We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    38
    29
    19
    12
See reviews for
41
23
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really nice place in Coralville right off the interstate. We found the room clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was very helpful and appears to be managed well. It is close to the university of Iowa and all things Iowa City has to offer

Was this review helpful? Yes
ynotbloom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our trip was in late June. Our room was clean, pleasant, close to parking, well adorned, with comfortable beds. Room was next to a stairwell and outside access door - reasonably quiet for NORMAL noise (more about this later). Pool was clean and plenty of towels. Exercise room right off Pool was nice. Whirlpool/Hot Tub was drained for repair/maintenance -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cushing, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, Grandson, and I enjoyed our visit when traveling across Iowa. We got a room on the 1st floor and were able to park close to The door. The room was very neat and clean. We had supper at the restaurant and it was all tasty with great presentation. We went to the huge pool afterwards. Only disappointment was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were disappointed in our stay. We pulled up and noticed the landscaping right away. Lawn was just weeds about 18 inches high. Cracked concrete and parking lot. Hotel was dark and dated and had that stale smell. Rooms were clean but decor was from late 70s, early 80s. Pool was closed for repairs. Basically we just needed a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you incurred.WE take your comments very seriously, Guarantee that this problem has been taking care of. Thanks again for staying with us. More 

Enon, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well organized and they only have a few items to critique. The towels for the pool are out of the way so finding them can be a chore, sometimes they are used up and you will need to speak with the desk about that. Next the Handicap accessible roll in shower room is not for the large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking time to do the online survey about your stay. We will use your comments to make changes for the best. Once again thank you for your patronage. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I reserved a King bed suite, bedroom and second room w/sofa bed. I called in advance to have the sofa bed out and made, extra towels & pillows as we were checking in late. The room was dirty, outdated, there was half eaten cheese in the fridge and the sofa bed was unmade and no linens. I called the desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Indianapolis
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was exaclty what we were looking for- clean, comfortable, friendly, and affordable, and as a bonus was just off I-80. We also wanted an indoor pool so this offered exactly what we were looking for- AAA rate landed it just under $100, including tax. Now, if you are pickier than we are, here are some things you might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts/comments. WE will use your feedback to improve and exceed what is expected. Once again Thank you for your patronage. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Do not have your wedding reception at the Clarion Highlander in Iowa City. This place was a train wreck from the start. They do not have a software system to compile information about the event, so notes and details are easy overlooked and forgotten by staff and event planner. The air conditioning was not working, leaving the room incredibly hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Redlands, California
Level Contributor
375 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The hotel is quite large, but old and with some deferred maintenance. We had a nice-sized room with two queens. We had a hard time finding an ice machine and when we did find one, it was out of ice. Breakfast was about par for hotels of similar ranking. There may be similar quality hotels for a better price and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback, will take your comments to make proper changes/ improvements.Once again Thank You for your patronage. More 

Solvang, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

This was a surprising and very welcome place to stay. Exhausted, looked on Trip Advisor for some place close after driving for 13 hours cross-country. I booked the hotel through them and drove up. OMG, what a welcoming place. The room was large and comfortable. The staff is super. I knew I would love the place as soon as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind and enlightening comments.We Appreciate your patronage, hope whenever you are in our area or passing think about us. Thanks again and have a Great Day More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
3.8 mi away
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville
#9 of 17 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay