We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn Indianola

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1701 N Jefferson, US Hwy 65/69, Indianola, IA 50125 (Formerly Super 8 Indianola/Des Moines Area)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn  Indianola
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Indianola
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kathy K Rowan
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    36
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
55
10
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for the balloon fest, I'm actually writing this from my ant infested room before I leave. After reading the good reviews we decided to stay here, all was well the first night, then in the morning I woke up with what I thought was mosquito bites. The hotel is close to the balloon field, and in walking distant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended an opera weekend at Simpson College but when we arrived, we learned we had been booked into a smoking room. The motel was completely booked. As former smokers, we thought we would adjust to the smell. Unfortunately, we did not. The motel tried to work with us, sending someone up to spray the room a couple of times,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren A, General Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how we are doing. I am sorry that you had to be in a smoking room and that we were unable to get you moved to non smoking. I am happy to hear that otherwise my staff and hotel met your needs and that overall you enjoyed your stay with... More 

Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon entrance, I wasn't so sure to keep my reservation. The floor was dirty, some of the windows as I passed by appeared to have tape or something over them. But I did keep it. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed comfy. The towels were ratty, but other than that, was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren A, General Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

I am sorry your first impression was not the best, sometimes with so much traffic we can't get to the lobby as fast as we would like or keep it as clean as we would like but I can gurantee that we do clean our hotel many times a day. I am glad that you decided to stay and ended... More 

IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for a place to stay that was near Des Moines but not IN Des Moines. Also, would be visiting Winterset for a few hours and it was close enough for our day trip. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean and comfy the hotel was. We did wish we had an extra blanket at night - since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren A, General Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I am glad that you had a good stay with us. We will continue to focus on our cleanliness of our hotel and our friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Check-in staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well kept. The breakfast was great! There was all the normal cold stuff (donuts, danish, bread, hardboiled eggs, cereal, bread, bagels) but also several hot items, including oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and sausages. There were two kinds of juice and coffee, both caffeinated and non-. Again, staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren A, General Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how your stay was. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found my staff friendly and my hotel clean. I will make sure to talk to our owners when the time comes for more renovations about the light swithes, A/C placement and... More 

Ashland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Staff was friendly and informative. My little dog enjoyed himself and made friends with the cleaning staff. Room was clean, bed was comfy, WiFi was fast enough and breakfast was nice. No complaints. Room right above front door was a bit noisy but not too bad, ac and heat unit worked great and no stinky smells!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren A, Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I am very pleased that you had a good time while you were here and that my staff was able to assist in a great stay. We really enjoyed you and your puppy and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed here for a college visit. We have a 19 year old son and 17 year old daughter and neither one is keen on sharing a bed, so it was nice to find a hotel that offers a room with 3 queen beds. The front desk staff were very nice, the hotel was clean, the pool is very warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren A, Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while visiting Simpson, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We strive to maintain and clean and friendly environment for all our guests. I am sorry, however that the noisy heater kept you up and I am very sorry about the thin blankets, we are waiting on a shipment... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Very much improved since it has been revamped from a Super 8. Comfortable bed, pleasant and clean room; however, the heavy smoke smell gets to you as soon as you go to your room from the lobby (we were on the first floor). Maybe they can clean the carpet, open the back doors as much as possible to air it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren A, Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. A am happy to hear overall you had a good time while you stayed with us. We will continue to work on the smoking issue as best we can. The owners are talking about limiting or doing away with smoking rooms altogether, but in the meantime we will continue to do... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Visiting friends in Indianola, IA we stayed at the Quality Inn for a night. I will come back, a reasonable price for a clean room, comfortable bed and a breakfast bar that included make your own waffles and biscuits and gravy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lauren A, General Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your stay. I am glad your found your room comfortable and clean. We strive for every guest to be 100% satisfied. If you could please email me at gm.ia204@choicehotels.com and let me know how we could have made your stay better that would be appreciated. Thank you. More 

Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I spent a night at the Quality Inn on a business trip to Indianola. The sleep value was pretty good, no complaints on the bed. Overall the rooms have been updated somewhat, although not particularly clean - the coffee maker was disgusting and the bathroom needs TLC. Room had flat screen tv, microwave and mini-fridge. The service was okay, nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lauren A, Manager at Quality Inn Indianola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I appreciate our guests opinion when do renovations. You will be happy to know that we are still doing many room renovations, the bathrooms being a big one. I am glad that you stayed with us and had a good night sleep and enjoyed our breakfast, I'm sorry you missed our updated breakfast of sausage... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianola
11.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
12.7 mi away
Baymont Des Moines - Airport Conference Center
12.0 mi away
Days Inn and Suites - Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#19 of 46 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
19.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay