We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Offers & Announcements
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    36
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
37
23
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was exaclty what we were looking for- clean, comfortable, friendly, and affordable, and as a bonus was just off I-80. We also wanted an indoor pool so this offered exactly what we were looking for- AAA rate landed it just under $100, including tax. Now, if you are pickier than we are, here are some things you might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts/comments. WE will use your feedback to improve and exceed what is expected. Once again Thank you for your patronage. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not have your wedding reception at the Clarion Highlander in Iowa City. This place was a train wreck from the start. They do not have a software system to compile information about the event, so notes and details are easy overlooked and forgotten by staff and event planner. The air conditioning was not working, leaving the room incredibly hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Redlands, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is quite large, but old and with some deferred maintenance. We had a nice-sized room with two queens. We had a hard time finding an ice machine and when we did find one, it was out of ice. Breakfast was about par for hotels of similar ranking. There may be similar quality hotels for a better price and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback, will take your comments to make proper changes/ improvements.Once again Thank You for your patronage. More 

Solvang, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a surprising and very welcome place to stay. Exhausted, looked on Trip Advisor for some place close after driving for 13 hours cross-country. I booked the hotel through them and drove up. OMG, what a welcoming place. The room was large and comfortable. The staff is super. I knew I would love the place as soon as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind and enlightening comments.We Appreciate your patronage, hope whenever you are in our area or passing think about us. Thanks again and have a Great Day More 

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel from Montana to Florida every fall, and return to Montana every spring. This was my first visit to a Clarion. I usually stay at La Quinta's when available, I have to say honestly my stay here was Very Good. The price was certainly a good price. Room was very clean, easy in and out access. The front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to take the survey your comments are very important to us. We appreciate you staying with us , hope when you are in our area again we would love to have you. Thanks for your patronage. More 

Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room had 2 queen beds which were very comfortable. The room was clean. I stopped here as we drove cross country and was glad I found a reasonable priced room on very short notice. The staff at the front desk were polite and efficient. They have a continental breakfast as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank You for staying with us we appreciate your patronage. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

While not seeming like a ringing endorsement, this hotel was good enough that we decided to stay a second night while in Iowa city. While it gives the outward impression of a tired outdated hotel (note the grass growing in the cracks in the parking lot pavement), the rooms and accommodations were good especially considering the price (especially with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rwalker_detroit, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do our survey .Your Feedback is very important to us.We will use your comments to better our property. Once again Thank You for your Patronage!!! Have An Wonderful DAY!! More 

Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I had stayed at this hotel as a child, and remember it being a 'big deal' to go to the Highlander. FYI, the pool was closed for renovation, claimed it would reopen May 25th. Now, about my experience. I payed for this hotel online and in advance. Arrived and did not have a good feeling about the dated decor of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

First of all I would like to Apologize for the inconvenience that you incurred .We will take your comments to better the property/make improvements. Thank you for your feedback . Have an Glorious Day More 

Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

My wife and I stayed for one night on May 15th. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It's unfortunate that although the hotel has 2 floors - there is no elevator. I had recent surgery and unfortunately had a very heavy suitcase. The front office clerk when informed of my dilemma immediately called for a maintenance man and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Greetings NavyPilot62: The management and staff at The Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City would like to thank you for the great feedback regarding our hotel and the amenities that we offer. I will go ahead and share your review with our staff and recognise our team members for their excellent work. We hope to see you the next time you... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Stayed at the clarion for the graduation of my son at the univ of Iowa.... This hotel is terrible the room was dirty. The property looked run down the nightly rate was way to high for this hotel... Mold and mildew in the bathroom. Dirty!!!!Floors and carpet dirty and old. The breakfast was bad and the staff was very rude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeffrey H, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Greetings: Thank you for your thorough feedback regarding our hotel on your recent stay. I have gone ahead and shared your review with our Highlander team and every point will be addressed to ensure that your concerns are followed up on. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Jeffrey Hickman Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay