We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Settle Inn and Suites

Hotel website
Hotel packages
5015 Ridgeway Drive, Harlan, IA 51537
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Settle Inn and Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    12
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
5
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The part to remember is that for the area this hotel is located I would say it's one of the best. If you want to compare it to larger cities it would not receive as high of a rating. So comparing it to other hotels within the same criteria of small town, not a lot of options, but have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to point out some things that we could fix. I am so sorry about the wake up call you didn't ask for, we all like our sleep. We keep a log of wake up calls and no one complained that they didn't receive one. I can only guess it was still on the phone... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I called for a quote i told the lady it would need one night for 2 adults and 2 dogs. She told me 85 for the night. When I got there she charged me $130. She said she did not know I had the dogs. I was very clear about it on the phone. Pool was very dirty also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

My apologies for the mistake the clerk made when she quoted your rate. Pets have a fee, because of the clean up of the rooms. Our pool is clean and maintained everyday, and the pool vacuum "robot" is put into the pool on Mondays to clean the surface. The paint color is discolored not as bright as it use to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Harlan hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Located very conveniently on Highway 59, on the southern edge of Harlan, this is the newest hotel to be built in or near Harlan. Service was excellent, with very helpful people at the front desk. They need to hire someone to take care of their pool and maintain it though. It is a very small pool, with a maximum depths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you, for taking the time to review our hotel. So nice to hear the staff is friendly and helpful. I wanted to take some time to explain the pool process. We do have our maintenance guy on call every day. Our pool has a vacuum "robot" that gets put into the pool on Mondays to clean the surface. The... More 

Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The desk attendant was great, very helpful giving restaurants and other locations. Hotel is pricey for the area. Room is clean, bathroom smells musty as if it needs a good cleaning. I had a bug for a room mate before he swam down the commode. Not sure what type he was!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The issue with these seasonal beetles, are very tricky to take care of. They of course are harmless but annoying to have around. We do have our regular pest control every month for any/all kinds of pests. Unfortunately there are types of insects that do not groom themselves right away, so they can travel through... More 

Calvin, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Very Beautiful, just off the beaten path. VERY CLEAN and reasonably priced. Beds are VERY COMFORTABLE, room gets VERY COLD! Continual Breakfast. Indoor Pool Very Pet Friendly We would have no problem staying here again. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We strive for excellence. It's nice to hear that the staff is doing a great job! If your in the area again, we hope to have you stay with us. More 

Altoona, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, anything in the area. The room was immaculate. Everything needed when away from home was provided. Very relaxing and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, which is always important to me. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay was Great! We strive to keep the hotel clean and give that GREAT EXPERIENCE that our guests deserve. It is wonderful to hear you will stay with us again when you're in town. Thanks again, Leslie More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Comfortable and super clean hotel. Nothing overly fancy, but comfy bed, clean bathroom, and nicely maintained (and we are picky!) Pool is nice for the kids. Breakfast was adequate for our needs, but breakfast lady was a little surly. It's worth the ten minute jaunt off the freeway for privacy, peace, and a clean room. Bonus: a pretty drive through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to keep every guest comfortable and happy. If you're ever in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us. Thank You Leslie Manager More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

If you are in the area, this hotel is adequate. It will definitely siuffice if you are looking for a place just rest your head. The continental breakfast is somewhat comprehensive with all the usual items from hard-boiled eggs to cereal to make-your-own hot waffles. The rooms are good-sized. FYI, there is no elevator so will have to carry all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to make every stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our breakfast is the normal continental with biscuits and gravy also, we have added fruits to our choices for those who may have special diets. I'm pleased to see that your score card shows our hotel is above average on cleanliness... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Pros: Relatively clean Quiet Close to grocery store Pet Friendy Hot Shower Fridge/Microwave Cable Cons: Over priced Breakfast was horrible I ate a better meal at the gas station. No fresh fruit, all carbs, coffee was watered down. Bed spreads are horrible any decent hotel has done away with that. It was very worn out. Don't forget anything because they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hastings
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

I walked into my room and it was cold so I turned up heat to 85 and I went to supper and came back and still cold and finally another hour finally warmed up and you have to adjust temp all night long so the loud unit ran all night long and the road traffic outside my window sounded like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie T, Manager at Settle Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We normally leave the air conditioner/heaters on for a comfortable temp in the room. I apologize for the mistake of not having your heater on. We did make sure to have it looked at, because you said it was noisy. The heater unit was replaced. We appreciate it when the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlan
14.9 mi away
Tivoli Inn & Suites
Tivoli Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Elk Horn
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
23.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Atlantic
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Motel 6 Avoca
Motel 6 Avoca
#1 of 3 in Avoca
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
10.8 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#3 of 3 in Avoca
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
11.6 mi away
Super 8 Walnut
Super 8 Walnut
#1 of 1 in Walnut
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay