We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

5050 Merle Hay Road, Johnston, IA 50131
Hotel amenities
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Johnston
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Karla O Dubuque, United States
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    23
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
16
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Dubuque, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was very conveniently located for our purpose for being in Des Moines. It was clean and quiet, especially considering it appeared to be fully booked. Our king room was also much larger than I was expecting. Front desk staff were available and helpful. Good value - I would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Your comments on our performance were very generous and will be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It’s always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated. Hope next time you are in the Des Moines I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. More 

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a third time we've visited this location. The previous times were equally disappointing. I could only recommend this hotel if you had lots of beer and have kids who like swimming in their pool, it's the only way everyone will be happy. Showers Luke warm, I kept finding black hair all over our stuff. AC was operable but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

I hope this notes finds well. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Breakfast - Excellent Staff - Friendly and Courteous Room - Clean Water Pressure - Sucked I would rate this place a 5 but the water pressure was extremely low. Which caused my wife's hair to be flat. The hotel is just down the road from a nice shopping district. We did not use the pool but upon inspection it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the kind words you gave about the staff and the hotel. The City has been making many improvements to the trails. I am glad you had the opportunity to ride on them. I do apologize for your inconvenience you endured during your stay with us. I will be having a plumber in here to see... More 

Fitchburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Des Moines overnight for a family get-together. The pool area looked great, but unfortunately we didn't have time to go in. Our room was very clean. We could hear traffic noise as it is right along the interstate, but ear plugs took care of that. The breakfast area was nice and they kept the food restocked -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future More 

Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for one night while driving through. Upon check in we weren't really given any information as far as what the wifi password was or the times for breakfast. We got to our room and only had local channels in the TV and they were not HD. According to the book in the room there should have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to the Des Moines More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really appreciate the helpfulness and positive attitude of the staff at this Americinn. They made our visit better than expected and really enjoyed their salt-water pool as well. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn Johnston on date of stay. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our guests can relax, renew and recharge. It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your experience... More 

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This is an older Americinn and does not reflect their standards. Our bathroom did not have a shower curtain. We had two rooms and one room was not cleaned at 8:30 at night. Would not use this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn hotel in Johnston Iowa. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our Guests can relax, renew and recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your Expectations; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your Stay. Constructive feedback from... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Not up to standards we expect from AmericInn. Room was not made up. Had to call and be moved to another room. Ran out of hot water during shower. Very little water pressure. Breakfast was disorganized. Biscuits still frozen. Nothing with which to cut bagels. Coffee was weak and juice was watery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn (motel, lodge &Suites) Our top priority is creating an environment in which our Guests can relax, renew and recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your Expectations; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your Stay. Constructive feedback from our... More 

silver spring, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

This was my first time staying or even hearing about AmericInn. I was truly pleasantly surprised. Great staff and amenities. Availability of Breakfast was a huge plus. Location was conveniently right off the highway.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn Johnston on date of stay. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our guests can relax, renew and recharge. It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your experience... More 

Fort Dodge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Stayed 1 night. Good location in Johnston right by Texas Roadhouse, Cold Stone Creamery, and the movie theater. Room was clean, breakfast was ok, and expectations were met. We just look for a clean, comfy bed to rest our heads and a nice hot shower, some coffee, and a little breakfast before we hit the road. Had a decent pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay