use the inside stairway. That is the reason for the chains at the stairs entrances. All of your concerns and recommendations will... More

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My group was happy to check into this property, avoiding camping in the rain -- the rooms were clean and spacious and boasted a microwave and refrigerator -- real pluses for us! The front office staff was very accommodating and provided great service. I would recommend this property as a inexpensive alternative for a stay in Oskaloosa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This property is a little worn like most small town motels but our room was just fine--a suite with two beds plus a sofabed in the other room. We were on the second floor of the second building, and maybe that was a renovated wing. Great price and staff was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldbiker49
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

For the frugal traveler, the Best Value Inn is a motel on the mend. Improvements continue and if you're seeking a clean place to sleep, then this is your place. Friendly staff upon check-in, the room was clean and on the first floor. Sturdy mattresses, a clean bathroom and a new vanity are all positives. Unfortunately on the first floor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brigham, Ut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is an old property and has one wing that has been renovated. Unfortunately we were given a room in what looked like te Norman Bates motel. It is up behind the office and the rooms are old and stink. Th e carpet was so dirty that I wore my shoes and only took them off when I got in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. The building you stayed in, is the next one to get the new carpet and all that it needs. We have only been able to do things when we have the money available. We have a lot of people that stay here that specifically ask to be... More

Cuba, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice place for peaceful sleep. Just on a little get away, stayed a few nights while passing through. Slept like a baby, bed was comfy. Employees were helpful with information on things to do while in town. Would stay there again if ever in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
shellbrees, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, responded to this review

I am so glad that you had a nice stay while you were in this area. Very glad that your bed was comfortable for you. We are working on improving the hotel even more. Thank you for choosing our hotel , when you are back in the area, I hope you choose to stay with us again! Thank you, Michelle More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa

Address: 1315 A Avenue East, Oskaloosa, IA 52577
Location: United States > Iowa > Oskaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa Iowa

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer