We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Johnston hotels

AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

5050 Merle Hay Road, Johnston, IA 50131 (Formerly Best Inn Des Moines)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston to your Saves list
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
57%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Johnston
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
William B Winona
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (15)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
12
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winona
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Slight musty smell when we entered the room. Smaller, awkward bathroom/ door area. Odd position of light switch entering room. Supportive bed. Slight gap in door to the hall- had the potential to be loud but it was quiet.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
Georgetown, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed at AmericInn in another city/state before this and expected much more. First view was totally unkempt area around hotel. Grass/weeds must not have been cut for a month. Cigarette butts everywhere. Original room we were given had no hot water. Desk clerk changed us to another wing, but did admit that she knew the room across the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Constructive feedback from our guests is crucial in our continued quest to provide unparalleled guest service and impeccably clean lodging accommodations. I have spoken with our guest representative staff and our maintenance staff about the... More

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the facilities are clean, the staff was okay, but they were unprepared for the number of patrons during the first weekend of the Iowa State Fair. They ran out of breakfast food and towels for both the rooms and the pool! Not good on a weekend that they were at capacity.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We will make sure it is better staffed so this isn't an issue again Thank you for your feed back it is truly appreciated, More

Butler, Missouri
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If I had stayed only one night I would have given it a 4, but we stayed two nights so I was able to see what it was really like. The manager was so sour and rude. Would not even recognise anyone was around. Very uncomfortable. That was the first night when we checked in. When we got back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

I do apologize that you felt uncomfortable during your stay that is not what we want at our hotel. I will have a discussion with all the staff about this matter. We hope that you will give us another try to meet your expectations next time you are in the Des Moines area. Your satisfaction is very important to us. More

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at AmericInn for 5 nights while visiting Des Moines for the State Fair. The hotel was very clean and you could tell that the carpet and furnishings were recently replaced. Very nice, quiet rooms. Great breakfast for free. Staff was very friendly and accommodting. Overall nice hotel and would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words during your stay. I am glad that our staff was willing and helpful during your stay I hope to see you again the next time you are in the Des Moines. More

Lino Lakes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is at least my 50th time in an Americinn, and most likely my last. Room was humid/damp and carpet was soaked. I could taste cigarettes in my mouth in this non-smoking room. Staff unwilling to help.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

I truly apologize for the room condition that you had during your stay. As per our phone conversation if there is anything further I can do for you please don't hesitate to call. More

Se Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and in good shape. The bed was comfortable. Everything worked good. The breakfast was the only disappointment of our stay. I've stayed in other AmericInns and the breakfast was so much better. The sausage was cold even after they brought it right out. There was a long wait for eggs and then they were not good... More

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments on the hotel.. We always appreciate suggestions from our valued guests More

Avoca, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the AmericInn in Johnston this past weekend and were pleasantly surprised. My husband uses AmericInn often when he travels for work so we thought we would check it out when we stayed in Des Moines for the Iowa State Fair, and we were not disappointed. I had accidentally booked a smoking room but when I got there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you gracious comments on the hotel. I am extremely please that we were able to get you another room that met your expectations. I will inform the entire staff about your comments on the hotel... I hope to we can exceed your limitations the next time you are in the Des Moines area More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Need to improve their customers service and the staff need to know how to talk to their guests, I'm not spending ROCK, I'm spending MONEY, so I deserve a hood customers service and I wasn't getting that.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

I do truly apologize that our staff did not meet your expectations. We strive to have great customer service and we definitely fell short on your staff. I hope next time you are in the area you will give us another try. if you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to call or send an email. 515-270-1111... More

Madison, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The team was wonderful on the phone and in person. Rooms were clean, would happily stay here again. Really appreciate it being pet-friendly. It is near shopping and a few chain restaurants. It is in a slightly more remote location than many of the other motels in this price range, so it is quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear your stay was very enjoyable. The experience of our guests is our number one priority. As a company, we pride ourselves in our ever evolving customer service. We look forward to accommodating your family during your future travels. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

Address: 5050 Merle Hay Road, Johnston, IA 50131 (Formerly Best Inn Des Moines)
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Johnston
Johnston Best Inn

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Johnston with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Johnston include updated furnishings, room décor, 32" flat screen TVs and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Johnston hotel is conveniently located just off Interstates I-80 and I-35 on the outskirts of Des Moines and right on the border of Urbandale, Iowa. Visitors can explore our neighboring cities and attractions like the Buccaneer Ice Arena and Metro Ice Arena in Urbandale or the Waveland Golf Course in Clive. In nearby Altoona, gaming enthusiasts can visit the Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino. We have a nice bike trail conveniently located behind the hotel, great for biking or just a quiet relaxing walk. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer