We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1405 W 19th Street South, Exit 164), Newton, IA 50208 (Formerly Ramada Limited Newton)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was convenient, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. A late check in was no problem. Our room was quiet, and we slept very well. Breakfast was decent... what you would expect from a continental breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped because we were exhausted. Spent 5 hours in motel attempting to sleep before back on road. Dirty room, uncomfortable mattress, thinnest pillow, no running water in our sink(used bottled to wash face and brush teeth) avoid this disgusting place.

Helpful?
Thank steinmom
Muscatine, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

a great stay for the value savvy traveller...tons of tv channels including HBO...very comfortable mattress....the management is helpful and have a great attitude....exceptional continental breakfast....my new go too destination in newton...dining and stores near by....dining and lounge right across the parking lot

Helpful?
Thank Rick M
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Nice big room, but a queen size bed, no king. The bed was very comfortable, wifi worked well, and they had a good channel selection on the tv. Everything was clean and smelled good. Our only complaint was the toilet seat!! Ours was old, with pitted, chipped paint. Toilet seats are cheap - they need to put out $10 and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila U
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Very polite desk clerk checked us in for the night. Room was clean and we'll supplied. Bathroom was small but clean. Breakfast offered was a disappointment no fresh hot waffles but biscuits and gravy with other typical fare offered with a Continental breakfast. Stay was quiet and peace, bed slept well. Would stay again in future.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences, feedback and compliments. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and provided you with an amazing experience at the Econolodge inn and suites Newton ,Iowa We hope to be of service to you in the future. If I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. More 

Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

This motel was clean but had some problems. There was broken towel bar at the sink, It had an old style tube type TV. I don't think we would stay there again. The room itself and beds were ok but nothing to write home about. The breakfast was not the best.

Helpful?
Thank RobertShroyer
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments about your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide a place to enjoy the surrounds and have a peaceful night’s rest. This is certainly not a norm at this location and we are deeply sorry for the service failures you experienced on this occasion. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay More 

Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

I hate posting this, but This is the worst experience I have ever had at a motel/hotel. All the hotels in Grinnell were booked this weekend so we booked this at the last minute to be close to family. The following is the message I responded on their corporate survey site: from the beginning... At check in everything seemed fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristine R
gmia146, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about our Econolodge! We are so sorry about the issues you faced . We strive for 100% satisfaction and are so sorry to hear we did not meet your expecations. We are very sorry for the way your issue was handled and are using your feedback to continue to train our front desk team and... More 

Creston, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

our stay at the newton econo lodge was very positive as our rooms were clean and beds comfortable. When we had motorcycle trouble they were there to help us what nice people you have running this econo lodge

Helpful?
Thank dennis w
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Thanks Dennis. We will see you around on your next trip More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

i stayed in august from 1st 16th.to see my kids in town. Excellant front desk. They help me for every small thing i needed.will definately return next July. all fast food and restaurant in walking distance. Thanks Jacob ,Joyce Mellissa ,Dawn ,Roger and Hema.

Helpful?
Thank judy a
gmia146, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton, responded to this review

Hey Judy It was fun to have you here @ Econolodge. We all Econolodge miss your company. And we will sure see you next summer More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed. Paid for the upgrade and Chose a no smoking suite, room was not clean, reeked of smoke and dank air. Towels were wet and yellowed, brown stains on the bed cover, stains on the walls. If you go, please check the room before you accept it. After spraying a can of lysol, and turning the Air on, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cb P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
1.5 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
4.0 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
8.7 mi away
Colfax Inn
Colfax Inn
#2 of 2 in Colfax
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
9.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay