We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iowa House Hotel

125 North Madison St., University Of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Iowa House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Iowa House Hotel was my home for three months - from late August till early November 2015. This accommodation was provided by our organizer - the International Writing Program (IWP) hosted by the University of Iowa. I stayed in Room 235 which has a river view. Every morning, as I opened the window shutter, the Iowa River would greet me.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nisahharon
washington dc
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

40 degrees out and no heat (it's too early in the year, AC only). Only one person/student at the desk who is so overwhelmed you'll feel bad bothering him to check in. Small oddly shaped bathroom and the fire alarm goes off if you take a long hot shower ( it's too close to the bathroom and steam sets it... More 

Helpful?
Thank C001
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am aware of the issues with our bathrooms and am working and trying to update these features. Yes, all of our staff is Student based employees and we take pride being in the Union. and allowing our guest to be apart of the university experience. We are sorry... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

Iowa house has a great location and includes parking in the ramp. There is a microwave and fridge. However, the room was cramped and dated with thin walls. The breakfast was weak... Cold cereal, instant oatmeal, packaged pastries. But it is on campus.

Helpful?
Thank trgstl

Travelers are raving about these Iowa City hotels

Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

On a college visit with my wife and 17 year old son. If Iowa University wants potential students to have a positive first impression they should NOT have them stay at this "hotel". The parking garage is not connected to the hotel so it is a walk (in our case in the rain). The room was the smallest room I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dad-on-Vacation
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you did not have a good visit. I am truly sadden to hear with some of the room issues. Since we are inside the Union, are parking area cannot be connected to us and that unfortunately will never change. We are still in the process of continuing upgrading our experiences here at the hotel and... More 

Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

Last time we stayed at the Iowa House was about 20 years ago and the lobby hasn't changed except for some different furniture. The free breakfast is about 20 years out of date as well with nothing but bad coffee, prepackaged muffins and refrigerated bagels. On the bright side, the rooms have been updated and are much nicer, they still... More 

Helpful?
Thank D24789
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy our property. We are ran by the University and the focus is on the university for us. Our lobby has been updated within the last 6 weeks, however some of the elements would remain the same since we are inside a historic building on campus. I am happy to hear that you did... More 

Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Iowa House Hotel is very comfortable. The staff are friendly and on top of things. The atmosphere is relaxed and homey. It's in a convenient location. I particularly appreciated their "green" approach - they recycle everything they can and use biodegradable paper products in the cafeteria.

Helpful?
Thank Alice M
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking notice to our Green approach. We take great pride as we continue to do this throughout the hotel and with some of our linens as well. We truly hope you enjoyed your time with us here and hope to see you again soon. More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

My husband and I stayed in one of Iowa House's suites for a family wedding for a weekend last September and had a lovely stay. The suite was very spacious and immaculately clean, the bed was soft and comfortable, and the view of the river through the windows was lovely. The bathrooms were a bit cozy but clean and amply... More 

Helpful?
Thank CB_from_Charm_City
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed staying with us in the Suite. We love to hear good things above the improvements we have made in the rooms and hope you continue to stay with us in the future. More 

Sartell, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

The staff was very good at making you feel at home. I had a week long training at the University of Iowa and it was very convenient. It was a short walk uphill to the bars and restaurants. The biggest problem I had was having to reprogram my door card/key all the time because it was too close to my... More 

Helpful?
Thank jb_wiebe
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry that the key got demagnetized so often near the other items in your pocket. I hope your training went well and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Iowa City. More 

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

The general manager was very accommodating for my wedding. We had one room as a common meeting area, and the front desk allowed all of my guests to get a single-use key when they needed to enter the room. The location was perfect, the view of the river gorgeous, and the free parking highly appreciated. Housekeeping staff was courteous and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I happy you enjoyed your stay with us and best of luck with your marriage. We are glad that our staff was able to make things so special for you on your special day. We hope you choose to stay with us again. More 

Punta Allen, Mexico
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

A handful of us gather every fall for our mini U of I reunion and always look forward to being able to stay right on campus. TIP: Seems like rates are always flex. Ask for your Alumni or Business Class discount. TIP: The river view rooms are nice, but not worth the incremental cost difference. I like the FREE covered... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacjsc
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We always enjoy when our Iowa Alumni come back and stay with us here inside the IMU. I am glad each time is an enjoyable memory for you and we look forward to you coming back year after year. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville
#8 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay