We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

5050 Merle Hay Road, Johnston, IA 50131
Hotel amenities
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
13
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Buffalo, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

People were pleasant one in particular Crystal Hoskins was so nice she made sure we had a great stay. We will stay there again. Breakfast was very good, pool was clean, hot tub was not working but we had fun in the pool. They have everything you could ask for while visiting in the Johnston hotel. Resturaunts, shops & menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Dear Judy I am very happy to hear that Crystal made you feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel. We appreciate your business, your loyalty and your trust. Don't hesitate to call us if there's anything we can help you with for your next trip. Karen GM More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here while visiting my grandparents. It was my husband and I and our 6 mo old. We wanted a hotel so there would be room for our stuff and quiet for the baby. We checked in and headed towards our room... We couldn't even start down the hallway because it was the Iowa state wrestling tournament and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the AmericInn Johnston where our top priority is creating an environment in which our Guests can relax, renew and recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Constructive feedback... More 

Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel over night while traveling. We found it to be very comfortable, quiet, clean and friendly. Our room was on the highway side, but we did not hear the noise from the highway. The only problem we had was controlling the heat in the room, either too hot or cold, but I think that was operator error.... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn Johnston. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our guests can relax, renew and recharge. I am sorry that you had issues with the heating/cooling in the room. Our maintenance crew has been notified and will look into the problem. We... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I've stayed at this hotel every third week for about 15 months and I'm never disappointed, but my last visit best exemplifies why I continuously come back. There was a massive snow storm going on. I stopped to get gas before returning to the hotel. About 30 minutes after my return, Brooklyn (front desk) called to tell me that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff member. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Brooklyn know that she makes an impact during your stay. We welcome you back to the hotel soon! Karen GM More 

Luxemburg, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We were there for state wrestling. We had rooms blocked for large group. Staff friendly and very accomidating. Easy drive to Wells Fargo. Shopping and food close by. Pool area nice although hot tub not working. Would have liked the blocked rooms to be around the meeting room to eliminate our group from disrupting other guests stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you very much. I am so pleased that you had a great experience here at the hotel. I do apologize about the hot tub but we do not offer that as an amenity of the hotel at this time. We always put our big groups together. I understand how important that is for any group. Unfortunately; if people check... More 

Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Very warm and pleasant place to stay. Linda Hatch, who keeps the breakfast stocked, was especially charming. The whole staff made our two week visit so enjoyable. Keep up the good work. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Dear Traveler. I am pleased to hear that you find our location to your liking. I will definitely inform Linda of the gracious words you said about her.. We look forward to meet your expectation in the future. More 

Blue Mound, KS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We met friends in Des Moines on Valentine's Day and stayed at the AmericInn, Johnston, Iowa. Our friends had reserved two rooms and when we arrived they had already checked into their room. Our check in went smoothly and I used my credit card for our room. The next morning my husband and I decided to pay for our friends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that the hotel staff was accommodating. I will inform Brooklyn of the great and awesome review you wrote about her We will look forward to seeing you in the future should you come to Des Moines again. Karen GM More 

Cedar Rapids
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I have stayed at this particular motel on the average of twice a month for a few years! The staff is always friendly and treats me like a valuable customer! I have been completely happy with the entire experience on my stays---that's why I keep coming back! Great place to spend the night when I have to be in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Dear Guest; We are genuinely delighted that we have been your constant hotel of choice when you’re in the Des Moines area. We truly appreciate your loyalty and trust that you’ve shown us throughout the years, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. More 

Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

we were recently traveling to the johnston americinn during a winter snowstorm. when i contacted the hotel and explained the road conditions and that we may not be able to make it to the hotel brooklyn, the manager that evening, assured us that we would not forfeit our money. we eventually did arrive and brooklyn kindly upgraded us as no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Your gracious words on Brooklyn's performance were very generous and will be passed on to her. it is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Des Moines area More 

Vincent, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This hotel was very clean, super nice sheets and towels. Pool was large, clean and well maintained. Breakfast area was very clean and had a large selection of items. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Price was exceptionally reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Dear Janet I wanted to thank you for all your kind words about the hotel. I am so pleased that you we were able to exceed your expectations and I hope that when you return to the Des Moines area that you will choose our hotel again for your needs, I am will inform the staff of your gracious would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question