We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Settle Inn and Suites

Hotel website
Hotel packages
5015 Ridgeway Drive, Harlan, IA 51537
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Settle Inn and Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Settle Inn and Suites
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
5
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Altoona, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, anything in the area. The room was immaculate. Everything needed when away from home was provided. Very relaxing and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, which is always important to me. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay was Great! We strive to keep the hotel clean and give that GREAT EXPERIENCE that our guests deserve. It is wonderful to hear you will stay with us again when you're in town. Thanks again, Leslie More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable and super clean hotel. Nothing overly fancy, but comfy bed, clean bathroom, and nicely maintained (and we are picky!) Pool is nice for the kids. Breakfast was adequate for our needs, but breakfast lady was a little surly. It's worth the ten minute jaunt off the freeway for privacy, peace, and a clean room. Bonus: a pretty drive through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to keep every guest comfortable and happy. If you're ever in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us. Thank You Leslie Manager More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

If you are in the area, this hotel is adequate. It will definitely siuffice if you are looking for a place just rest your head. The continental breakfast is somewhat comprehensive with all the usual items from hard-boiled eggs to cereal to make-your-own hot waffles. The rooms are good-sized. FYI, there is no elevator so will have to carry all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to make every stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our breakfast is the normal continental with biscuits and gravy also, we have added fruits to our choices for those who may have special diets. I'm pleased to see that your score card shows our hotel is above average on cleanliness... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Pros: Relatively clean Quiet Close to grocery store Pet Friendy Hot Shower Fridge/Microwave Cable Cons: Over priced Breakfast was horrible I ate a better meal at the gas station. No fresh fruit, all carbs, coffee was watered down. Bed spreads are horrible any decent hotel has done away with that. It was very worn out. Don't forget anything because they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hastings
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

I walked into my room and it was cold so I turned up heat to 85 and I went to supper and came back and still cold and finally another hour finally warmed up and you have to adjust temp all night long so the loud unit ran all night long and the road traffic outside my window sounded like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We normally leave the air conditioner/heaters on for a comfortable temp in the room. I apologize for the mistake of not having your heater on. We did make sure to have it looked at, because you said it was noisy. The heater unit was replaced. We appreciate it when the... More 

Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Traveling across all parts of rural Iowa often presents a challenge to find any small town hotel let alone an exceptional one on the level of far more expensive urban hotels. But this is the exception ... it's worth traveling to Harlan just to have the opportunity to experience this lodging for a night. And probably the most comfortable hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for all your kind words about our Staff and Hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you choose us for your next stay, when you are traveling in or near Harlan Iowa again. More 

Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We had a family event in Harlan and needed 6 rooms. They had the types of guest rooms we needed and a meeting room where we could gather. The facilities, including the pool, were great and well maintained. We had several children in the group of all ages that seemed to be 'no problem'. Perhaps the most accommodating staff I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dan you are very welcome. We love having the groups stay here too. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your review. More 

Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We were looking for a hotel off I-80 that would be in a small town, the hotel is a great find! It was a short drive from I-80 but was better than staying right off the interstate. The room was clean, spacious and the beds were amazingly comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful and referred us to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The rooms were very clean as well as the bathroom. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The only complaint is the cereal in the morning was frosted flakes and it did not indicate that on the container which is bad for diabetics and they ate the cearal. Compared to other hotels this is a very simple buffet. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Lynda G, I apologize for the unmarked cereal. I will be sure to label the cereals. There are 4 types of cereal now, so I'm sure it will be helpful to the guests. Thank you for taking the time to bring that to my attention. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and our clean rooms. Come see... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very surprised with a $7.95 fee for making a reservation. This fee appeared on my credit card statement, separate from the hotel charge. I would have been nice to be told about the fee when the reservation was made. The room was nice but over priced for a small rural town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Larry G, I apologize for the fee that you encountered during your stay with us. I am not sure what this could have been because our guests are not charged any additional booking fees when booked at our property. I would like everyone to know our property is under new management and we have changed the service culture here. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay