We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale

2.5 of 5 8800 Northpark Dr., Johnston, IA 20131
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Save with AAA
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
14
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel while we were in Iowa visiting family. The hotel and room overall were very nice... clean and aesthetically pleasing. Unfortunately, though, there were a few things about this visit that could have made it a 5-star experience. We were all looking forward to using the hot tub while we were there, but it had caution... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander M, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Every piece of feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and is always heard by our management and our staff. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not perfect. We will address these issues and look forward to your next experience with us!! More 

Le Mars, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff at the Towne Place are absolutely amazing! I had several hiccups during my stay and they did everything to accommodate my needs. They treated me like family! I will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando G, Front Office Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you fo the raving review! Our team strives for excellent service and I am excited to share your thoughts with them. Thank you again and we can't wait to see you on your next visit to town! Orlando More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Towne place suites for one night and Alex at reception was amazing..what a great first impression. We inquired about dining places and he showed us where we could find dining places nearby. He even gave us a coupon for steak house in walking distance. We went over and found the line too long. The bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orlando G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words marshalnk! We are delighted you enjoyed your recent experience with us and are glad we made your stay a memorable one. I will pass your positive comments along to Alex, London the rest of the staff. We hope the next time you visit us you are able to enjoy the steakhouse nearby.... More 

GRUNDY CENTER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This was my first time at a TownePlace and I was very impressed with the value and the amenties/rooms offered. The hotel was easy to get to and appeared to be fairly new. I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff, well lit and clean hallways and of course the very modern and clean suite. The WiFi worked very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Derek W. We are glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We have recently undergone a complete renovation and hope you enjoyed the updated rooms and common areas. The breakfast we offer is a continental breakfast only, but I will definitely pass your comments along. If there is anything we can assist you with... More 

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This was our first visit to this brand of Marriott. The building is a little dated, but nice. The staff were friendly. Our only complaint was the breakfast selection. There were no eggs, sausage or biscuits and gravy or 2% milk. I know Fairfield Inns have these items, and they are supposed to be a lower class hotel in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Munchie70! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry we were unable to provide a hot breakfast for you. Like you said, we do offer waffles, along with oatmeal, fruit juices, bagels and a variety of cereals among other things. I hope you will consider us again when your travels bring... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

My family and I stayed here because my son is relocating to Des Moines, IA. This hotel was very neat and family friendly. The staff was helpful and professional. We will definitely stay again!! The only complaint I have is the breakfast could be improved, but other wise it was a great stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orlando G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review sanders1959! We are extrememly pleased you and your family enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to the Des Moines area. Thank you again. More 

Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We stayed her on Sept.12th for a night on our way out west, it was near I-80. What a nice place. We had asked for a quiet room away from the elevator, and ice machine on the top floor. When they could not gt us one they upgraded us to a 2 room suite. The staff was very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando G, Front Office Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back through the Des Moines area. If there is anything I can do prior to your next stay do not hesitate to contact me at 515-251-1661. Thank you again for taking the... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Very clean and quiet hotel, with great access to the highway. Enjoyed our stay. Only setback was that we tried to book the same hotel for late October and couldn't get the same rate. This might have been a Marriott problem, when I asked them to match they told me no. Tried to give the same hotel $600 more in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando G, Front Office Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review jarheadz! I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Also, I hope you can contact me at 515.251.1661 to further discuss your reservations for late October. Thank you Orlando Gonzalez Assistant General Manager 515-251-1661 More 

Omaha
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

There were good things and bad things about my recent 3 day stay at this hotel. The good things were the friendly staff, comfortable room, and close proximity to the interstate. The bad things were construction right by my window that woke me up at 7:00 am, one waffle machine that did not cook the waffle all the way through,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I want to thank you for staying with us, and mentioning great things about our staff! Nevertheless, I was dissapointed that we didn't meet your most basic hotel needs. The issues you experienced have been addressed with our staff and we hope to see you return in the near future. I hope you will contact... More 

Chicago
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Not a very good bed or pillows -- why do hotels consistently neglect the one reason people stay there -- to sleep?? Room was clean, bathroom adequate, kitchenette did what it was supposed to, wifi was fast. But you can have all the bells and whistles in the world, and if the bed isn't good, you've missed the mark. Easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent trip to the Des Moines area. We as a leadership team want to ensure our guests leave feeling rested and renewed, and we are disapointed that this did not happen in your case. I hope you will contact me to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale

Address: 8800 Northpark Dr., Johnston, IA 20131
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townplace Suites Urbandale Hotel Johnston
Towneplace Suites Johnston

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay